Review: Girl Unmoored by Jennifer Gooch Hummer

book reviewing-01

girl unmooredTitle: Girl Unmoored
Author:
Jennifer Gooch Hummer
Date(s) read:
March 17 – 18, 2013
Genre:
YA contemporary
Source:
Publisher / Netgalley

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Apron Bramhall has come unmoored. Fortunately, she’s about to be saved by Jesus. Not that Jesus-the actor who plays him in Jesus Christ Superstar. Apron is desperate to avoid the look-alike Mike, who’s suddenly everywhere, until she’s stuck in church with him one day. Then something happens-Apron’s broken teenage heart blinks on for the first time since she’s been adrift. Mike and his boyfriend, Chad, offer her a summer job in their flower store, and Apron’s world seems to calm. But when she uncovers Chad’s secret, stormy seas return. Apron starts to see things the adults around her fail to-like what love really means, and who is paying too much for it. Apron has come unmoored, but now she’ll need to take the helm if she’s to get herself and those she loves to safe harbor.

my thoughts-01

Thank you to SparkPoint Studio and NetGalley for providing me a copy of this book for review! 

I have to admit that I was very easygoing into this book. From the cover to the synopsis (that I lightly glossed over), I assumed that I was going to be taking a journey down a light and fluffy contemporary, perhaps a nice summertime read. I really didn’t expect the story to completely take me over and have so many issues in it. And this isn’t a bad thing at all — I’d say it was a pleasant surprise to get a book with so many wonderful things going on, a book that really tugged at my heartstrings. 

Right off the bat, I was worried that I had gotten myself into an overly-religious-themed book, but that wasn’t the case. In fact, the way that it started out with Mike looking exactly like Jesus was kind of humorous. Not once was there a time where I thought religion was getting pushed down my throat because it wasn’t that kind of book, even if it touched on it slightly. It was more of a feel-good/coming-of-age kind of read. And it was set in the 80’s, which wasn’t totally obvious at first, but it really added something to the book. In fact, the time of the book was quite crucial to the story itself and growing up in that time and seeing the news at that time really hit home what was going on. The “secret” of the story was something that I could picture because I had read about it back in my days growing up.

The characters of this story were extremely well written. I felt so much for Apron — even a bit of humour towards her name and how she received it. Her life was not easy and I couldn’t believe some of the things that were thrown at her. I completely and utterly loved Mike and Chad — I thought they were wonderful characters and were really there to teach Apron a lesson about growing up and how things aren’t as easy as they seem, but that they can get so much worse. I have to say, my heart had so many feelings throughout this story and a lot of these feelings were because of the characters. They were just so moving and real!

What I thought of when I finished this story was how much I like books that have characters that need each other — characters that teach one another about life and the important things in it. I love having characters meet where it’s like destiny or fate pulling them together, not for love, but for something so much more. Life experience, perhaps? A life lesson? It’s like this pull to a complete stranger who fills the holes or teaches you the lessons that you had no idea you had to learn. That is exactly what I felt like when reading these characters. I was so thankful that they were there for one another, learning life through one another’s eyes.

I really want to read more by Jennifer Gooch Hummer — this book was a fantastic read which left me in tears by the end. It was something so totally unexpected, but something I definitely wanted more of. I wouldn’t say it was totally perfect, but based on the subject matter, that’s kind of a good thing. I highly recommend this book!

rating-5-01

Author Links
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

signature-01

12 thoughts on “Review: Girl Unmoored by Jennifer Gooch Hummer

  1. Wow, this book sounds like it was unexpectedly excellent! I also love books with characters so well-developed, like that. Where they’re pulled together for reasons *other than* romance. I’m glad you enjoyed this one; I’m going to have to look into it. 🙂

  2. This book is totally new to me, and the cover evokes light and fluffy feelings..but wow this sounds wonderful, with developed characters and depth..always lovely when you find the unexpected!!

  3. This book sounds really interesting, and like Kimba I had never heard of it before! The characters sound really good– I can’ wait to meet Mike and Chad! I’m glad that you didn’t feel like religion was getting shoved down your throat– it actually sounds like it was funny. LOL. Fab review! (:

  4. Pingback: Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (29) | Reading In Winter

  5. Pingback: And Now it’s Sunday (5) & Reading Through the Stacks | Winter Distractions

  6. When I read the synopsis I thought that this would be a religious book that may be a little too strong, but I’m glad to hear that it’s not that at all. I love books that have some great life lessons for the characters and being able to love all of the characters as well. It’s great when a book surprises you like this one did! I’m definitely liking the sound of it.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

