Review: Scaredy Squirrel Goes Camping by Melanie Watt

book reviewing-01

scaredy squirrel goes campingTitle: Scaredy Squirrel Goes Camping
Author:
Melanie Watt
Series:
Scaredy Squirrel
Date(s) read:
March 4, 2013
Genre:
Picture book
Source:
Publisher / Netgalley

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Scaredy Squirrel is not too comfortable with the idea of camping ? unless it’s on his couch! There will be no mosquitoes, skunks or zippers to worry about when he watches a show about the joys of camping on his brand-new TV. But first Scaredy must find an electrical outlet, and that means going into the woods! Will the nutty worrywart’s plans prepare him for the great outdoors, or will his adventure end up as a scary story told around the campfire?

my thoughts-01

Thank you to Kids Can Press and NetGalley for providing me a copy of this book for review!

I absolutely LOVE Scaredy Squirrel, so when I saw this book up on NetGalley, I knew I had to read it! I’ve read all of the books in the series and find myself smiling with each one. Scaredy Squirrel is the cutest little character and offers wonderful advice to ALL readers.

As usual, the drawings and colours are spot on! Melanie Watt is a wonderful artist and I love all of her renditions of this little squirrel. The idea of him going camping was fun since camping is SUCH a dangerous activity and we all know that our little squirrel doesn’t like any activity that might be dangerous (I mean, those zippers can be VERY hazardous!).ย 

The whole story was a lot of fun and I laughed over the idea of Scaredy wanting to get the camping experience through a TV show, instead of doing the real thing. It’s funny because I think there are things that we do in real life — or rather, not do in real life, but instead try to live vicariously through others.

The only thing that I didn’t like about this book was that it seemed so much shorter than the other books in the series. Maybe it was because I had recently read Scaredy Squirrel Prepares for Christmas, which was a LOT longer and overflowing with information on having a safe holiday (according to Scaredy Squirrel).

Even though this book seemed too short, it’s still a great instalment to the series. If you love Scaredy Squirrel, you’ll love watching him camp! And if you have children, these books are sure to be a hit!

rating-4-01

Author Links
WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

14 thoughts on “Review: Scaredy Squirrel Goes Camping by Melanie Watt

  1. How, in all the children’s books I’m up to my knees with, have I never run into Scardey Squirrel? This looks super cute, I will check out the series!

  2. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (28) | Reading In Winter

  3. Pingback: And Now it’s Sunday (4) & Reading Through the Stacks | Winter Distractions

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

