Winter Distractions: A new place for reviews!

So, in mid-January I started up another blog called A Winter Crafter. I thought it would be a good blog to showcase some of the other things I love to do when I’m not reading a book (which happens!). After a while, I realized that I wanted to share so much MORE on that blog and that the name had to change, so it became Winter Distractions.

Winter Distractions New

Currently, Winter Distractions is a place where I can:

  • share my love of cooking, crafting, TV, movies, writing, music, etc.
  • discuss and muse about various non-bookish topics (like whatever happened to photo albums? or, in an upcoming discussion, my history when it comes to my music listening taste.)
  • share my thoughts on TV episodes and on movies
  • talk about the MANY things I’m addicted to (from music to TV to people)

Lately, though, I’ve been trying something new with my reading — reading classics! But I already read a TON of books and find that my reviews are always way ahead of me onΒ Reading In Winter.Β I decided that I would keep Reading In Winter as the blog where I review YA books, adult contemporary, and other such fiction, and on Winter Distractions I’ll review classics, non-fiction, cookbooks, memoirs, and other similar books.

As of right now, I’m aiming for one review a week on Winter Distractions, while Reading In Winter will continue to have 3-4 reviews a week, discussions, and all the other accoutrements that come with the blog. Seeing as I’ve always wanted to read more classics, as well as memoirs, non-fiction and the like, this is a perfect thing for me!

So, if you like my reviews but want to see posts that AREN’T bookish as well, head on over to Winter Distractions! I’m hoping that I can maybe participate in some classic read-alongs on that blog, as well — AND the Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge that is currently on Reading In Winter is being moved over there, as well. AND, if you’d like to guest review or post about something you’re crafty in, feel free to send me an email and we can chat!

17 thoughts on “Winter Distractions: A new place for reviews!

  1. πŸ˜› That is one of the reasons for the second blog that I’m working on (it’s coming along slowly) since at ORI we only review YA (for the most part). So I want a place where I can review the adult books that I read, since I’m trying to read more of them lately. And I will be doing classics and audiobooks and my movie thing.

    Its a pretty good that it will help in that way. I will still review some YA on the second blog probably, but it wilk mostly be adult and new adult. I’m excited that it’s almost March.

    I’m looking forward to seeing your posts on Winter Distractions!

    • Thanks, Jenn! I’ve always wanted to read books outside of what I review here, but then I never know where to put my reviews. I’m really looking forward to branching out in my reading. πŸ™‚

      I’m looking forward to your unveiling!

  2. You are just all over the place lady! Wow. I don’t know how you do it! I really need to read more classics, it’s sad that I haven’t read any. Christina got me one for my birthday so I will be reading one soon though! I’m movin’ on up!

      • My favourite app for classics is the Free Books app. I paid an extra $4.99, which means I also get access to any audiobooks they have for their selection. The audiobooks aren’t your typical audiobook, but come from LibriVox and are in the public domain. It’s kind of nice to be able to listen to a chapter, read a chapter, etc. AND Free Books has THOUSANDS of books to choose from. It’s a really great app!

  3. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (23) | Reading In Winter

  4. Yay, I love when my favourite bloggers have personal blogs so I get to know the person behind the computer. I started one up last year and really enjoy talking about non-bookish things (although book blogging is definitely my first love). I haven’t updated in about a month because this darn back injury prevents me from being at the computer for long stretches but I’m hoping to get back to posting regularly soon. I’m heading over to Winter Distractions now! πŸ™‚

    • Oh, I hope you like it! I don’t dive into a lot of personal things, but I share a lot more OTHER things on it which is fun. πŸ™‚ I love bookish topics, but it’s nice to talk about music or movies, or cooking and crafting, once in a while!

      • I love it! I’ve subscribed so I can keep up to date. I need to get going with mine (http://lostandfoundreflections.blogspot.ca/ btw if you’d like to take a peek) and think of some fun content. I do go into my personal life a bit (such as it is lol), but I also post some photography and stuff. I’ve been thinking of talking more about music, movies, and TV too, and I’m sure once spring is finally here and I actually get out and do stuff there’ll be more to talk about too!

      • Aww, thanks, Marie! I’ll definitely check out yours! I like it when bloggers get a bit more personal. Obviously, there’s such thing as TMI, but I like to just share things OTHER than books (well, with some bookish things thrown in — I can’t escape it!).

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

