Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (24)

clock rewinders-01

what happened on the blog new-01

Book Review: Lock & Key, by Sarah Dessen

Book Review: Crewel (Crewel World, #1), by Gennifer Albin

ARC Review: Mind Games (Mind Games, #1), by Kiersten White

Discussion: Modern Adaptations of Classics

Book Hoarder’s Selection (23): The Replacement, by Brenna Yovanoff

ARC Review: The Goddess Inheritance (Goddess Test, #3), by Aimee Carter

And Over on Winter Distractions: 

in my world and blog updates-01

  • On Sunday, some of the Edmonton book bloggers met up for coffee and book shopping. Always great to see these ladies — and they give me a perfect excuse to buy a few books for myself. 🙂
  • I made up a FORUM for the Edmonton Book Bloggers to post in. After two tries on two separate free forum sites, I finally found one that worked. That was a MAJOR headache, but I’m glad I got it done.
  • I got “recognized” at the school where I volunteer by a little boy who asked if I work at the BIG library. He was so sweet and smiley!
  • I accepted a music gig! I haven’t played live for YEARS, like at least 3, but a good friend of mine who manages one of the libraries in the city asked if I would play for their 100-Year anniversary celebration for the Edmonton Public Library. Of course I couldn’t turn that down! That means practice, practice, practice until the gig on the 13th. BUT it’s on my birthday AND there will be cake there. It’s like it was meant to happen!

Book Bingo Challenge Update:

  • Once I reread ONE MORE BOOK, I’ll have a second Bingo! And I almost have a third Bingo, but I still need to read a few more new releases AND my free square pick.

Seriously Series Challenge Update:

  • I only read ONE series book this week, but it did complete one of the series I had been reading!

Series Started Before 2013 –> Seriously Serious (7-12)

Progress: 6/12

Series Started In 2013 –> Super Seriously Serious (13-18)

Progress: 3/18

around the blogosphere-01

books read, accumulated, and wished for-01

Read-in-2013 (50)

  • Flat Out Love, by Jessica Park
  • Deep Betrayal (Lies Beneath, #2), by Anne Greenwood Brown
  • Much Ado About Nothing, by William Shakespeare (audiobook/book)
  • Eleanor and Park, by Rainbow Rowell
  • The Beasts of Clawstone Castle, by Eva Ibbotson (audiobook)
  • The Name of the Star (Shades of London, #1), by Maureen Johnson (reread)

Review-Books-To-Read (18)

  • Nantucket Blue, by Leila Howland (thank you, Hachette Book Group Canada!)
  • Thousand Words, by Jennifer Brown (thank you, Hachette Book Group Canada!)
  • This is What Happy Looks Like, by Jennifer E. Smith (thank you, Hachette Book Group Canada!)
  • The Lucy Variations, by Sara Zarr (thank you, Hachette Book Group Canada!)
  • Eleanor and Park, by Rainbow Rowell (thank you, St. Martin’s Press!)

Currently-Reading (2)

  • Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Bronte
  • Drums of Autumn (Outlander, #4), by Diana Gabaldon

Own-Must-Read (285)

  • American Gods, by Neil Gaiman (10-year Anniversary Edition)
  • Just Listen, by Sarah Dessen
  • Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles, #1), by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
  • Legend (Legend, #1), by Marie Lu
  • Prodigy (Legend, #2), by Marie Lu

How was your week? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

18 thoughts on “Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (24)

  1. Ooh I really wanted to have room in my schedule for Eleanor & Park it sounds so good, but I just couldn’t fit it in. Excited to see what you think about it, then I may just have to buy it and read it as a ME book eventually. Now I want Banana bread…

  2. I don’t know where to start! I think it’s so cool that the little boy recognized you. I used to do kids clinics where I worked (twice a month we opened our store to community kids who got to make crafts and toys) and it was always neat when my favorite kids saw me shopping in town and came over to say hi, or hug me. But to be recognized for working at a library is AWESOME, Kristilyn!

    I somehow missed Marie’s post so I’m headed now to check it out. Also, thanks SO MUCH for the link back to me. I’m glad to see my ramblings make sense to someone!

    I’m excited for “This Is What Happy Looks Like,” since I’ve heard so cool things about her first book…which I have and really need to read already!

    • I loved that he recognized me! Especially since I don’t actually work too often. 🙂

      You’re welcome for the link! You had some awesome posts this week!

      I still haven’t read ANY Jennifer E. Smith … I can’t wait to read this one and then hopefully I’ll read the first one!

  3. Congrats on the music gig!! Is it open to the public to come watch?! 😉 I actually will be going to Great Big Sea that night, but I’d love to see you play sometime!

    Thank you so much for all you work on getting the forum up and running. What would we do without you, Kristilyn??! 🙂

    • Thanks! It IS open to the public, as it’s a drop-in event. It’s from 3:30-5:30 at the Riverbend branch — right close to you!

      Yay for Great Big Sea! I hope you have fun!

  4. Busy week for you!! I see you read a lot more than me..lol I wish I could fit in more, probably after I’m done getting caught up to Once Upon a Time! I’m almost there! You got some pretty awesome books that you both bought and for review! I’ve been wanting to read the Legend series, but haven’t gotten a copy of them yet..lol I keep seeing them in Costco though, so it might happen!

    Have a great week!

    • Costco can be DANGEROUS for books! Hubs and I went to two in one day and I came home with six books. (Three of which I’m featuring in next week’s haul, since I have photos!)

      Yay for catching up! I love doing blog things. 🙂

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

