Review: It’s Not Summer Without You (Summer, #2) by Jenny Han

book reviewing-01

it's not summer without youTitle: It’s Not Summer Without You
Author: Jenny Han
Series: Summer, #2
Date(s) read: February 17, 2013
Genre: YA contemporary
Source: Purchased (Hardcover)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Can summer be truly summer without Cousins Beach?It used to be that Belly counted the days until summer, until she was back at Cousins Beach with Conrad and Jeremiah. But not this year. Not after Susannah got sick again and Conrad stopped caring. Everything that was right and good has fallen apart, leaving Belly wishing summer would never come.

But when Jeremiah calls saying Conrad has disappeared, Belly knows what she must do to make things right again. And it can only happen back at the beach house, the three of them together, the way things used to be. If this summer really and truly is the last summer, it should end the way it started–at Cousins Beach.

my thoughts-01

The Summer series by Jenny Han is slowly creeping up there to become one of my favourite series of all time. I love that the books only take a few hours to read (I think each one has taken me about four hours), but there is still so much emotion in each one!

When I started reading this book, the second in the series, I had to go back and make sure I was reading in the correct order. I honestly thought that I had completely ruined the series for myself until I realized that I was indeed reading the books in the correct order. I really didn’t expect the book to start off as sad as it did! With the first book ending on so much hope, it was slightly jarring for the second book to be so sad, but I knew I had to persevere!

One of the things I love best about these stories is the relationship between Belly and the boys — especially Conrad. I knew going into the series that things would be difficult and that it wasn’t going to be an easy love story, which actually made me kind of happy. With every turn of the page, I longed for Belly and Conrad to be together (sorry, Jeremiah fans — I’m on Team Conrad!). Though, while that was a part of the story, it wasn’t the whole point of the book.

I loved how the kids got together to fight for something they cared so much about. We really get to know more about all of the characters in this story and we see just how different Conrad and Jeremiah are from one another. Conrad seems to be the more moody, sensitive type, whereas Jeremiah is the kind of guy who goes more with the flow.

This story was perfect after the first one in the series — I didn’t find myself asking too many questions right in the beginning, but was able to enjoy it right from the get-go. Parts of the story were absolutely heartbreaking and other parts made me overflow with joy. I ended the book very thankful that I could dive into the third one right away — it had to be done.

This really is a great series, perfect to read in the wintertime because it had me longing for summer. I still love the scenery of the beach house and will be sad to see it go when the series ends.

rating-5plus-01

Author Links
WEB | TWITTER |ย GOODREADS

signature-01

11 thoughts on “Review: It’s Not Summer Without You (Summer, #2) by Jenny Han

  1. Oh, I’m totally Team Conrad. I’ll take that brooding, complex, wonderful boy any day ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I enjoyed this book a lot, as it adds more to the story of Belly, her boys and even Cousins Beach. This is my least favorite of the series (obviously doesn’t mean much since I loved it), mostly because I was so sad while I read it. But it’s really, really good too. It was nice to see how they’d all changed since the first book!

    • Yay for Team Conrad! ๐Ÿ™‚

      This one was SUCH a sad read … like I said, I thought I missed something when I started reading it. Still, it’s nice that for such a romantic series that there is some heavier material in it.

  2. It’s so awesome to hear this one is becoming one of your favourite series of all time! It’s not exactly my kind of read, but on the other hand, there are a few things you mention that I think I would really like and enjoy in this series. Perhaps this would be a good “break out of my comfort zone” kind of book!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

