Rereading: Twilight (Twilight, #1) by Stephenie Meyer

book reviewing-01

twilightTitle: Twilight
Author:
Stephenie Meyer
Series:
Twilight, #1
Date(s) read:
January 8 – 14, 2013
Genre:
YA romance
Source:
Purchased (Paperback)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Isabella Swan’s move to Forks, a small, perpetually rainy town in Washington, could have been the most boring move she ever made. But once she meets the mysterious and alluring Edward Cullen, Isabella’s life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn. Up until now, Edward has managed to keep his vampire identity a secret in the small community he lives in, but now nobody is safe, especially Isabella, the person Edward holds most dear. The lovers find themselves balanced precariously on the point of a knife-between desire and danger.Deeply romantic and extraordinarily suspenseful, Twilight captures the struggle between defying our instincts and satisfying our desires. This is a love story with bite.

my thoughts-01

When I think back, the Twilight series was the series that got me back into reading. I had always been a reader, but only a book here and there, never as voraciously as I ever thought I would be. So, when I decided I would tackle rereading more books, I knew that I had to give Twilight another go.

Truthfully, when I first read this book, I reread it a few times immediately after. This was about 4 years ago and I remember being completely in love with it. I had hoped that these feelings would remain today. 

Unfortunately, this was not the case. I like rereading books, but a book like this, that seemed to come out on the cusp of the YA explosion could either be a hit or a miss. Since it was published in 2008, authors have gotten more daring — they’ve written books on a variety of topics and with such great imaginations that this story seems weak in comparison. I do appreciate Stephenie Meyer’s mind and how she came up with some of the ideas, but I’m betting I could’ve skipped a reread on this one.

For me, this was a boring read. It took me forever to really get through it and at the halfway mark I really wanted it to end. Sure, I could’ve just put it down and stopped reading since I’ve read it a few times already AND have seen the movie, so I knew how it ended, but I was determined. I wondered what happened to the story that I loved so much.

Bella was kind of annoying throughout the story — and SO accident prone. I mean, if someone is tripping and falling all the time and can barely walk in a straight line without doing so, there’s a problem. I also didn’t really like the relationship between her and Edward. I feel like the movie romanticized it more — in the book, Edward just seems like a jerk with his vague “I like you but we can’t be together.”

The dialogue wasn’t sharp like it is in books these days. It felt forced in some sections and just awkward in others. Maybe I had left a reread too long, or maybe I had just watched the movie too many times, but there wasn’t a lot that really sat well with me when I read the book.

I had hoped to continue on with this series as a full series reread, but honestly I just don’t think I can take it.

rating-3-01

Author Links
WEBGOODREADS

signature-01

42 thoughts on “Rereading: Twilight (Twilight, #1) by Stephenie Meyer

  1. Glad I’m not the only one who had a hard time rereading Twilight. I too considered rereading the entire series, but I doubt I’ll do it. Ah well, somethings are better left as positive memories 🙂

    • I considered rereading the whole thing, too. NOT GONNA HAPPEN! I do have the audiobook for The Host and may give it another go, but I doubt I’ll get to it before the movie comes out.

  2. I know what you mean. After reading so many amazing books, one has little patience for characters like Bella and Edward, you know? I will definitely not be doing a reread of the Twilight series anytime soon. 🙂

    • Exactly! They’re just so bland on paper compared to others. I know I won’t be rereading this anytime soon, but you never know — maybe I’ll love it again in 5 years!

  3. Like you, this is the book that got me back into reading. I remember loving it so damn much. But I really don’t think I would like it if I reread it so I am not going to, I want my memory of it to be what it was the first time I read it! LOL Great review!

    • That’s a good plan! There are definitely some books that I can reread over and over again, but such great space put between my initial reading can definitely change that.

  4. Kristilyn, I’ll tell you a secret. I ADORED these books when I first read them (well, with the exception of BD because just NO.) I was still wavering on if I wanted to start reading YA again, but I literally read Twilight in one sitting. Then fast forward a few years, I’d grown a lot as a person, and re-read the first three books…and saw SO many flaws, plus this time around I was a Jacob/Bella diehard shipper. So although I’d *like* to re-read now, with the films over and such, my experience last time wasn’t great, so I’m not sure I *could*. Bravo to you for getting through this one though, chica.

    • Ha ha … YES! I was not a fan of Breaking Dawn, either. I read this one straight through, too, and loved it — so much that I read it over and over again after finishing. I really think we do grow in our reading preferences. I’m glad that you won’t be rereading this one!

  5. It’s so interesting to go back and re-read like this. I also find it fascinating to see how many people Twilight got back into reading.. it’s kind of insane, actually! And so awesome. I know so many bloggers who say the same thing, and it’s pretty cool to see the power of just 1 book.

    For me I was a big YA reader already when Twilight was released, but I was strictly into contemp books, with maybe a teensy bit of fantasy or sci-fi thrown in. So I kept seeing Twilight around the bookstore and going “oh yeah, that’s the one with vampires” and putting it back on the shelf. It was actually shortly before Eclipse came out that I finally read the first two books, I think. After reading Eclipse was the first time I really actively sought out reviews and sites with fan opinions, and I was shocked to read that everyone loved Edward and hated Jacob. So I guess in a way Twilight opened up doors for me too, showing me the power of book fandoms.

    • It really is insane! The fandom thing is something that I really have to get used to … people can go CRAZY over certain books, or certain series. I guess I’m kind of the same, but when we heard of people screaming at seeing Edward for the first time, or screaming when Jacob takes his shirt off, that’s just a little nuts to me. I like to think I’m a fan, but not that hardcore!

    • That’s good that you still liked them! I reread the first book back to back about 3 times after my initial reading. I guess I’ve grown as a reader. And yes! I wish there was a sequel to The Host!

  6. They say you cannot relive your youth and I think the same applies with books, classics aside..we grow as readers

  7. Ohhh, ya… I don’t think this is a book I could ever re-read. While I enjoyed the series as a whole, I also found a lot of the storyline annoying. And to be honest, I think I kinda like the movies better! And actually, Breaking Dawn was my favorite book in the series – probably because Meyers finally finished what she started and possibly because I took a two year break in between reading the third and fourth book ;p

  8. I’m afraid to go back and reread books that I loved when I first started getting back into reading YA. Now that I read so much, I’m a tougher rater. Though I listened to the audiobook a couple of years ago (basically a reread) and I felt the opposite, I still love Twilight the book, and Edward in the books more than the movies (the movies make me side with Jacob more).

    • I think I loved Edward in both the books AND the movie. I was never really a Team Jacob person. Though I think I’m a tougher rater now, too … and I’ve grown so much as a reader!

  9. I think I would feel the same way if I were to reread it, unfortunately. It seemed new and original at the time, but like you, I doubt I would feel that way anymore. I don’t remember being annoyed with Bella the first time around, but people are always saying how much they were irritated with her character, so maybe I would feel the same after a reread. All the same, I don’t think I would have the time to find out!

    • I think I should’ve reread it through an audiobook … maybe it would’ve annoyed me less? It was just so boring. Oh well. I tried! I guess some books just aren’t meant for rereads!

  10. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (28) | Reading In Winter

  11. Pingback: And Now it’s Sunday (4) & Reading Through the Stacks | Winter Distractions

  12. Yeeeeeah, Twilight. It’s probably been about four years since I read it too and I loved it at the time. LOVED it. I think it was this series that got A LOT of people into reading, and that can’t really be a bad thing right? However…I’m afraid if I reread it now, I’d hate it. I’ve heard so many people say so many bad things about it over the years – how the writing sucks and Bella’s a whiny little b**** and Edward’s a stalker, etc, etc. I didn’t get any of that when I read it, but it feels like such a long time ago, and I’ve grown and changed so much. I’m a more critical reader now, plus the movies kind of ruined the books for me because the acting is so atrocious (didn’t stop me from seeing all five of them in the theatre though *sigh*). I own the books and I’m curious how I’d feel upon rereading them but the fear is stronger than the curiosity, so it hasn’t happened yet, and I doubt I’ll have time this year with all the new books I have to read. Hopefully someday though!

    • Well, I hope if you get around to rereading the series, you have better luck than I did! I think I prefer the movies over the books now EVEN IF the acting isn’t that good.

  13. I loved Twilight as well, and it was also one of the books that started to get me reading and loving books. BUT, I think that if I were to reread that series, it would also take me a loooong time. I would prefer to reread Breaking Dawn though! That one was my favourite.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

