Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (22)

From Amanda’s blog:
Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge is where Tara @ 25 Hour Books and I shamelessly plug each other, share the fantastic posts, giveaways, or whatever else we’ve found and loved by other awesome bloggers (or authors!) during the week, and talk about the books we plan on reading in the coming week.

Book Review: Sins & Needles (The Artists Trilogy, #1), by Karina Halle (Blog Tour)

ARC Review: Etiquette & Espionage (Finishing School, #1), by Gail Carriger

Discussion: How Do You Read?

Book Hoarder’s Selection (21): Never Enough, by Denise Jaden

Book Review: Croak (Croak, #1), by Gina Damico

Book Review: The Strange Case of Origami Yoda (Origami Yoda, #1), by Tom Angleberger

Book Review: Someone Else’s Life, by Katie Dale

Cover Reveal: Shooting Scars (The Artists Trilogy, #2), by Karina Halle

Weekend Library Reading (5): The Truth About Forever, by Sarah Dessen

What did I do this in the last two weeks?

  • So, Anne (over at Creativity’s Corner) is completely evil and got me hooked on Doctor Who, which basically meant that I spent a good six days completely consumed with the series and didn’t do much of anything else. THANKS, Anne. No, but really, the series is awesome and I’m happy to be watching it! Of course, I had to force myself to stop watching and rewatching it and actually DO something, which meant blog things!
  • Thankfully, Kelly posted another housekeeping post in the last two weeks, which led me to make a list of things to update and accomplish. That meant writing reviews for this blog, reading some books, writing things up for my OTHER blog, and looking up things that I wanted to make. Like a new iPod case. About 3 weeks after I made an awesome one for myself, I lost it. GO ME.
  • We’ve had some crazy weather here, with the temperature being -43 with the windchill, then up to +3 the next day. Really, Canada weather is awesome.
  • On a lighter note, I’m feeling TONS better since my last Clock Rewinders post, so I’m more in the mood to actually accomplish productive things. That’s always good, right?
  • Hubs and I had a great day out over this weekend, which included some horrible service at a restaurant, which led us to walk out and go next door to a restaurant we hadn’t been to before, which turned out to be AWESOME. I told the waitress how awesome she was, compared to our service at the other restaurant, and it turns out that the restaurant we were at is related to the other one. So she told the manager, who told the other guy, and he walked over from the other restaurant to talk to us. Basically, he said the next meal is on him because there’s no excuse for bad service. So we’re going to try and go for a Valentine’s lunch and see if he remembers. 🙂
  • Oh, and Anne got me hooked on the Lizzie Bennet Diaries. It’s pretty awesome. Here’s the first episode if you also want to get hooked:

Book Bingo Challenge Update: 

  • Finally, I’ve printed off my scorecard … this makes things so much easier! Here’s my progress thus far: 

Book Bingo Progress Feb

 

Clearly I need to get on the ball and, uh, reread some books! I’m a bit of a slacker in that area.

Seriously Series Challenge Update:

  • I’ve been slacking in this series but plan to pull up my boots and get reading! My series books sit next to my bed and have been giving me the evil eye for some time. It’s time to read some of them! I’ve even started one of the series I’ve really been looking forward to this week! 

Thank GOODNESS for Pocket — I managed to save a bunch of posts that I wanted to read from my Google Reader in the last few weeks. I had been checking it, but never actually read or commented on blogs for a good 6 days. I’m telling you — obsessions CONSUME me.

Author links: 

*** my listing style for this section is totally stolen from the oh-so-organized Amanda, who got it from Tara. My hope is that some of their organization will rub off on me. Is it possible? Not likely. 

Read-in-2013 (30) 

  • Talking Pictures: Images and Messages Rescued From the Past, by Ransom Riggs
    • This book was AWESOME. It’s the same guy who write Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, but it’s nothing like that book. This is a book filled with photos. It was humourous, heartbreaking, and quick. Highly recommended!
  • Darth Paper Strikes Back (Origami Yoda, #2), by Tom Angleberger
    • LOVE this series. It’s just so cute and has some great messages!
  • Speechless, by Hannah Harrington
    • This book and Darth Paper are two books I needed to read to catch up on Weekend Library Reads and Book Hoarder’s Selections … sure felt good to get them read! I’m still behind, though …
  • Never Enough, by Denise Jaden
    • Another Book Hoarder’s book and really good! Much different than what I thought it would be.
  • Solitary (Escape from Furnace, #2), by Alexander Gordon Smith
    • Another series I’m really enjoying, though I took a long break in the middle of this one (Doctor Who …). Still, very intense, kind of gross, and very much a boy series. It’s great!
  • The Summer I Turned Pretty (Pretty, #1), by Jenny Han
    • So, so good! I can’t believe I waited this long to read this!
  • Awkward Family Photos, by Mike Bender
    • Really not that funny … I expected more.

Currently-Reading (3)

  • Drums of Autumn (Outlander, #4), by Diana Gabaldon
    • I promise, I DO plan to keep reading this, just not yet.
  • It’s Not Summer Without You (Summer, #2), by Jenny Han
    • Such a great series!
  • Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen
    • YES! THIS! I AM READING A CLASSIC!

How was your week? Have you read anything good lately?

22 thoughts on “Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (22)

  1. Oh, I’m EVIL, am I? Well I’d better live up to that! *writes ALL the shows that kill/ruin the best characters on Kristilyn’s to-watch list* And I’m not even telling you WHICH ONES THEY ARE! Mwa-ha-ha-ha-ha!

  2. So glad you are feeling better. I’m starting to feel ore human, as well. Lost my voice this week! Good times.

    I think you are doing quite well on your challenge! I need to get on the rereads, too. Maybe we can encourage each other, and even see if we shares some rereads. 🙂

    Are you watching all the old Dr. Who? Todd got into the show last year. I cannot STAND the daleks so I refuse to watch it. LOL

    SCORE on the free meal, too!

    • I’m watching the reboot … Really liking it! Actually, in season 6, I don’t think there were ANY Daleks!

      I’m happy you’re feeling more human! Being sick sucks … I thought I was getting it again, but I’m feeling better now. 🙂

      Rereads are terrible for me! I always have good intentions, but never follow through …

  3. You know, I’m actually doing your bingo challenge but I haven’t put the button up or anything – I’m THAT behind. I need a housekeeping list/break to get all of that kind of stuff done. But then I feel horrible for not getting around and visiting everyone and I miss out on great posts, like your Sins and Needles review (which I ran and bought!). It’s a vicious circle that consumes me with guilt (drama much???) hahaha!! Anyhoo, I’m hoping to do a bingo update this week b/c I did do a re-read last month! Yay, me!!!

    I would have freaked out when the waitress told us that the other restaurant was related to the one we were at!!! Like run and hide freak out!!! Good luck and have an awesome Valentine’s Day with the hubs!!!

    • I don’t think it’s possible to get to all the blog posts … Trust me, I miss plenty! And I totally know what it’s like to be super behind. I hope you can catch up!

      Yeah, I kind of freaked, too. The manager walked in the door and hubs was like, “Oh, gosh … I hope he’s not going to come talk to us.” Then … Surprise! Ha ha …

  4. Oh! I think I favorited a link to the deleted chapter of Anna BUT THEN I FORGOT ABOUT IT. Thank you (thankyouthankyouthankyou) for reminding me.

    Crazy Canada weather sounds like crazy Minnesota weather. So, I UNDERSTAND the craziness. Hopefully spring will be here soon?

  5. I need to update my Bingo Challenge..lol I tried printing it out, but my printer ran our of ink… -.- So I need to get some more, I think I’ve made some okay progress on it though! ..lol

    Sounds like you’ve had a busy couple of weeks. I love when I get snagged into a new T.V. series, but getting caught up makes me feel like a slacker with everything else.. I’ve been thinking about starting OUaT .. not sure if I should though, I already get very little done..lol

    I bought the Summer books this past summer at a yardsale and still haven’t gotten to them -.- gah, I need to read them!!

    • You should read the Summer books! I loved the first one. 🙂 And I started OUaT when it first came out … it got a little too cluttered for me, but it was good while I watched!

  6. My friends got me hooked one Doctor Who aswell! I went crazy and couldn’t anything else, but watch it. Loool. The weather in Canada is just great! I had to shovel so much snow on friday 😀

  7. The weather was odd, I was dressing in layers one day, then only had one layer the next. Anyways, I really love the way you’re marking off your scorecard. I just crossed it out. For some reason, it wouldn’t print out in colour, so I just have it in an odd blue-grey colour. Oh well!

    Glad you’re feeling better, and also, you are so good at Scramble. LOL

    • Exactly! I hate wearing a big bulky coat one day, then a light fall one the next. MAKE UP YOUR MIND, MOTHER NATURE!

      And I play Scramble a lot … I even have the play-yourself version, so I can practice. 🙂 It’s fun!

  8. oh this post is awesome. I also got hooked on TLBD! I am already up to date (episode 86!) and can’t wait for more. I love the Book Bingo challenge. Know where I can get to print that sheet from? I really need to do it!

    Awesome blog, and omg you are reading Jenny Han’s summer trilogy ❤ one of my all time favorite novels!

    Definitely following you now!

    – Juhina @ Maji Bookshelf

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

