Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (27)

clock rewinders-01

what happened on the blog new-01

Cover Love: My Favourite Typography on Book Covers
Review: Marco Impossible, by Hannah Moskowitz
Review: Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful, #1), by Jamie McGuire
Bloggiesta March 2013 – Sign Up Post and Goals
Review: Deep Betrayal (Lies Beneath, #2), by Anne Greenwood Brown
Musical Saturday: Ode to My Books (I’ve Got All Day)

and over on winter distractions-01

I mused about face care and the method that works best for me.
I shared the top ten books that I HAD to buy but are still sitting on my shelf unread.
I reviewed A Study in Scarlet (Sherlock Holmes, #1) by Arthur Conan Doyle
I was in the kitchen making Santa Fe Chicken.
I shared a photo of Canada. Or — winter in Canada.
I reviewed How To Tell If Your Cat Is Plotting To Kill You by Matthew Inman.

in my world and blog updates-01

Remember the snow I said we were getting? Well, it continued to snow through the weekend and right into the week! I’m pretty convinced we will NEVER get Spring.

Ambur, over at Burning.x.Impossibly.x.Bright showed me how to use Edelweiss. This could be very, very bad.

I had plans to go see Michael Ondaatje, author of The English Patient and The Cat’s Table, on Thursday night, but we had freezing rain and it snowed and blowed all day, so I was stuck at home. 😦 BIG THANKS to Laura who picked up my book for me and got it signed!

BLOGGIESTA happened! I didn’t realize I had so many things I could do for it, so I’ve been  busy all weekend working on stuff! You may notice that my reviews have a new look and I made some new images for the blog. I’m becoming a bit of a font whore, I admit. I also had the bright idea to update ALL THE POSTS on the blog, like upwards of 800 posts. I can feel the  headache coming on.

challenge updates-01

Book Bingo Challenge Update:

  • I read all of the books I needed to for ‘books published in 2013.’ WOO! I still need to read a book Anne recommended before I can claim a Bingo on that line, though. I’m working on a reread and I really have to work on my TBR books and books everyone has read but me. I am SLACKING!
  • Here’s my written progress –> HERE.

Seriously Series Challenge Update:

  • I finished a series! I’m kicking butt in that section … I kind of thought I would start MORE series books this year, but I’m not doing too good. I guess it doesn’t help that a lot of the series I’m reading are ending this year!

Series Started Before 2013 –> Seriously Serious (7-12)

Progress: 7/12

Series Started In 2013 –> Super Seriously Serious (13-18)

Progress: 3.5/18

around the blogosphere-01

Neil Gaiman put up a blog post the other day that included this video, one in a series made for Blackberry for a project called A Calendar of Tales. I completely fell in love with it and had to watch all the videos. If you like this one, watch the series HERE.

books read, accumulated, and wished for-01

Read-in-2013 (64)

  • The Rose Throne, by Mette Ivie Harrison
  • Girl Unmoored, by Jennifer Gooch Hummer
  • Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices, #3), by Cassandra Clare
  • This is What Happy Looks Like, by Jennifer E. Smith

Currently-Reading (3) 

  • Drums of Autumn (Outlander, #4), by Diana Gabaldon
  • A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice & Fire, #1), by George R. R. Martin
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter, #2), by J. K. Rowling (audiobook reread)

Review-Books-To-Read (21)

  • Girl Unmoored, by Jennifer Gooch Hummer (Netgalley)
  • How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True, by Sarah Strohmeyer (Edelweiss)

Own-Must-Read (297)

  • The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, by Jennifer E. Smith
    • Only $3.99 on Kobo!
  • Roar and Liv (Under the Never Sky, #0.5), by Veronica Rossi
  • The Hangman’s Daughter (The Hangman’s Daughter, #1), by Oliver Potzsch
    • I had a bit left on an Amazon gift card and this was only $0.99, which meant I paid $0.14!
  • Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky, #2), by Veronica Rossi
    • I also bought Under the Never Sky … love this series!
  • Delirium stories (Hana, Annabel, and Raven), by Lauren Oliver
  • Requiem (Delirium, #3), by Lauren Oliver
    • Thank you to Jenn from A Glo-Worm Reads!
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray, by Oscar Wilde (audiobook)
    • This was a free St. Pattie’s Day offer from Audible!
  • Mr. Penumbra’s 24-hour Bookstore, by Robin Sloan
  • Mostly Good Girls, by Leila Sales

quirky search terms-01

book bloggers — … are awesome? If yes, then YES!

dirty reading material — I’m probably not the best person to ask, check out THIS BLOG.

i feel free — Good for you! Freedom is good!

How was your week? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

14 thoughts on “Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (27)

  1. Man, you link to so many great posts! I’ve just found like 3 new book blogs to follow, lol. And…. Awww! Thanks so much for linking to TWO of my posts! ❤

  2. Hmm, I’m a little sad I missed out on Dorian Gray as it’s on my TBR, ah well, I probably won’t get to it for a long time! I’m glad Requiem came in for you! Thanks so much for your help! I hope you enjoy it!

    I am immensely jealous that you’ve read CP!! I need it so bad! Hurry up mailman! Put a key in my mailbox!! 🙂

    Thanks for linking my post 🙂 And have fun listening to HPatCoS!! I love Harry Potter! I plan on rereading it for your Bingo Challenge 🙂

  3. I don’t know how you can not get overwhelmed by how many books you have and not have moments where you want to read everything. Or maybe you do. I sent the bf my wishlist the other day and was slightly embarrassed by it’s length and the amount of YA on it.

    Edelweiss is amazing. I think I like it/use it more than Netgalley but I always take way too many review copies. I should start a book lovers anonymous or something. At times it feels like I have a sickness.

    • Oh I ALWAYS get overwhelmed. But I try to take it a day at a time. I still take lots of time to do other things and some weeks I barely read anything. I think part of me just likes how books look on a shelf — a nice, FULL shelf. 🙂

      I do like Edelweiss, but it’s not my favourite … I find it a little confusing. And it really is a sickness requesting books! It’s an addiction, I tell you!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

