Review: The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

book reviewing-01

the truth about foreverTitle: The Truth About Forever
Author:
Sarah Dessen
Date(s) read:
February 15 – 16, 2013
Genre:
YA contemporary
Source:
Library (Paperback)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

a long, hot summer…

That’s what Macy has to look forward to while her boyfriend, Jason, is away at Brain Camp. Days will be spent at a boring job in the library, evenings will be filled with vocabulary drills for the SATs, and spare time will be passed with her mother, the two of them sharing a silent grief at the traumatic loss of Macy’s father.

But sometimes unexpected things can happen—things such as the catering job at Wish, with its fun-loving, chaotic crew. Or her sister’s project of renovating the neglected beach house, awakening long-buried memories. Things such as meeting Wes, a boy with a past, a taste for Truth-telling, and an amazing artistic talent, the kind of boy who could turn any girl’s world upside down. As Macy ventures out of her shell, she begins to wonder, Is it really better to be safe than sorry?

my thoughts-01

Excuse me for a minute while I swoon and flail.

*swoons and flails*

Whew! I needed that!

I may have had one bad moment with Sarah Dessen’s books, which made me a little hesisant to pick up another one so soon, but I am so happy that I decided to read this one. A few other people have claimed it to be one of their favourites and I’m happy to put myself in that rank, as well! This book was just so, so good!

“That was the thing. You never got used to it, the idea of someone being gone. Just when you think it’s reconciled, accepted, someone points it out to you, and it just hits you all over again, that shocking.”

I thought that Macy was a wonderful character, though I kind of felt like she was sticking with Jason out of obligation. I definitely thought he was kind of a tool to her about her lack of commitment to her library job and I found myself feeling so sorry for the experiences she had to have while working with Jason’s so-called “friends.” Of course, after a while we get to see just how different Jason is — he’s kind of like the Sheldon Cooper boyfriend, and really, Macy’s okay with that. Until she meets Wes. Wes! *swoons again*

I loved how we got to see Macy grow and eventually come out of her shell. Thoughout a lot of the story she was protecting herself, hiding behind her grief and it was wonderful to see her find the catering crew at Wish and learn that it’s okay to break from the routine.

“There is never a time or place for true love. It happens accidentally, in a heartbeat, in a single flashing, throbbing moment.”

Sarah Dessen writes such wonderful books. They can be a bit formulaic, but I think that’s what I like about them. I love how there seems to be that strange and quirky crowd that’s so much different from the main character. And with that crowd comes a boy, and then … well, you’d have to read the book to see what happens!

This is definitely going on the list of favourites. I can’t wait to read more of Sarah’s books!

rating-5plus-01

Author Links
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

signature-01

17 thoughts on “Review: The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

  1. Oooh, character growth? AND it made you swoon? YAY! I have this one and am hoping to get to it in May. I’ve told myself by then I’ll be somewhat caught up and able to read “me” books and I’ve been meaning to read more of Sarah’s books!

    • Swooning is good!

      I’ve been a bit of a slacker reader and am forcing myself to get out of review books and read just for me. That means more Sarah for me, too!

  2. I’ve heard so many great things about this book, and about Sarah Dessen! I don’t read a lot of contemporary, but it seems like I ought to check this book out at some point. Glad you loved this book so much! 🙂

  3. So, I’ve already decided that next pay I’m getting some Sarah Dessen. I was in Costco yesterday and saw that they have four of her books in there, so yeah.. Going to get them! I’ve decided I must try her books since you seem to enjoy them so much. This one sounds really good, I’m glad you enjoyed it so much!

  4. Yay!!!! *jumps up and down* This one was my favourite, too! I loved Macy and Wes so much! And I’m so glad that you loved them, too…and now I totally want to reread this one. ;D

  5. Yes! Wes!! *Swoons and flails as well*. Absolutely hands down my favorite. I didn’t even think about Jason being similar to Sheldon. I think Sheldon might be a better boyfriend because he genuinely has a good heart and friends who can guide him. Jason’s just a douche with a bitch squad to back him up.
    I love Macy’s new group of friends and Wes and Bert’s aunt. I just love everything about this book. One my favorite things about Sarah Dessen’s book are that the parents aren’t always right and far from perfect. It makes the stories more real.

    • Yes! And the parents are actually present. I think that’s hard to find in YA books these days. And I love what you say about Jason … he is a douche with a bitch squad! Ha ha!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

