Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (26)

clock rewinders-01

what happened on the blog new-01

Book Review: Butter, by Erin Jade Lange
ARC Review [And Q&A]: Things I Can’t Forget (Hundred Oaks, #3), by Miranda Kenneally
Birthday Week Giveaway! (<– you can still enter!)
Discussion: The Art of Discussion Writing
Feature: Things That Make Me Happy (a la Kelly!)
Read-Along: Under the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky Q&A)
My Search For a New Reader

and over on winter distractions-01

I confess my addiction to a Doctor Who theme.
I talked about a great retelling of Much Ado About Nothing.
Top Ten Tuesday: My Spring Reading List
I have ANOTHER giveaway going on!
I made things with lemons!
Grace gets silly.
And ANNE hops over for a little Q&A!

kristilyn invades other blogs-01

I guest posted with A Newbie Vs. Doctor Who, talking about my first experiences with the awesome TV show!
Anne also started off our joint story Confessions of Rachel and Elyen.

in my world and blog updates-01

This week was NUTS! I had my gig on Wednesday, which was a lot of fun, though there was a lot of “Don’t touch the piano!” coming from me. I mean, I’m all for kids and I’m all for cake, but when you have kids COVERED in cake, they’re Β not exactly the best people to touch the expensive piano. Still, it was great to get out and play! I also got some cake!

We got a MAJOR snowstorm! Just when it was starting to look like spring, winter came back with a major VENGEANCE. It sucked. The roads were terrible, so I only made it to work and back home again. Works for me, since my gig was over all I wanted to do was sit down and READ. Which leads me to …

I was a terrible reader for the first part of the week. I was so busy with practicing, and going to rent a keyboard that I didn’t need, which led me to return the keyboard (this was a whole DAY of drama and extensive driving), and then the show, and with work — I barely had time to read! I also DNF’d two books. 😦

On the weekend I spent a LOT of time doing blog update thing, from playing around in Illustrator, to writing reviews, to reading books, to reformatting things, to all other things! I felt like my busy week made me neglect certain things, so it was time to catch up!

Oh, and I forgot to share this:

HarperCollins Canada #HCCMM tweet

This was tweeted about the song I wrote for HarperCollins Canada’s March Madness, which you can listen to and download HERE.

challenge updates-01

Book Bingo Challenge Update:

  • I’ve made just a wee bit of progress! Finished a reread of Stardust — gosh I love that book! And I finally finished reading Jane Eyre, which I’m pretty sure fits in the “books everyone but me has read” category.
  • I made a page for my progress, which makes things a little easier for me. You can view it –> HERE.

Seriously Series Challenge Update:

  • I started a series this week! That’s a win, right? πŸ™‚

Series Started Before 2013 –> Seriously Serious (7-12)

Progress: 6/12

Series Started In 2013 –> Super Seriously Serious (13-18)

Progress: 3/18

around the blogosphere-01

books read, accumulated, and wished for-01

Read-in-2013 (60)

  • Live Through This, by Mindi Scott
  • Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Bronte
  • Marco Impossible, by Hannah Moskowitz
  • Zombie in Love, by Kelly DiPucchio (My GR review)
  • Chu’s Day, by Neil Gaiman (My GR review)
  • Stardust, by Neil Gaiman (audiobook & reread)

DNF (17)

  • My Point … And I Do Have One,Β by Ellen DeGeneres
  • A Study in Scarlet: The Graphic Novel,Β by Ian Edginton

Currently-Reading (3)Β 

  • Drums of Autumn (Outlander, #4),Β by Diana Gabaldon
  • A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice & Fire, #1), by George R. R. Martin
  • The Rose Throne, by Mette Ivie Harrison

Review-Books-To-Read (22)

  • Walking Disaster (Beautiful, #2), by Jamie McGuire

Own-Must-Read (290)

  • Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles, #2), by Marissa Meyer
  • Dust and Decay (Benny Imura, #2), by Jonathan Maberry

Wishlist (52)

  • Levitating Las Vegas, by Jennifer Echols
  • This Song Will Save Your Life, by Leila Sales
  • Right of Way, by Lauren Barnholdt
  • 17 & Gone, by Nova Ren Suma
  • The Almost Truth, by Eileen Cook

quirky search terms-01

getting your blog organized —Β schedules! lists! assistance from friends! or check out this post.

reverse literary snobΒ — sooooo … someone who only reads trashy harlequins?

how do you read — from the first page to the last page. simple!

How was your week? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

18 thoughts on “Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (26)

  1. I’m so glad that your gig went well!!! And I hope you enjoyed your birthday :0)

    I HATE when it seems like spring is finally here and then snow comes. I’m hoping that it doesn’t happen in my area… it’s been really cold, but the snow has been pretty much all melted for a while now.

    Hope you have a great week! πŸ™‚

  2. Aw, thanks for linking to my post. Glad you liked it! πŸ™‚

    And can I just say that your list of books makes me feel somewhat better about mine. 290 books own-must-read?! Wow! I mean, I would love to read that many books, but to own them and have them staring at me? With their puppy dog eyes? I wouldn’t be able to handle it!

    • I sometimes have major anxiety issues over the amount of unread books I have, but I do cull them once in a while. I just love getting that new book for my shelf! But you’re right, my books’ puppy dog eyes are sometimes worse than my dogs’ puppy dog eyes!

  3. I love your links this week, especially Jaime’s book anxiety post. I think we can all relate!

    I am so happy to hear that your performance went well. Kids and cake sounds disastrous. heh.

    • YES! Sticky fingers should never be around a piano!

      And I just bought some ebooks, then some physical books, and got a free audiobook — I may be feeling that anxiety soon!

  4. On Saturday, I basically just decided that I wasn’t in the mood to read – because I really wasn’t! I spent the day watching movies and playing video games instead, which must have worked some magic since I was back to normal on Sunday. I think we all go through weeks/days where we just don’t feel like reading or feel like reading what we’re reading.

    But I’m glad your gig went well! It sounds like it was a fun experience. Also, yay for having a nice birthday weekend!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

