ARC REVIEW: Mind Games (Mind Games, #1), by Kiersten White


mind gamesDate(s) read
: February 22 – 23, 2013
Genre: YA Science Fiction

rating-2-01

Add This Book on Goodreads | View it on HarperCollins Canada
Buy Now From: Amazon | Indigo

SYNOPSIS

Two sisters, bound by impossible choices, are determined to protect each other—no matter the cost.

James’s frozen face melts into a smile. “Do you want to know the trick to getting in trouble under the watchful eye of a psychic?”

I think of the nailed-shut windows. I think of Clarice. I think of the two, the two, the two who are now zero. Tap tap. “Yes, I absolutely do.”

“Don’t plan it. Don’t even think about it. The second you get an inkling of what you could do, do it then. Never plan anything ahead of time. Always go on pure instinct.”

I smile. “I think I can do that.”

My Thoughts

Thank you to Harper Collins Canada for providing me a copy of this book for review!

I was very excited about reading this book when I first saw its gorgeous cover. I mean, that cover is STUNNING! And the synopsis really grabbed my attention, too. Sister assassins? Super powers? Sign me up!

Unfortunately, when I finished reading, I felt like the cover was the only thing I had really positive comments on because this book really wasn’t for me. It started off with a bang and I was immediately intrigued, but then it dragged and dragged in a muddled mess of confusion, only to end with another bang — the only redeeming factor to the story. 

I think Jenni, over at Alluring Reads put it perfectly when she said, “… it was like a sandwich with this really amazing bread filled with something you would never ever want to eat.”

One of the big issues for me was the usage of flashbacks and, really, the time in general. The story takes place over the course of a few days, but the flashbacks take up a HUGE portion of the book. And they really didn’t add a lot to the story, which made them unnecessary to me. The flashbacks were quite confusing, too, because they were ALL OVER THE PLACE in terms of time — one flashback would be 5 years ago, another 2 years, another 6 months. I felt like I always had to go back to the beginning of the chapter to see what time this part of the story was taking place.

I really wanted to like the sisters, but from the first few pages I really disliked Fia. I felt she had no personality whatsoever. I did kind of like Annie, but she does spend a good portion of the book moaning over her sister and not really doing anything. I also really didn’t understand their love for one another because while I was told that they really love one another, I wasn’t really shown anything to back it up.

I also really didn’t understand the love in this book. Mostly, the focus is on Fia’s love life (if you can call it that) and I found myself so completely confused by it all. Basically, in the first few pages she’s attracted to Adam because he saved a dog. That’s pretty much her whole basis for liking him. I felt like she had really strange attachment issues and a lot of what she did just didn’t make any sense.

I think a lot of the problem, for me, rested in the fact that this book really lacked substance. We were only given the bare bones for what could have been something very, very good. I think I wanted more mystery to the characters, less stream-of-consciousness writing, and a little more action to really hold my attention throughout the story.

I actually skimmed most of this book — something I don’t do too often. The funny thing was that I felt like I really wasn’t mising anything that I skimmed over AND it was pretty quick, since this book is under 240 pages. When I finished, despite the BIG thing that happened, I didn’t have any desire to continue on with the series. I have heard really good things about White’s Paranormalcy series, so I might give that a go one day but, unfortunately, I can’t recommend this one.

Author Links: 
WEB | GOODREADS

© 2012, Reading In Winter. All rights reserved.

17 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: Mind Games (Mind Games, #1), by Kiersten White

  1. I liked this one more than you did, but would have appreciated a few more details. Who were these bad guys? What was the school about? If I’d known more, I think I would have been more drawn in…

  2. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (24) | Reading In Winter

  3. Ehh yeah, it was the stream of consciousness writing and the pointless and confusing flashbacks that killed this one for me, as well. And I agree that it lacked substance both in the plot and the characters. I am so disappointed because how amazing does the premise sound? I truly hope I’ll like Paranormalcy better, as well.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

