Review: For Darkness Shows the Stars (For Darkness Shows the Stars, #1) by Diana Peterfreund

book reviewing-01

darknessTitle: For Darkness Shows the Stars
Author:
Diana Peterfreund
Series:
For Darkness Shows the Stars, #1
Date(s) read
: January 5 – 6, 2013
Genre: YA Dystopia
Source: Lisa @ Dizneees World of Books (Hardcover RAK)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

It’s been several generations since a genetic experiment gone wrong caused the Reduction, decimating humanity and giving rise to a Luddite nobility who outlawed most technology.

Elliot North has always known her place in this world. Four years ago Elliot refused to run away with her childhood sweetheart, the servant Kai, choosing duty to her family’s estate over love. Since then the world has changed: a new class of Post-Reductionists is jumpstarting the wheel of progress, and Elliot’s estate is foundering, forcing her to rent land to the mysterious Cloud Fleet, a group of shipbuilders that includes renowned explorer Captain Malakai Wentforth–an almost unrecognizable Kai. And while Elliot wonders if this could be their second chance, Kai seems determined to show Elliot exactly what she gave up when she let him go.

But Elliot soon discovers her old friend carries a secret–one that could change their society . . . or bring it to its knees. And again, she’s faced with a choice: cling to what she’s been raised to believe, or cast her lot with the only boy she’s ever loved, even if she’s lost him forever.

Inspired by Jane Austen’s persuasion, For Darkness Shows the Stars is a breathtaking romance about opening your mind to the future and your heart to the one person you know can break it.

my thoughts-01

Oh my gosh, this book — THIS BOOK! I swear, after finishing this book, I had one of those moments that no other book would ever compare to this one because it was just perfect in every single way. Once I finished, I breathed a sigh of contentment and wished I could crawl right back into the world and just keep reading.

This was a book that was hyped up quite a bit. Honestly, I fell in love with the cover before anything else and knew it was a book I had to have on my shelf. But when I started reading, I fell in love with the words, too. Diana Peterfreund has a writing style that’s both beautiful to read and accessible to all readers. 

The characters were my favourite thing about the book. I absolutely adored Elliot right from the start. I mean, first of all, the name Elliot is just so beautiful — not really girly, which made it perfect for her character. She was so strong and willing to do whatever it took to save the people she loved. And Kai — now, Malakai — is also a great character. It would be so easy to hate him as a character as the story progresses, but I found myself constantly pulling for him. He was smart and lived in almost a fantasy world with his little group. I think that’s something that really drew me into the book; having that world where everything seems so normal, but having those fantastical elements in it as well.

And the romance! When I finished reading the story, I thought about the beginning of the Princess Bride movie where the little boy asks his grandpa if the book they’re reading is a kissing book. Mainly because this so wasn’t a kissing book. The blurb on the front talks about how it’s an epic, sweeping romance, but there is NO kissing whatsoever. Being the romance-a-holic that I am, I was actually okay with that. For once it’s nice to see a book where characters don’t immediately fall in love — even when they’re reunited after so many years. The fact that they both had to work to get back in each other’s good graces made the book totally worthwhile to read.

Another thing I really liked was the way the story was written. The whole thing is told in Elliot’s perspective, but we do get to see parts of Kai’s character in letters he and Elliot had written to one another. Of course, the letters only went up to the time when Kai leaves, so we really only get to see Kai up to 14 years of age.

This was such a wonderful story to read and one that made me want to read Persuasion — the Jane Austen book this is based on. Out of all the adaptation books, this is probably the one I’m least familiar with. In fact, I kind of liked that I had nothing to base the story on, but I am interested to see what happened in the original story just because I loved this one so much.

I hope you can read this one because it’s such a sweeping tale full of mystery, fantasy, and romance. I can’t wait for the next one in the series to come out!

rating-5plus-01

AUTHOR LINKS
WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

15 thoughts on “Review: For Darkness Shows the Stars (For Darkness Shows the Stars, #1) by Diana Peterfreund

  1. Wow, this book sounds excellent! A sweeping romance with no kissing sounds like a nice change for books with instant attraction (and sparks and fireworks and junk).

  2. The cover of this one is really pretty! I haven’t read Persuasion either, so this would be a complete mystery going in I think. I like that there is no kissing..lol Normally that’s thrown in everywhere! Also, have you also noticed how popular Kai has become as a name in YA? This makes 4 books that I can think of off the top of my head with a Kai!..lol

    Great review!

  3. I really liked this one! I didn’t think about it at the time, but you’re right – there’s no kissing. It was still VERY romantic though, and I loved that. (Plus 1,000 for a Princess Bride reference!) And I really, really enjoyed the letters between the characters – I love when an author uses something unique like that to let us get to know the characters.

    Jazzed you liked this one! I recently found out there’s a companion novel/sequel, so I’m psyched for that.

    • Yes, it was sooo romantic! And I love it, too, when an author really lets us get to know the characters. The letters were a really nice touch!

      I’m very excited for the companion novel, too!

  4. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (25) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

