Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (30)

clock rewinders-01

what happened on the blog new-01

I reviewed Never Enough by Denise Jaden — a book about eating disorders that just wasn’t for me.
I reviewed the first book in a new favourite series of mine, The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han!
I talked about the feeling I get sometimes to quit blogging — and learn I’m not alone!
Book Hoarder’s Selection is back! My first pick now that I’m caught up? Just One Day by Gayle Forman.
I shared my Week Two update for the Anna and the French Kiss read-along!

and over on winter distractions-01

I admit my addiction to Han Zimmer’s “I Never Woke Up in Handcuffs Before” from Sherlock Holmes.
I reviewed I Could Pee on This (And Other Poems by Cats) by Francesco Marciuliano — and learned I’m a dog person.
I reviewed Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, a classic that just wasn’t for me.
I was in the kitchen making sourdough bread! Can you smell it? 🙂
I shared one of my favourite songs I’ve ever written, but one where I’ve never gotten the recording just right.

in my world and blog updates-01

After two super busy weeks, I had one not-so-busy week. It felt good, though I kind of wished I could go to work since the library move started this week! I’ve been looking at pictures and it looks so exciting!

Of course, not working meant I could actually catch up in all of my reading and catch up I did! I managed to get through all of my backlogged Book Hoarder’s books (the ones I said I was going to read in the next week, but never did — I’m partially through the last one right now!). My plan is to now work in more review books during the week AND continue to stay on track with Book Hoarder’s books so I don’t fall behind again.

Since MY library is closed, I went to the library in the next town over. I had NEVER been, but I heard stories about it, so I just had to stop. AND I finished my audiobook and wanted to take out a new one. This library was BIG (probably not as big as some, but big to me) and I felt so lost in it! I tried to find one book to take out, but it wasn’t in. Then I tried to take out a book that the catalogue said was in, but it wasn’t. And THEN I took out a playaway of Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta (one I’ve really been wanting to listen to!) and it didn’t work. 😦 So, my first experience wasn’t great, but I do hope to go back sometime.

My laptop was in the shop, so I made good friends with my BIG computer. We’re getting along well.

challenge updates-01

Book Bingo Challenge Update:

  • Got plenty read from my TBR pile! I am SOCLOSE to finishing my board! Well, like 15+ books away, but still.
  • Here’s my written progress –> HERE.

Seriously Series Challenge Update:

  • I started a new series! And I guess I finished it since I only own one of the books in the series. I *could* have finished it, but then I went out and bought the second book in the series, so I guess now it’s half done!

Series Started Before 2013 –> Seriously Serious (7-12)

Progress: 8/12

Series Started In 2013 –> Super Seriously Serious (13-18)

Progress: 4.5/18

around the blogosphere-01

Author stuff:

books read, accumulated, and wished for-01

Read-in-2013 (83)

  • What Alice Forgot, by Liane Moriarti
  • The Miseducation of Cameron Post, by Emily M. Danforth
  • Patient Zero (Joe Ledger, #1), by Jonathan Maberry (audiobook)
  • The Replacement, by Brenna Yovanoff
  • Two-Way Street, by Lauren Barnholdt (audiobook)
  • Matched (Matched, #1), by Ally Condie
  • Jellicoe Road, by Melina Marchetta (audiobook)
  • Just One Day (Just One Day, #1), by Gayle Forman
  • Beyond Lies the Wub, by Philip K. Dick (short story)
  • Let The Sky Fall, by Shannon Messenger

Currently-Reading (3) 

  • Drums of Autumn (Outlander, #4), by Diana Gabaldon
  • A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice & Fire, #1), by George R. R. Martin
  • Deadly Appearances (Joanne Kilbourn, #1), by Gail Bowen

Review-Books-To-Read (31)

  • The Sea of Tranquility, by Katja Millay (thank you, Simon & Schuster Canada!)
  • The Banks of Certain Rivers, by Jon Harrison (thank you, Catherine McKenzie!)
  • The Truth About You and Me, by Amanda Grace (thank you, Flux Books!)
  • The Testing (The Testing, #1), by Joelle Charbonneau

Own-Must-Read (303)

  • A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy, #1), by Deborah Harkness (on sale!)
  • Starcrossed (Starcrossed, #1), by Josephine Angelini (on sale!)
  • Half Blood Blues, by Esi Edugyan (bought for a book signing this week!)
  • Crossed (Matched, #2), by Ally Condie

How was your week? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

21 thoughts on “Clock Rewinders on a Book Binge (30)

  1. Wow, what a thorough wrap-up! And you’re reading A Game of Thrones – looking forward to your review! I really need to read that series. I can’t believe how close you are to finishing your entire Bingo board! I thought I was doing pretty good, but wow!

  2. Going to a library you don’t normally go to can be so interesting! It stinks that it didn’t work out so well for you, hopefully next time will be better 🙂

    Have a good week Kristilyn!

  3. Quite the week! I always get nervous about visiting book stores or libraries that I’m not familiar with because I always feel so incredibly lost. Sounds like you didn’t have good luck with your visit! But hey, at least it helps you love your library even more, right? 😉

    And wow, what a week with all your reading. I think I saw on Twitter you did like ten reviews? I don’t know how you do it!

    • Exactly! Though I do appreciate how other libraries do it … and if I’m going to get lost, it’s nice to get lost among the books! 🙂

      I had a lot of time to read … and a lot of time to write reviews. It happens sometimes! 🙂

  4. I can’t believe you’ve read so many books so far this year!! 83?? Sure beats my 37! 😛 You got a lot read this week too, I’m finally starting to get back into the groove of reading after last week. Should have another book finished today 🙂

    Also, thank you so much for linking not only one, but two of my posts!! 🙂

    I always love going to new libraries, so that would have been fun! I really like how if my local library doesn’t have a book, but another in NB does, they’ll just order it in from there. Our libraries aren’t very well funded, so it helps to have more of a selection! I like to just go online and see what they have if I can’t make it in. I miss the library, I haven’t been there in a few months. I have too many books to read here.

    Also, I have faith that you will finish reading A Game of Thrones on time! It’s really easy to read once you get going, so you just need a chance to sit down with it!

    Have a great week!

    • I had LOTS of time to read … and audiobooks were listened to LOTS! 37 books is still very good! KEEP GOING! 🙂

      My library can do that, too … I love it! We open again this weekend and I’m super excited about it! We can do interlibrary loans from most libraries in Alberta, which is great.

      I think I’d need to get reading Game of Thrones in order to finish by the end of the month. I’m definitely hit and miss in the read-along department!

      • lol, it happens! I’m actually happy with how I’ve been keeping up. Generally I wait until the end of the week and then read that week and the next weeks, since I read it on the weekend, and go on with my other books while I wait until I can read it again!

  5. Oh I *love* visiting other town’s libraries! Always feels like an adventure 😀

    And how did I not know about Winter Distractions? I suck so much. Going to try SO HARD to be better with my reader.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

