Review: The Secret of the Fortune Wookiee (Origami Yoda, #3) by Tom Angleberger

book reviewing-01

the secret of the fortune wookieTitle: The Secret of the Fortune Wookiee
Author: Tom Angleberger
Series: Origami Yoda, #3
Date(s) read: February 16, 2013
Genre: Middle Grade Humour
Source: Library (Hardcover)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

IS IT POSSIBLE TO HAVE A CASE FILE WITHOUT ORIGAMI YODA?

With Dwight suspended, McQuarrie Middle School is missing its most famous attendee: origami Yoda. And no Yoda means no case file mystery to solve. But just as Tommy wonders if he’ll ever find anything interesting to write about again, something BIG happens. Something BIG and HAIRY. It’s a Fortune Wookiee, a paper fortune teller in the form of Chewbacca. Sara brings it to school as a gift from Dwight, and it seems to give advice that’s just as good as Yoda’s. Mysterious it is!

Tommy, Kellen, and Harvey are on the case. and when their classmates start having strange “Dwight Sightings” (sightings of Dwight in which he is Yoda-less and acting WAY too normal), the boys have TWO mysteries to solve. The closer they get, the more possible it seems that origami Yoda will be back…

my thoughts-01

This was such a great end to a series I have come to really enjoy! I wouldn’t say that I’m the biggest Star Wars fan, but I have seen the movies and liked them, so I felt like I was good and prepared when it came to trying this series. I just didn’t expect it to be as much fun as it was!

I loved how we had the same cast of characters for this story and how they’re all missing Dwight — who was the weird kid in the first book, eventually growing to be somewhat of a friend of everyone else, despite his weird ways. 

It was kind of fun having Chewy as one of the origami characters in this book — though I especially loved having Hans Solo as the wookiee transcriber, explaining what Chewy was trying to say in his growls and grunts.

I also thought it was cute how there was romance in this book. I didn’t expect romance (what with it being a Middle Grade book), but it’s totally there and it’s very cute and smile-worthy. Heck, even Harvey was awesome in this book, and he’s not usually the most likeable character!

The great thing about these books is the message that comes with them. In this volume, I think we’re being told that it’s okay to be yourself — rather than conform to everyone else, let your true self shine!

I honestly hope that this isn’t the end end to this series because I would love to see more of these characters, as well as more Star Wars references! Perhaps the wait until the next novel will give me time to brush up on my Star Wars knowledge. 🙂

rating-5-01

Author Links
WEBGOODREADS

signature-01

2 thoughts on “Review: The Secret of the Fortune Wookiee (Origami Yoda, #3) by Tom Angleberger

  1. Continuing to love this series! Awesome! I saw all of them at the Sherwood Park Costco a few weeks ago and almost grabbed them all but then I realized how far behind I am with Mini-Me Reads and stopped myself. Happy these keep being great for you!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

