Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (25)

clock rewinders-01

what happened on the blog new-01

Read-Along: Through the Ever Night (Sign-Up)

Book Review: For Darkness Shows the Stars (For Darkness Shows the Stars, #1), by Diana Peterfreund

Book Review: That Summer, by Sarah Dessen

Book Review: Lockdown (Escape From Furnace, #1), by Alexander Gordon Smith

ARC Review: Eleanor & Park, by Rainbow Rowell

Books-to-Movies I Want to See (& One TV Show!)

And Over on Winter Distractions:Β 

in my world and blog updates-01

  • I missed this on my last rewind, but my friend Adrienne and I got to see the magnificent Sarah Slean in concert last Saturday! She’s been a favourite of mine FOREVER and I remember seeing her play in the city at grungy, run-down bars over a DECADE ago. Now she’s playing at sold-out theatres with string sections. It was perfect!
Adrienne and Me

Taken by the bathroom. We’re cool like that.

Sarah Slean

Sarah with her touring string section and a hanful of Edmonton’s finest orchestra performers!

  • I’ve done LOTS of practicing this past week for the gig on Wednesday! AND I work on my birthday now, too. It’ll be a busy day! I guess that’s better than just me and the dogs at home. πŸ™‚
  • I tried to get my butt back on the being healthy bandwagon. I watched a movie called Hungry for Change which really reminded me of all the things I KNOW I should be doing for myself, but haven’t been for the past few years. It is time for a change! I spent a lot of time looking up some healthy recipes, grocery shopping, figuring out the best ways for me to workout and whatnot. I’ve tried this before but I really must stick to it this time — my body deserves so much better than I’ve been giving it!
Yeah, yeah, red meat. BUT it's bison, so it's lean, and it's local. And those are the right amount of veggies to have! And the meat is a portion size! And there are less potatoes than I would normally have! It's a dinner win!

Yeah, yeah, red meat. BUT it’s bison, so it’s lean, and it’s local. And those are the right amount of veggies to have! And the meat is a portion size! And there are less potatoes than I would normally have! It’s a dinner win!

  • IT’S MY BIRTHDAY THIS WEEK! While we don’t celebrate birthdays that much, hubs and I went out to a movie and lunch over the weekend AND took a trip to the bookstore where I pet some books while the husband pretended he didn’t know me. I’m kind of excited for this birthday, for some weird reason, EVEN THOUGH I work that day AND have a gig. Maybe it’s the cake that’ll be at the gig? Who knows.

Book Bingo Challenge Update:

  • Slowly working my way through my books! I’m heading towards the heavier boxes and really should plot out my plan of attack!

Seriously Series Challenge Update:

  • I started a series this week! That’s a win, right? πŸ™‚

Series Started Before 2013 –> Seriously Serious (7-12)

Progress: 6/12

Series Started In 2013 –> Super Seriously Serious (13-18)

Progress: 3/18

around the blogosphere-01

books read, accumulated, and wished for-01

Read-in-2013 (54)

  • Scaredy Squirrel Goes Camping, by Melanie Watt
  • How To Tell If Your Cat is Plotting to Kill You, by Matthew Inman
  • Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky, #1), by Veronica Rossi
  • Drama, by Raina Tegelmeier

Review-Books-To-Read (21)

  • The Moon and More,Β by Sarah Dessen
  • Enchanted (Woodcutter Sisters, #1), by Alethea Kontis
  • Illuminate (Gilded Wings, #1), by Aimee Agresti

Currently-Reading (7) (<– Yes. This is correct.)

  • Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Bronte
    • Aaaaalmost finished this one!
  • Drums of Autumn (Outlander, #4),Β by Diana Gabaldon
    • I’m trying to finish this one! I actually read some this weekend!
  • A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice & Fire, #1), by George R. R. Martin
    • For a read-along … working on two chapters a day on the bike!
  • My Point … And I Do Have One, by Ellen DeGeneres
    • Reading a little bit of this once in a while … it’s funny, but not my favourite of hers.
  • A Study in Scarlet: The Graphic Novel, by Ian Edginton
    • It’s safe to say I love Sherlock Holmes. πŸ™‚
  • Marco Impossible, by Hannah Moskowitz
    • A review book. I like it, but it’s a little slowgoing.
  • Live Through This, by Mindi Scott
    • VERY good so far!

Own-Must-Read (288)

  • A Clash of Kings (A Song of Ice & Fire, #2), by George R. R. Martin (a birthday buy!)
  • The Peach Keeper, by Sarah Addison Allen (a sale birthday buy!)
  • The Madness Underneath (Shades of London, #2), by Maureen Johnson (signed! From Anne!)

I’ve also been slacking on showing some of the other things I’ve obtained in the last few weeks, so here are some pictures!

These were on sale at Costco and are BEAUTIFUL! The price tag says $14.99, but they were only $7.99 at the checkout. Win!

These were on sale at Costco and are BEAUTIFUL! The price tag says $14.99, but they were only $7.99 at the checkout. Win!

Anne and I BOTH bought this for me. And Canpar took forever to deliver. Now I have double the incentive to dig in and read!

Anne and I BOTH bought this for me. And Canpar took forever to deliver. Now I have double the incentive to dig in and read!

I won this from a M. R. Merrick blog tour! I didn't even remember entering, but it made me very happy since Matt's an Albertan and a great author. :)

I won this from a M. R. Merrick blog tour! I didn’t even remember entering, but it made me very happy since Matt’s an Albertan and a great author. πŸ™‚

How was your week? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

18 thoughts on “Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (25)

  1. Yay for eating healthier! And happy birthday this week! Birthdays are fun and exciting πŸ™‚

    I never finished the third season of Glee, and now I’m just kind of too lazy to catch up on it, so I’m glad to hear that it’s not all that great right now anyways. Oh well.

    Have a great week Kristilyn! And a VERY HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

    • Thanks, Sarah! Feels good to be eating healthier. πŸ™‚

      I think part of me was lazy to catch up with Glee and another part just wasn’t happy with it anymore. Oh well — I’ll just rewatch the first few seasons over and over!

  2. Aww, Thanks for linking my new blog here! πŸ™‚

    I have been trying to be heathier lately too. I was thinking about trying to exercise more too..lol

    I totally failed at getting started on Game of Thrones this week.. 😦 I will have to read twice as much next week. But, I’ve gotten all of my review books for this month read, so I have some reading to do for myself.

    I really liked Jane Eyre, I’m looking forward to seeing your thoughts on it!

    You have a lot of books on the go, but at least once you start finishing them, your books read will go way up!

    Have a great week!

    • I did lots of THINKING about getting healthy … it’s the doing I struggled with. Feels good!

      Good job getting all your review books read! I’m currently staring at about 15 physical copies on my desk that need to be read. I will try and get to them!

      Honestly, I’m finding Jane Eyre VERY dull. It’s just not the same kind of love story as Pride & Prejudice. 😦

  3. Oh that M.R. Merrick prize pack is awesome, I need to get started on that series. I also need to read The Name of the Star, I am so behind on everything *sobs* You are currently reading 7 books? Whoa! I don’t know how you do it lady! Also, love you with your glasses on, I don’t think I have seen them before!

    • Thanks! I don’t wear my glasses often and just got 2 new pairs since I’m old and need a new thing in them in order to see properly. I’m trying to wear them more often!

      I don’t know how I’m reading 7 books, either … I need to get some of these finished!

  4. Pet some books and your husband ignored you? Sounds familiar!! πŸ˜› Happy, Happy, Birthday to you! And I am really enjoying your Winter Distractions blog, even though I’m a lurker.

    HAVE A GREAT TIME PLAYING YOUT MUSIC!

    • In my defense, the books I was petting were those really nice reissues of The Hobbit and Stardust, with no jacket, but a lovely embossed cover. They HAD to be pet!

  5. Good grief, I think I just spit up when you said you have no Bloggiesta tasks!!! I really despise you :D.

    I think I could spend all day on this post getting caught up on the bloggy world!!! Thanks, I needed it. Sorry I haven’t been by in awhile! I got a job at our library and balancing is not my forte 😦

    Have a great birthday!!! Eat lots of cake and be healthy the day after!! And have a fun gig!!!

  6. I’m so glad that you decided to join in on the read-along! I’m actually finding that this slow pace is working for me, and is definitely helping me build up my anticipation as I read. A Game of Thrones is surprisingly readable, and I think that I’m going to really like this series.

    Thanks for including the link about my trip! It really was fun πŸ˜‰

    • The pace is awesome! I’m so glad that the book is so easy to read. Of course, I’m not flying through it like you are since I’m only reading 2-3 chapters on the bike at a time! And I usually only read 3 if one of the chapters is short. I’m really enjoying it, though!

  7. Ooh, Kristilyn, I’m really psyched to see what you think about Live Through This! I bought it a few months ago and am feverishly working through review books/etc to get to it. πŸ˜€ And I really want to read the M.R. Merrick series – I have the first book for my Nook!

    How exciting that you got to go to such a lovely concert. πŸ™‚ Have a fabulous week!

    Molli | Once Upon a Prologue

    • I did like Live Through This, though I thought it was kind of rushed by the end. I wanted more. 😦 I’m eager to see what you think!

      Yes, you should try the M. R. Merrick series!

  8. Ummm, I love Kat and I loved that post to death. I’m trying to follow what she says and stop obsessing. Hard though.

    Wonderful M.R. Merrick package! Very nice!

    I didn’t love the Peach Keeper but I am a huge SAA fan so I am anxious for the next book.

    Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on The Moon and More. Love Sarah Dessen too!

    • I’ve been interested in reading The Peach Keeper for a while now … and I think the cover is so pretty! It must be on my shelf! Read or unread!

      Yay for Sarah Dessen fans! πŸ™‚

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

