Review: Drama by Raina Telgemeier

book reviewing-01

dramaTitle: Drama
Author:
Raina Telgemeier
Date(s) read:
March 7, 2013
Genre:
MG Graphic Novel
Source:
Library (Paperback)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Callie loves theater. And while she would totally try out for her middle school’s production of Moon Over Mississippi, she can’t really sing. Instead she’s the set designer for the drama department stage crew, and this year she’s determined to create a set worthy of Broadway on a middle-school budget. But how can she, when she doesn’t know much about carpentry, ticket sales are down, and the crew members are having trouble working together? Not to mention the onstage AND offstage drama that occurs once the actors are chosen. And when two cute brothers enter the picture, things get even crazier!

my thoughts-01

After reading Raina Telgemeier’s awesome book Smile, which brought back memories of my own youth, I knew I had to read more of her graphic novels. Seeing that a lot of people were recommending Drama, I picked it up to give it a try.

I loved that this story had the same kind of feel as the first book I had read. I still love Raina’s illustrations and that they’re so bright and colourful, and fun to look at. I liked the idea of the story’s setting being around a theatre class in school — though, I really couldn’t identify with it myself since I really wasn’t a drama person in school.

I think part of the charm of the first book, of Smile, was that the main character was Raina. It was so interesting to kind of connect with the author through the things she had to go through as a child. In Drama, we get Callie, who looks quite similar to Raina. I had wished that they were the same character in both books, since I felt slightly disconnected with this story.

I did like that this story revolves around first loves and the shyness that surrounds it. It also deals with coming out of your shell and trying something new, even if you’re scared to try it. But I felt like a lot of the themes were too neatly tied up, whereas in real life they would probably be more complicated. Still, it’s a very short, easy read, so if you’re looking for something to read in a short amount of time, this could be a nice one to try.

I am definitely interested in trying out more of Raina’s work, but I do think that Smile will remain the favourite for me.

rating-3-01

Author Links
WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

10 thoughts on “Review: Drama by Raina Telgemeier

  1. I’m reading this for YA Pride and I’ve flipped through it and fell in love with the artwork. It’s too bad it’s not as good as Smile but that just means I need to add that to my TBR too 🙂

    • I really love the artwork, too! It wasn’t horrible, but it just really didn’t stand up to Smile. If you’re READ Smile already, though, I’d say this one is worth the read. I think that for first time readers of Telgemeier, Smile should be the first read. 🙂

    • Oh, I definitely think this would be a hit with people who were in Drama … I never was, so maybe that’s why I couldn’t relate? I do love the illustrations … I’ll definitely be reading more by the author!

  2. I still really want to get Smile after having read your review a while back. I’m not as curious about this one but I do like the super cute cover! Too bad this one wasn’t all you were expecting but I am happy that you liked it a bit at least!

  3. I think I would probably enjoy this a lot. I’m a very shy person, so when I was in highschool and one of the teachers started a drama program, I surprised myself by signing up. I loved being in drama and amazingly wasn’t afraid at all when I went on stage. You never know what you can do until you try!

    I’m glad you liked the book at least a bit!

    • That’s so awesome! I took drama, but I was still shy. It wasn’t until I started playing music that I broke out of my shell onstage … but I still need a piano in front of me. 🙂

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

