BOOK REVIEW: And With Madness Comes the Light (Experiment in Terror, #6.5), by Karina Halle

awm tour banner

Big thanks to Karina Halle and Megan over at Reading Books Like a Boss for including Reading In Winter on the And With Madness Comes the Light (Experiment in Terror, #6.5) blog tour! I am such a HUGE fan of this series that I am just over the moon that I get to be involved!

Be sure to check out Megan’s blog for the complete tour schedule.

There’s also a great giveaway going on with this tour — you could win one of TEN bookplates signed by Karina! Just click on the Rafflecopter link below to enter:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

and with madness comes the lightDate(s) read: February 13, 2013
Genre: Paranormal Romance

Series
Darkhouse (#1)
Red Fox (#2)
The Benson (#2.5)
Dead Sky Morning (#3)
Lying Season (#4)
On Demon Wings (#5)
Old Blood (#5.5)
The Dex Files (#5.7)
Into the Hollow (#6)
And With Madness Comes the Light (#6.5) Amazon | Goodreads

SYNOPSIS

The Man. The Mystery. The Madness.

Dex Foray has never been anyone’s fool – until he missed his chance for happiness with Perry Palomino. Broken and alone, Dex has no choice but to rise from the ashes Perry left behind and find his own path to redemption. But nothing in Dex’s life has ever come easily, especially when there’s a dark madness waiting in the wings.

Told from Dex’s POV, And With Madness Comes the Light is short story/novella that spans the time period from the end of Lying Season (Book #4) until the end of On Demon Wings (Book #5). If you were ever wondering what really happened to Dex while Perry was gone – his journey to Dex 2.0 – now is your chance.

My Thoughts

BIG thank you to Karina and Megan for sending me a copy of this novella for review!

Karina Halle always seems to leave me wanting more. When I finish each and everyone one of her books, I’m left with a big smile plastered on my face and then I immediately feel sad because I need more of her characters in my life — especially when it comes to Dex and Perry, the main characters in her Experiment in Terror series, one of my favourite series EVER.

Novellas are a funny thing, though, because they don’t continue the story like the regular series books do, but instead enhance the story. In some cases, a novella might tell the story from another character’s point of view, which is exactly why I was bouncing off the walls when this little story finally landed on my iPad. Which character was I getting to read more about? The not-so-cuddly, but oh-so-swoonworthy DEX! 

This story starts off at the end of Lying Season (Oh dear gosh, that ENDING!) and continues through until the end of On Demon Wings (AGAIN — that ending!!). Before I started — while I was bouncing around — I was convinced that I would be bored while reading Dex’s point of view, seeing as I already knew the story and already knew how things were going to go, but it’s so different being inside his head! There are times where I would kill myself laughing over an insult towards Maximus (Metro Von Dickfucker, anyone?), or find myself swooning over something he’d say about Perry. I was instantly hooked from the first page! While I had full intentions of just starting the story one night before bed, I found myself wide awake until the very end, just wanting to know more and more about Dex’s thoughts throughout the whole On Demon Wings ordeal.

The wonderful thing about Dex is that while it’s easy to just categorize him as being a pig, he is so much more than that. In all of the other stories in this series, we get Perry’s point of view, which can be a bit biased, so it’s nice to get inside Dex’s head to see that he’s just human like everyone else. He has feelings, he feels love and jealousy, and he cares more than a lot of people out there. I swear, I was smiling through the majority of this story, especially during some of the heartbreaking moments. I felt major things for Dex and was totally sad when the book ended and I realized I’d have to wait until the next installment of the series.

This series just keeps getting better and better and I’m so sad that one of these days it’s going to come to an end. I’m so happy that Karina keeps giving us more, what with this story being told from Dex’s point of view (as well as the next story in the series!) as well as an upcoming novella which will be told from Perry’s sister’s point of view. The awesome just doesn’t stop! She’s also so great at really fleshing out her characters — we don’t know everything there is to know about them in the first book, but are given a real relationship with them, learning new things at each turn. These characters have such depth and they’re so relatable that it’s hard not to love them.

If you’re looking for a series that will keep you hooked for days on end, making you wish you could just sit and read the whole thing straight though, this is the series! It’s more than I could ever want and I’m so happy to be fangirling all over it.

About the Author:

The daughter of a Norwegian Viking and a Finnish Moomin, Karina Halle grew up in Vancouver, Canada with trolls and eternal darkness on the brain. This soon turned into a love of all things that go bump in the night and a rather sadistic appreciation for freaking people out. Like many of the flawed characters she writes, Karina never knew where to find herself and has dabbled in acting, make-up artistry, film production, screenwriting, photography, travel writing and music journalism. She eventually found herself in the pages of the very novels she wrote (if only she had looked there to begin with). Karina holds a screenwriting degree from Vancouver Film School and a Bachelor of Journalism from TRU.

Her travel writing, music reviews/interviews and photography have appeared in publications such as Consequence of Sound, Mxdwn and GoNomad Travel Guides. She currently lives on an island on the coast of British Columbia where she’s preparing for the zombie apocalypse.

Connect with Karina:

WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

Check out Karina’s books on GoodReads and read my reviews of her other books:

Devils series: 
The Devil’s Metal (#1)

The Artists trilogy:
Sins & Needles (#1)

6 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: And With Madness Comes the Light (Experiment in Terror, #6.5), by Karina Halle

  1. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (23) | Reading In Winter

  2. Pingback: Promo Post: Come Alive (Experiment in Terror, #7) by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  3. Pingback: Rereading: Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror, #1) by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  4. Pingback: ARC Review: Come Alive (Experiment in Terror, #7) by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

  5. Pingback: Blog Tour: And With Madness Comes the Light (EIT #6.5) by Karina Halle

  6. Pingback: Bookish Spotlight (7): The Experiment in Terror series by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

