Sunday Reads (38)

sunday reads-01

Another weekend … another update!

In my life (and, thus, blog): 

This past week has been pretty nice! The sun FINALLY came out. It’s funny because a week ago from this past Monday we had a blizzard, like, a HUGE blizzard that made it impossible for me to go to work and now this past Monday it was 30 degrees outside. Talk about a 360 turnaround! Of course, it’s still Canada, so that means that the weather dropped down to 14 the next day and was cold. Typical.

On Tuesday I went to run some errands and my back tire was dragging out of the garage — not turning. So, hubs took it in and it’s been in the shop since Wednesday. This makes me sad because my only other mode of transportation is the husband’s truck and I’m really not a truck driver. They’re too big and awkward. BUT that just meant that I could hibernate watching Lost or reading on the deck with the dogs. Nothing wrong with that!

I read on the deck. Grace tried to decide between two balls.

I read on the deck. Grace tried to decide between two balls.

Later in the week I got called into work for this weekend which is good because I like work, but bad because the weather is sooooo beautiful outside! The grass is turning green and the trees are starting to bloom. And today it’s supposed to be about 28 degrees, which would be PERFECT for some deck reading, but I’ll chat with people about books at the library instead. At least we’re only open for a few hours.

The blooming trees ... so pretty!

The blooming trees … so pretty!

As far as the blog goes, I spent some time moving around my blog schedule and moving posts around. Including the Sunday post, I’ll be posting 4x a week, which isn’t bad at all. I’m going to be scheduling way ahead, but that’s totally fine with me. 🙂

In books (& reading): 

I actually had a pretty good reading week this week! I’m still in the chick-lit, romancy area of reading and LOVING it. I do have plans to get through my review books so I can mark them all as done, but I’m not quite there yet. I’ve also been reading a lot on my Kobo, which is great. I used it quite a bit, but once I got my iPad, it kind of fell on the back burner. I love using it now! It’s so small and light and perfect for reading when the sun is shining.

This week I finished reading When In Doubt, Add Butter by Beth Harbison (so good – I love any book that talks about food!). I also read Rainshadow Road by Lisa Kleypas, the second one in the Friday Harbor series (I have the first one out from the library … and the third one on hold!). I love this series! It’s so fun to read! Oh, and I read Lauren Graham’s new book Someday, Someday, Maybe, which I really loved. I *may* be biased since I’m a huge fan of Gilmore Girls and Parenthood, but I really hope she writes something else. Soon. AND I read my last Book Hoarder’s book, Ten Things We Did (And Probably Shouldn’t Have), by Sarah Mlynowski. Kind of far-fetched, but still a fun read!

I’m currently reading Chasing Perfect by Susan Mallery, the first book in her Fool’s Gold series — so far, very light, but it’s just what I’m looking for. AND I finagled a copy of Sophie Kinsella’s new book Wedding Night from the library (not yet on the shelves there yet!) and hope to start it today.

Bout of Books is this week! I may actually participate, but not how I used to … I kind of like Anne’s idea of doing a final update at the end so it’s less stressful. I may not even pick out what books I’m going to read, but just wing it. We’ll see … hopefully I can get a post up later today!

How was your week? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

12 thoughts on “Sunday Reads (38)

  1. Rainshadow Road was the Lisa Kleypas book that I won from Goodreads and really liked! I gave it to my mom and she liked it too.

    I’m doing Bout of Books, but haven’t picked out what books I’m going to read, just that I want to read at least 5. I’m only going to update at the end probably though, if you’ve seen my post from today, you’ll know why.

    Also, Chris just ordered me a laptop for Mother’s Day, *yay* so I will be able to work on blog posts while Kailyn is having her TV time now, rather than squeezing it all in my evenings 🙂 It should help!

    I also love reading with my Kobo outside! We have a Nexus 7, but I’ve never wanted to read on it. I don’t like the back lighting. And you can’t really read it in the sun. Too much glare!

    I’m glad you have figured out your schedule and stuff! I’m hoping I can get my fixed to be managable.

    • Yay for a new laptop! I love having mine. 🙂 And yeah … I don’t like the backlit ereaders because of the glare. My Kobo Touch is really super light, which is great AND it fits in my purse (my iPad does, too, but it’s just so big and can get heavy).

      I can’t wait to continue the Lisa Kleypas series … I have one of the other books out from the library and hope to read it soon!

  2. Sounds like a good week for you! It’s funny now that your getting green and sunshine, we are starting to get gray and rain. It’s supposed to warm back up later this week though but we’ll see how that goes! Oh, and four posts a week? Sounds good to me! It looks like you’re getting things where you want them 🙂

    • Yes! I just have to try and remember to write reviews now … I’ve been slacking!

      I guess the weather could be worse … I heard that over on the east coast, Newfoundland had snow!

  3. Just a short comment here, but I loved seeing the photos of your dogs this week. I am glad you were able to get outside and enjoy the weather some but I am sorry your car is having issues. Hopefully it’s fixed soon! Posting 4 times a week is not bad at all. That’s what I used to do before I had Lyn!

    • Thanks, Kara! I love taking pictures of them, but they can be finicky when I want a GOOD picture. I think I get more silly ones than anything else. 🙂

  4. Grace doesn’t then bark at you to throw said ball, thereby constantly interrupting you trying to read outside, does she? Because Saigon totally doesn’t do that either 😉

    Oooh can’t wait to hear how the new Kinsella book is! And big BOO to car troubles. My hubby also has a truck and while I can’t drive it because it’s a standard, I still wouldn’t drive it even if I could! Too big for me!

    Hope you had a good day at work 🙂

    • Ha ha … she doesn’t do that for me! She just drops it and waits, then she’ll come back and move it an inch becuase I obviously didn’t see it. Eventually she’ll just take off and try to eat the ball.

      The Sophie Kinsella book was so good! I loved it. 🙂

  5. Apart from hopelessly drowning in allergies (stupid pollen to blame, of course), I’ve been having a great week! I enjoyed a bookish outing with Gaby (of Queen Ella Bee Reads) last week and bought a TON of books. And I’ve been reading, reading, reading, as always!

    That weather looks DIVINE. I wish I could come and visit!

    • Allergies suck! I’ve been sneezing a lot lately … I’m wondering if I’ve aquired some new allergy.

      The weather here is awesome, BUT you have to be prepared for mosquitoes, which I am … not.

  6. Ooh, Sophie Kinsella! ❤ I of course will HAVE to read her new one. Marie talked me into buying an e-book copy of TEN THINGS because she liked it so much, and I need to get around to it.

    I'm so glad y'all got some nice weather! Snow is nice and all but when it's time for warm weather, all that cold junk needs to go away.

    • I am so bad with buying ebooks! It’s like once they’re on my ereader, I forget about them — what with not SEEING them staring at me from my bookshelf. I hope you like Ten Things — it’s very cute!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

