Book Hoarder’s Selection (23): The Replacement, by Brenna Yovanoff

BOOK HOARDER’S SELECTION, is a feature of Reading In Winter, which will feature one book from my collection that I plan to read in the coming week. These are NOT review books, but books I’ve purchased, which have been neglected for a long time.

the replacementTITLE: The Replacement

AUTHOR: Brenna Yovanoff

HOW LONG I’VE HAD IT: Honestly? Who knows! I’ve had this on my shelf for SUCH a long time!

WHY I’M READING IT: I have a bit of a girl crush on Brenna Yovanoff after reading The Space Between and really liking it. The cover for The Replacement has intrigued me from since I first saw it — I mean, a baby carriage with a very strange mobile over top of it? Count me in! I love Brenna’s quirky writing and look forward to a dark story.

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

SYNOPSISMackie Doyle is not one of us. Though he lives in the small town of Gentry, he comes from a world of tunnels and black murky water, a world of living dead girls ruled by a little tattooed princess. He is a Replacement, left in the crib of a human baby sixteen years ago. Now, because of fatal allergies to iron, blood, and consecrated ground, Mackie is fighting to survive in the human world.

Mackie would give anything to live among us, to practice on his bass or spend time with his crush, Tate. But when Tate’s baby sister goes missing, Mackie is drawn irrevocably into the underworld of Gentry, known as Mayhem. He must face the dark creatures of the Slag Heaps and find his rightful place, in our world, or theirs.

Have you read this book?

signature-01

11 thoughts on “Book Hoarder’s Selection (23): The Replacement, by Brenna Yovanoff

    • The cover is so gorgeous! I’m hoping I like it … I’ve read one of Brenna’s other books and really liked it and I’ve been wanting to read this one FOREVER!

  1. That cover! I don’t know if it’s gorgeous or creepy…a little bit of both 😉 I hope the insides are as good!

  2. What I remember most about this book is the underlying themes of unconditional love, us vs them, inaction during tragedy, judging others…

    Some of the story didn’t work for me, like the forced romance that I don’t think belonged in the story, but it is definitely worth a read!

  3. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (24) | Reading In Winter

    • I love sale books! I saw it go on sale, too, but I had already bough the paperback. I’m not quite at the place where I can justify buying ANOTHER copy of a book I already have!

      I hope you can get to it!

  4. This has been on my TBR list for FOREVER! I seriously am NEVER going to get to all the books on that list – I’m always having people remind me of ones I was really excited about before and then I feel really guilty for having forgot about them 😦

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

