Challenge Update: Anne & Kristilyn’s 2013 Book Bingo Reading Challenge (Update #1)

2013 Bingo Challenge Button-01

This post is for the participants of the 2013 Book Bingo reading challenge! Thank you to all the participants — we hope you’re having fun!

For the full post on this challenge, visit the original post page.

This is the first update for the challenge — how is everyone doing with their Bingo scorecards? Any winners yet?

Add your update page to the Linky below — whether you’ve reached a line, a square, or if you’ve already blacked out the board, we want to see your progress! Be sure to share your updates as you read on Twitter using the hashtag #2013BookBingo. If you don’t have a post about your update, that’s okay! Feel free to add your update in the comments below!

(Note: The linky is the same on both my and Anne’s blog, so no need to enter twice!)



For example, you can see the progress I’ve made on my Book Bingo page.

A few reminders: 

The FREE SQUARE is NOT a free square! You must read a book recommended by someone else participating in the challenge! If you’re looking for a recommendation, feel free to post your request below, or by using the hashtag on Twitter.

If you’re joining the challenge late, any of the books you’ve read since January 1st can be used toward the challenge.

I just want to remind everyone how to use the board: the first line across you will read one book per category, the second line across you will need to read TWO books per category, etc. all before you can mark that space as being complete. The only exception to this is the free square, where you will only need to read ONE book. If you have any questions about this, let me know!

And some housekeeping: 

This is the inaugural Book Bingo challenge for me and Anne! We hope to bring it to you next year, so I ask: how are we doing? Is there anything you would change about the challenge? 

And most importantly, I hope you are all having FUN with the challenge!

Weekend of Awesome:

In order to get ahead with your reading, Anne and I have planned a Weekend of Awesome for this upcoming weekend — whether you need to catch up on your reading, your blogging, or whatever you need to catch up on!

Weekend of Awesome Button-01

Anne and I have had a Weekend of Awesome in the past, where we like to take a day to catch up on reading, a day to catch up on blogging, and a day to catch up on writing — we thought it would be fun to extend our next Weekend of Awesome to the Book Bingo participants! I know I would like to catch up with my reading AND make sure my reviews are all written!

Anne says it perfectly:

A cross between Bloggiesta, a Read-a-thon and a Write-a-thon, Weekends of Awesome are all about doing ALL THE THINGS. Each day of the weekend of awesome is devoted to catching up/getting ahead in a different area: blogging, reading and writing.

What we would like to do is spend the weekend doing whatever we can to catch up! Feel free to participate and add the button to your blog, and use the hashtag #WeekendOfAwesome on Twitter to let us know your progress. If you like, you can make up a post about your plans, and add it in the comments, OR you can just join in on the weekend and let us know your progress on Twitter! Either way, be sure to let us know you’re participating so we can look out for you! (Note: The Linky above is ONLY for Book Bingo, not for the Weekend of Awesome!)

The next update will take place on JULY 1, 2013! Stay tuned for another Weekend of Awesome around that time, as well!

Are you participating in the Book Bingo challenge? Have you become the super reader yet? 

signature-01

32 thoughts on “Challenge Update: Anne & Kristilyn’s 2013 Book Bingo Reading Challenge (Update #1)

  1. I love the idea of weekend of awesome I will totally try to participate, but I’m going to be gone on Friday and Saturday so I will see what I get done on Sunday when I’m home. I might be doing the things just in a different order and not updating as often. My squares in Bingo are going really well I have finished off 9 squares mostly out of the TBR pile. I need to read some more book from 2013. The only thing I would change for next year is not putting as many rereading squares because I’m counting my bingo as done without finishing those because I just don’t reread enough for it.

    • Whatever you can fit in is great! 🙂 And however you consider getting a Bingo works for me! Some people love rereads and for others, it’s just not their thing. Still, getting the other 4 lines is great!

  2. I’m up to ten squares done! I need a free-square recommendation still though.

    I switched the challenge to Glo-Worm since it’s just me.

    The only part I haven’t made progress with yet is the re-reading part. I’m working on it though! Game of Thrones is my first re-read, then the next two in the series. And Harry Potter at some point.

    I will try to be around for the Weekend of Awesome, but who knows how I will do, I tend to be pretty busy on the weekends!

    I love the challenge! I’m thinking that maybe a bit more variety though, like not that you have to read so many books as you go, but maybe add in squares that are like “read 1 fantasy” or ” read 1 contemporary” or however many you want to make it, I think 1 is good thought because then people might try something outside of their comfort zone? I don’t know. “read a book by a male author” Things like that. I agree that the re-reading can be a bit much, I’m sure I can do it, but normally I rarely re-read much.

  3. I love the Book Bingo challenge and I’m excited about the progress I’ve made. I’ll definitely be participating next year. 😀 The Weekend of Awesome sounds like a lot of fun, but unfortunately I actually have a bunch of *plans* this coming weekend. I hope you all have a blast, though. 🙂

  4. I’m having a great time with the Book Bingo Challenge. My two difficult rows are the rereads (as mentioned by others) and the “everybody but me” books. Most of the everybody but me books seem to fall into “new books”–mainly because I’m a BIG reader of classics and older books that a lot of people have read. I’m going to be thinking about classics that I haven’t read though…..

    • I’m so glad, Bev! I found the rereads hard, but now I’m finding LOTS of books I want to reread …

      That’s a great idea to try some new-to-you classics!

  5. I posted my Bingo Card so far.. it’s been fun reading a not really thinking about it and then going to my list and seeing how many slots I can fill up. I think I’m going to do pretty well with all categories except maybe the Re-read column. I do re-read a handful of books every year, but definitely not 15. We’ll just have to see what this year brings! The year is still young!

    Unfortunately I’m super busy this weekend so no Weekend of Awesome for me. Boo! It sounds like you’ve got some book and blog-ish fun planned. Hoping it’ll be a smashing success and you’ll want to do it again sometime. 😉

    • I love that feeling of getting through the scorecard, especially when you don’t think you’re making progress, but then you add your books and realize you’re doing better than you thought.

      I really don’t reread too often, but have been doing it with a handful of books so far and only had one that wasn’t great. I hope to do more rereads now!

  6. I still have quite a few squares left to fill, but I do have the first two rows done. I’m hoping to cover the whole board. I chose the ‘Everyone but me’ based on seeing a ton of reviews done on other blogs for those books. I do need someone to give me a book for my free square 😀 I prefer Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, and Dystopia (YA and adult). I’m having a lot of fun with this challenge. Thank you so much! Jaclyn @ JC’s Book Haven.

  7. The Weekend of Awesome sounds…well, awesome! I have so much to catch up and no plans for the next three days, so this is perfect! I’ll write a blog post Saturday (I already have one scheduled for tomorrow) and tweet about it. Also, I’m loving the book bingo challenge!

  8. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (29) | Reading In Winter

  9. Pingback: And Now it’s Sunday (5) & Reading Through the Stacks | Winter Distractions

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

