Review: Bunheads by Sophie Flack

book reviewing-01

bunheadsTitle: Bunheads
Author:
Sophie Flack
Date(s) read:
February 20 – 22, 2013
Genre:
YA contemporary
Source:
Publisher 

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

As a dancer with the ultra-prestigious Manhattan Ballet Company, nineteen-year-old Hannah Ward juggles intense rehearsals, dazzling performances and complicated backstage relationships. Up until now, Hannah has happily devoted her entire life to ballet.

But when she meets a handsome musician named Jacob, Hannah’s universe begins to change, and she must decide if she wants to compete against the other “bunheads” in the company for a star soloist spot or strike out on her own in the real world. Does she dare give up the gilded confines of the ballet for the freedoms of everyday life?

my thoughts-01

Thank you to Hachette Book Group Canada for providing me with a copy of this book for review!

I love dance. Of course, I can’t dance, but that’s beyond the point. Whenever I see a dance movie on TV or see a book that’s dance-related, I have to watch or read them. There’s just something so beautiful about dancers, something so graceful, that I feel like some of that grace might rub off onto me and my clumsy ways.

This book, however, isn’t all grace. It starts off with the love of dance — ballet — in the spotlight for the main character, Hannah, who had been dancing all of her life and always wanted to be a ballerina. But while she loves dancing, the book takes us through a year of her being a corps dancer, showing us many of the struggles a professional dancer has to go through. 

I felt like part of me could related to this novel because I had always dreamed of being a big-time musician — but then I learned how much work it would take to actually make a living from it and shied away from the whole idea. It’s not that I was lacking ambition, but I always hated the idea of being away from my home base for so long, not being able to forge real friendships, and never seeing my family. So, I felt like I could empathize with Hannah wanting to see the world and wanting to learn and grow as a character.

Bunheads was quite a wonderful novel. There were times when I was in awe of Hannah and her discipline to her career, but at other times I felt so sorry for her having to live in the bubble that career creates for its employees. The word “sacrifice” doesn’t even begin to cut it. I loved it when Hannah tried to have romantic relationships, but then her career would suck her back in again and the relationship would fall by the wayside.

As usual, I felt myself pulled in by the romantic relationships. I felt kind of like the guys Hannah kept trying to date, only getting a little piece of her outside of the company — I felt frustrated, but I think that’s how I was supposed to feel. I did like her romantic choices, but was kind of saddened how one of them turned out.

In the end, this was a novel I could see myself reading again. It ended with a lot of hope and I finished feeling quite thoughtful about the whole business of ballet. Getting an insiders look of how things happy behind the curtains was quite eye opening. I hope that Sophie Flack writes more books like this one. Seeing as she was a former ballet dancer with the New York City Ballet, I can see her having more inspiring stories to tell.

rating-5plus-01

Author Links
WEB | TWITTERGOODREADS

signature-01

21 thoughts on “Review: Bunheads by Sophie Flack

  1. I’ve always wanted to be a dancer, but besides from jazz lessons as a kid I’ve done nothing so this book intrigues me. I’m glad to see you enjoyed it so much! And I think it’s awesome that the author was actually a ballet dancer and can pull from her own experiences when telling the story and revealing what the life is like.

  2. I really want to read this book, mostly because, like you, I’m extremely fascinated by dancing (especially ballet!). I know that a lot of people have read this book, and enjoyed it. Now I can add your name to those list of people (which is a big part of the reason I really want to check it out)! Hopefully, I get my hands on a copy soon.

  3. I love reading books about dance as well, especially ballet. When I was younger I took dance so for me reading these types of books take me back. I’m glad to hear that this book was so good, I’ve heard a few varying reviews. I definitely like that this book shows the difficulties and sacrifices someone like Hannah has to deal with for a career in dance. Great review!

  4. Oh, I hadn’t heard of this book! But I’m like you, I get sucked in to dance movies. I haven’t even found many dance books yet, so this one is a pleasant surprise. From your descriptions, this book sounds similar to the movie Center Stage, but with an even deeper exploration of the main character’s life and relationships. I’ll definitely be lookinf more into it — and sharing it with my sister.

  5. Ahhhh, I LOVE ballet stuff. I haven’t had the best of luck with the few ballet books I’ve read, BUT, I’ve yet to see a negative review of this one. I’ve considered buying it a few times but haven’t taken the plunge. I’m glad you said it ends on a hopeful note, and that you were able to identify with the MC. Nice review, Kristilyn! m

  6. Ahh, I’ve had this one on my radar for a long time now – I love everything dance related – especially books and movies! I danced a big chunk of my life and I will never get tired of reading or watching dance movies. Center Stage is one of my favourite movies and I think my sister and I have seen it over 50 times lol. Your review has me itching to read this sooner than later now 🙂

  7. I like dancing (but look like an idiot doing it). I’d definitely like to give this one a try, it sounds great! I enjoy books written about an area/industry by someone who really knows what they’re talking about!

  8. I used to watch Save The Last Dance all the time, it was one of my favourite movies. So I do like dance movies. I like watching people do what I can’t to. Have you watched any of Lindsey Sterling’s videos on youtube? Holy amazing!

    I think I would like this book a lot. It sounds really interesting. And if the author actually knows what they are writing about, all the better! I’m glad you enjoyed this one so much! I had to add it to my TBR!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

