Books-To-Movies I Want to See (& One TV Show!)

Normally, on this Saturday, I would post my Weekend Library Reading, BUT I’m quite behind on my reading that I decided to take an impromptu hiatus from the feature for a few weeks until I catch up (hint: the Book Hoarder’s Selection post will also be on hiatus! Look for a special post on Friday — and Saturday!), so I thought a special feature post would be in order.

Just yesterday afternoon, my husband and I went to see Oz: The Great and Powerful (which was awesome!) and I saw a few previews for movies that were made from books I had either read or still need to read. I thought I’d share some of my anticipated watches & reads!

Note: These aren’t all UPCOMING movies, but also some recent releases that I’ve just noticed!

7 Books-To-Movies I Want To See

Image from IMDb

Image from IMDb

The Great Gatsby
View on IMDb

Nick Carraway, a Midwesterner now living on Long Island, finds himself fascinated by the mysterious past and lavish lifestyle of his neighbor, Jay Gatsby. He is drawn into Gatsby’s circle, becoming a witness to obsession and tragedy.

My Thoughts:
I had read The Great Gatsby in university and LOVED it, so naturally when I heard a movie was being made, I had to put it on my list! I was a little skeptical about Leonardo DiCaprio being cast in it, but after seeing the trailer, I think it’s going to be AWESOME. Of course, this means a reread will be in order!

Watch the Trailer:

dividing line-01

Image from IMDb

Image from IMDb

Anna Karenina
View on IMDb

Set in late-19th-century Russia high-society, the aristocrat Anna Karenina enters into a life-changing affair with the affluent Count Vronsky.

My Thoughts:
I’ve had this book on my shelf for a few years now, but have never picked it up to read. For some reason, the length of it is so daunting! But the movie looks so beautiful AND it’s a romance, so I definitely will have to read it soon just so I can watch the movie. I’m not the biggest Kiera Knightly fan, but I’m willing to tolerate her in this one.

Watch the Trailer:

dividing line-01

beautiful creatures

Image from IMDb

Beautiful Creatures
View on IMDb

Ethan longs to escape his small Southern town. He meets a mysterious new girl, Lena. Together, they uncover dark secrets about their respective families, their history and their town.

My Thoughts:
Admittedly, I wasn’t at all interested in this movie, but I hadn’t seen the trailer yet. AND I really hadn’t heard much about the book. Then the movie came out and everyone started talking about the book and the movie and my interest piqued — especially after everyone RAVING about the book. Just a few weeks ago I picked up a copy at Costco and intend to read it this month! Hopefully I can see the movie soon, too.

Watch the Trailer:

dividing line-01

life of pi

Image from IMDb

Life of Pi
View on IMDb

A young man who survives a disaster at sea is hurtled into an epic journey of adventure and discovery. While cast away, he forms an unexpected connection with another survivor: a fearsome Bengal tiger.

My Thoughts:
I read this book YEARS ago and absolutely loved it. It was absolutely CRAZY, but oh so enjoyable. I’ve been meaning to pick up the audiobook for a reread one of these days since I’d love to see my thoughts on the book now. When I saw the trailer for the movie, I wasn’t too sure — it looks really beautiful, but I’m so not sure how the movie will translate to screen. It did win some great awards!

Watch the Trailer:

dividing line-01

the host

Image from IMDb

The Host
View on IMDb

When an unseen enemy threatens mankind by taking over their bodies and erasing their memories, Melanie will risk everything to protect the people she cares most about, proving that love can conquer all in a dangerous new world.

My Thoughts:
I actually really, really loved The Host when I read it — even more than Twilight. Although, recently I reread Twilight and HATED it, so I hope my thoughts on The Host haven’t changed. I guess I’ll see when the movie comes out!

Watch the Trailer:

dividing line-01

on the road

Image from IMDb

On The Road
View on IMDb

Young writer Sal Paradise has his life shaken by the arrival of free-spirited Dean Moriarty and his girl, Marylou. As they travel across the country, they encounter a mix of people who each impact their journey indelibly.

My Thoughts:
Into the Wild was the first Jon Krakauer book I had read — I loved the book and thought the movie was beautifully done. On the Road has always been of interest to me because it’s his most famous work. Naturally, I’m so very worried about Kirsten Stewart in one of the leading roles, BUT I did like her in Into the Wild, so maybe she’ll be good in this one. (Note: I actually thought this book AND Into the Wild were written by the same guy. I’ve been corrected! Thanks, Laura. πŸ™‚)

Watch the Trailer:

dividing line-01

the hobbit

Image from IMDb

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
View on IMDb

A younger and more reluctant Hobbit, Bilbo Baggins, sets out on an “unexpected journey” to the Lonely Mountain with a spirited group of Dwarves to reclaim their stolen mountain home from a dragon named Smaug.

My Thoughts:
So … I have NEVER read The Hobbit. I got it as a gift from my brother YEARS ago — like 10 or 15 — and just never had the urge to pick it up. I know it’s read by middle grade kids, so I really should read it one day. In fact, Anne (from Creativity’s Corner) challenged me to read it this year for our Book Bingo, so I will give it a go soon! I did really love the Lord of the Rings movies, so I’m thinking I will really like this!

Watch the Trailer:

dividing line-01

And One TV Show:

game of thrones

Image from IMDb

Game of Thrones
View on IMDb

Seven noble families fight for control of the mythical land of Westeros.

My Thoughts:
My husband is IN LOVE with this show. He gets very excited when it’s on and I have told him that once I read the books, I will watch with him. Unfortunately, the show is now in its third season and I STILL haven’t read the books. BUT thanks to the read-along hosted by Alexa (& company), I am NOW reading them! I hope to finish the first book in about … a month or so? I’m reading two chapters a day on my bike and it’s going good so far! Hopefully by season four, I’ll be able to watch with the husband!

Watch the Season One Teaser:

What book-to-movies are you looking forward to? Have you read any of the books from these movies? What are your thoughts?

42 thoughts on “Books-To-Movies I Want to See (& One TV Show!)

  1. OMG The Great Gatsby looks so SO Good!!!! DiCaprio looks pretty decent in the teaser but, like you, I’m not sold just yet. Although could they only find Tobey McGuire? He is cute and all but every time I see him I just see that one Montage from Spiderman 3. And I’m also a bit upset with their choice of Daisy…but other than that (lol) the movie looks kickass….can’t wait for MAY!!!

  2. If you’re planning on reading the Hobbit before you watch the movie, you might also want to look up Tolkein’s lost tales, as half the movie comes from there also. There’s a lot added into it πŸ™‚

    I’m also excited for Catching Fire, The Host, World War Z
    Sea of Monsters (although they butchered the first Percy Jackson movie)
    Enders Game, and season 3 of Game of Thrones. And then there’s Vampire Diaries….. ongoing love affair with that show (which, weirdly enough, I like a lot better than the books!)

    • I don’t know if I’ve SEEN the first Percy Jackson movie … AND I haven’t read Enders Game, though I’ve heard lots of mixed things about it.

      And I like Vampire Diaries the TV show better than the books, too. I only read the first 4 books and they were just okay, but not great.

  3. I am very wary of books made into movies because usually they’re not what I imagined in my mind. There are exceptions, of course!
    My blogger friend Fake Steph convinced me to listen to the audiobook of Game of Thrones — all thirty-something hours of it. And it was great. Then I tried the show and I just didn’t like it as much. I thought the adaptation of the book was good, but none of the characters were as I pictured them and I just couldn’t keep watching.

    • That’s so true!

      I actually saw a little bit of Game of Thrones BEFORE reading the book, so I don’t mind the casting. πŸ™‚ It makes the book a little more enjoyable since I have those faces in my head! Of course, I’m not sure what I’ll think of the show, but I’m hoping I’ll like it!

  4. We had to read The Great Gatsby for one of our uni courses a few years ago and I ended up loving it. I had NO idea there was a movie coming up so thanks for the heads-up! I’m not too sure about LD either but let’s hope it turns out to be better than what we expect πŸ˜‰

  5. I really want to see the Gatsby movie, but that’s also because I love, love, love Leonardo DiCaprio! And even though I’m sick of Kiera Knightly doing EVERY British adaptation, I will probably see Anna because my husband said it looked intriguing πŸ™‚

  6. Dude, you live on the wrong side of the country. We need to live closer so we can be movie buddies lol.
    *Great Gatsby – I read the book a couple times in high school and loved it. When I heard about this movie I was SO excited because a) Baz Luhrman directed it and b) Leo DiCaprio is in it and I haven’t seen him in anything for years because he usually does movies I’m not interested in (but I loved him in Romeo and Juliet and Titanic). Have you seen the original movie (Robert Redford) or the remake (Paul Rudd and I can’t remember who else)? They’re both really good. It’s been at least 12 years since I read the book, so I’m thinking a reread is in order before the movie!
    *Anna Karenina – I really want to read the book but I think it would take me, like, a month. It’s so daunting! The movie looks beautiful though, and I really want to see it.
    *Beautiful Creatures – I wanted to see it so bad but none of my friends were interested. It’s kind of ok though because I got the book for Christmas and I like to read the book before I see the movie and I haven’t had time to read the book yet.
    *The Host – I read the book years ago right after reading Twilight and loved it…but now, like you, I wonder if I’d like it. I’m a more critical reader now and I’ve been tempted to reread Twilight since I loved them then, but have a feeling I wouldn’t now. I didn’t even know The Host was coming out so soon, that was the first time I’d seen the trailer and it looks pretty good.
    *On the Road – another book I really want to read. The movie looks so good…even though it has Kristen Stewart in it lol.

    • Definitely! πŸ™‚ I’m not crazy into Leonardo, but I did like him in Catch Me if You Can … his role in Gatsby kind of reminds me of that! I’ll have to see if I can find the other Gatsby movie … to tell you the truth, I never thought of looking into it before.

      I think Anna Karenina would take me MORE than a month to read … it’s huge!

      We’ll have to compare notes on Beautiful Creatures, the book and the movie. πŸ™‚

  7. Life of Pi was breathtaking and I thought it was very well done. I enjoyed the hell out of it, and I want to reread the book even more now. I’ve not read On The Road, but I did see Into The Wild, which was an emotional ride. Garrett Hedlund is only adding to my interest for this new one…I like Beautiful Creatures, but it may be because I haven’t read the book. Some fans of the book had less than savory comments about it, but to each his own. I LOVED The Host, as well, but I will admit that I am unhappy with how they’ve changed the plot a bit, at least, it seems a bit different from what I remember. Still looks great though. And the original Great Gatsby movie with Robert Redford was enjoyable. I am wicked excited to see Leo in this movie. I think that guy can act any role.

    • I’m so glad Life of Pi was so good! It really looks visually stunning.

      I haven’t read anything about The Host, so I’m not sure how they’re changing it … AND it’s been so long since I’ve read the book so I don’t know if I’d notice.

  8. So many great movies coming!!

    Why were you dubious about Leo, may I ask? I think he’s going to be great. I’m a huge fan of Lurhmann’s R+J, so he and Leo together again? Yes please.

    I still need to see Anna K, too! Keira I can take or leave. I’m dubious about the casting for Vronsky in this one.

    I loved Life of Pi as well. I tried to convince the husband to see it with me; no dice. I thought I had a chance since it’s not a romance or anything!

    • Leonardo just seems so young to me — he’s one of those actors that just doesn’t seem grown up! I did like him in Catch Me if You Can, so maybe I’ll like him in this.

      I don’t think my hubs would see Life of Pi, either … it’s just not his kind of movie!

      PS – Thanks for the heads up on the writers of Into the Wild and On the Road … I wasn’t thinking and thought they were one and the same!

      • I wasn’t sure either, had to Google, but just thought Into The Wild was too recent to have been Kerouac. Oh man I want to watch it again. I cried so much.

        Gatsby is only supposed to be in his early 30s (I had to Google that too, heh) so I think Leo can pull that off. He must be damn near 40!

  9. Alright, so other than On The Road (which I had no idea about) I have read every one of these books! lol. Well, only the first three Game of Thrones books, but still! Well, I can’t say I’ve read Life of Pi since I’m reading it right now, and loving it!

    I also want to see all of the movies. Except for Beautiful Creatures and The Hobbit since I’ve already seen both..lol I will rewatch The Hobbit many times to come though, I’m sure. ❀ It! I still can't believe you haven't read it!

    Anna Karenina was very hard for me to get through because of the length, BUT by the end I really enjoyed it. I like Kiera Knightly though, so I will have no problems with that in the movie πŸ™‚

    The Great Gatsby looks so good as well! I have read the book and enjoyed it as well πŸ™‚

    • I will read The Hobbit this year sometime! Definitely before I watch the movie. πŸ™‚ I’m glad you liked Anna Karenina … I love reading, but I need to find a system for long books so I don’t tire of them.

      Yay for reading most of these! You’re ahead of me! πŸ™‚

  10. I had no idea about On The Road! I will definitely be looking forward to this one as well!
    I am dying to see The Host! It looks like they are really sticking close to the book, can’t wait!
    I want to see Beautiful Creatures too! But I haven’t read the book yet! lol
    I’ve been told to watch the movie first so I won’t be so disappointed… I might have to do that πŸ˜‰
    Great list! Thanks for sharing it!!! xo

    • What? I would read the book first! I think if I watched the movie, I would be disappointed with the book and vice versa. At least if I love the book, it’ll be incentive to keep reading the series!

  11. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (2) | A Glo-Worm Reads

  12. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (25) | Reading In Winter

  13. I really wanted to see Beautiful Creatures last weekend, but was bummed to find out that it has already left theatres in Edmonton! After less than a month! I guess I’ll have to wait until it’s out on dvd now…

    For what it’s worth, I loved the Life of Pi and The Hobbit movies – I thought they were pretty great adaptations of the books! I’m always impressed when they can manage a faithful adaptation of a much loved book and I was so relieved at the treatment of these books.

    I liked The Host better than Twilight, as well, and I recently reread it in audiobook form – I have to say, I enjoyed it just as much as I did the first time! It’s so much more exciting and better written than Twilight was to me. So I would hope you would feel the same way about it if you were to reread it!

    • I saw that it already left the theatres! That was a short run. I’ve heard lots of people LOVED Life of Pi. I can’t wait to see it now!

      I’m glad that you loved The Host, too! I should get the audiobook and see how I like a reread. πŸ™‚

  14. I’m looking forward to catching most of these films as well, especially Beautiful Creatures (since I remember reading the book and enjoying it!). I’m due for a reread (or a first read) for a lot of them!

    The only film I’ve seen that you’ve mentioned is The Hobbit – and I loved it! I’m a huge fan of the book and read it way back in the day when I was still in high school, so I do think you’ll end up enjoying it too!

    Also, yay for Game of Thrones! As per some sources, we can actually watch Season 1 when we’ve finished with the first book, so yay! I’m definitely planning on checking out the TV show as well. So glad you’re joining us for the read-along!

    • Oh, that’s great that we can watch Season 1 after finishing — I plan to! πŸ™‚

      A lot of people read The Hobbit in school. I remember it being on the syllabus for my Children’s Lit class in university, but we never got around to it.

  15. I just saw Life of Pi weekend before last (finally!) and, dude, it was AMAZING. So, so good, and SO well done! And it followed the story in the book to the ‘T’. I’d be really surprised if you see it and are disappointed πŸ™‚ And it’s definitely worth seeing in 3D (and I am NOT a fan of 3D usually).

    I want to see Beautiful Creatures too! But it looks like it already left the theatres! I read BC while I was in Mexico and I quite enjoyed it!

    I also really want to see Anna K, but I don’t know if I have the time to read the book before I see it…and maybe it’s one of those books that I might find easier to read *after* seeing the movie…?

    • I’m glad to hear that! I really can’t wait to see it. I’m glad they stuck close to the book!

      I do want to read Anna Karenina before seeing the movie … I think if I did a few chapters a day it could be done!

  16. Awesome list!!! πŸ˜€
    I want to watch all of the ones that I haven’t seen yet! And rewatch the ones I have, i.e., The Hobbit and Game of Thrones…I can rewatch GoT forever! ;D And you really made me want to watch it again by using a picture of Jon Snow! I’m totally in love with that guy…for serious. πŸ˜‰

    Honestly, with GoT I didn’t have a problem watching the first bit and then reading…in fact, I kind of liked it that way because now when I read it, I seriously visualize how they’re going to translate it into the show and it gets me so excited! πŸ˜€

    All of your other picks are awesome though. I can’t wait to see them. πŸ˜€ Especially On the Road, since I’ve finally read it. πŸ˜‰

  17. I’ll be really curious about your thoughts on the Anna Karenina movie if you end up seeing it. I loved the book, and I was really surprised by one of the artistic decisions made regarding the movie. For me, it made it really hard to connect to anything that was happening on screen, which was disappointing since I was hoping I’d love it. We’ll have to discuss once you see it!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

