Book Hoarder’s Selection (25): Ten Things We Did (And Probably Shouldn’t Have) by Sarah Mlynowski

book hoarder's selection-01

BOOK HOARDER’S SELECTION, is a feature of Reading In Winter, which will feature one book from my collection that I plan to read in the coming week. These are NOT review books, but books I’ve purchased, which have been neglected for a long time.

ten things we didTITLE: Ten Things We Did (And Probably Shouldn’t Have)

AUTHOR: Sarah Mlynowski

HOW LONG I’VE HAD IT: Since last year.

WHY I’M READING IT: Well, I’ve heard awesome things about Sarah Mlynowski, but still have yet to read any of her books! I think it’s due time that I finally crack one open. This book was one that I won last year and ended up getting a signed copy, which made me very excited! It also sounds like a very cute book — a nice, light contemporary, which is just what I need!

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

SYNOPSIS:

2 girls + 3 guys + 1 house – parents = 10 things April and her friends did that they (definitely, maybe, probably) shouldn’t have.

If given the opportunity, what sixteen-year-old wouldn’t jump at the chance to move in with a friend and live parent-free? Although maybe “opportunity” isn’t the right word, since April had to tell her dad a tiny little untruth to make it happen (see #1: “Lied to Our Parents”). But she and her housemate Vi are totally responsible and able to take care of themselves. How they ended up “Skipping School” (#3), “Throwing a Crazy Party” (#8), “Buying a Hot Tub” (#4), and, um, “Harboring a Fugitive” (#7) at all is kind of a mystery to them.

In this hilarious and bittersweet tale, Sarah Mlynowski mines the heart and mind of a girl on her own for the first time. To get through the year, April will have to juggle a love triangle, learn to do her own laundry, and accept that her carefully constructed world just might be falling apart . . . one thing-she-shouldn’t-have-done at a time.

Have you read this book?

signature-01

8 thoughts on “Book Hoarder’s Selection (25): Ten Things We Did (And Probably Shouldn’t Have) by Sarah Mlynowski

  1. I’ve read this one. I think it was about a year ago that I read it and I wasn’t crazy about it. Some of my bookish pet peeves like absent parents and such figure heavily in the book.
    I hope you enjoy it more than did. I’m really picky about books.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

