Sunday Reads (39)

sunday reads-01

Another weekend … another update!

In my life: 

Where did the past week go? It seems like just yesterday, Anne and I were talking about me coming down to visit her in Ohio and now it’s coming up SO FAST! I feel like I’m finally prepared, but mainly because I made myself get prepared these last few days (instead of watching Lost reruns), so this week can happen and then I am off!

Grace in stealth mode. If she can't see you, you can't see her.

Grace in stealth mode. If she can’t see you, you can’t see her.

I worked a LOT this past week, which was awesome. I’m loving the new library facility and can’t wait for the renovations on the other 60% of it to be finished. It does kind of suck working during the day in the week because all you can hear is construction. It can get LOUD! But I mostly work evenings or weekends, so that’s rare.

I got my car back! FINALLY! I hadn’t driven it for eleven days and for ten of those days it was in the shop. I got so used to driving my husband’s very big truck that I forgot where my gear shift was in my car. But that’s okay because today I drove it ALL THE PLACES and was happy to have my car and my music back — as well as a vehicle where I didn’t have to hoist myself up real high to get in.

Ahh ... nothing says Alberta like a vaguely threatening sky.

Ahh … nothing says Alberta like a vaguely threatening sky.

I finally visited the new Target! I think we got 5 of them in the city and it’s alright. I think the ones in the states are better — at least the ones that I’ve visited in the past (last one was in Florida). It’s kind of like Wal-Mart, though I found that Target has more clothes (I scored two awesome dresses!), but less of a food section. I’m torn on if I like it or not.

In reading (& blogging): 

*twiddles thumbs*

SO you know how this week was Bout of Books? Well, I kind of sucked at it. I did finish reading Wedding Night, by Sophie Kinsella, which was awesome, and I’m still working on finishing my second book, Chasing Perfect, by Susan Mallery. I’m loving it and only have a few pages left to go, so I do plan to finish it by the end of today! Although, my initial goal was to read 5 books this week and I only read two, but that’s okay. I still had fun! I missed the chats because I was spending time with hubs, but I guess that’s why I left myself lots of moving room for the week and the read-a-thon. Since I’ll be airplane-bound soon, I plan to get some reading done then ALTHOUGH I did buy a few game books because I like those.

I was hoping to get more deck reading done this week but the mosquitos have come back with a VENGEANCE and it’s hard to go outside without getting swarmed. So, we’ve been housebound. I guess that’s okay, but I wish I could be outside in the sunshine!

How was your week? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

15 thoughts on “Sunday Reads (39)

  1. I was without my car for more than a month and had to drive my dad’s SUV. When I got it back, I was so happy! Until it decided it wanted to start itself on fire, anyway. I think we’ve officially gotten it to abandon its pyro tendencies now.

    Totally feel you on the joy of getting your own car back.

    • Oh no! That would be super scary. I know cars die eventually, but I think I’d prefer mine to just … stop.

      I even cleaned it when I got it back. I was so happy!

  2. That’s okay that you just read two books. I have finished one book so far this week and I’m working on my second although I don’t think I will finish it today. I didn’t get very much reading done yesterday because I graduated from High School.

  3. I love the picture of Grace!! Chris’ old dog Maggie used to close her eyes tight and then you couldn’t see her because she couldn’t see you. Dogs are so silly!

    Don’t worry about not meeting your BoB goal, I’m not going to get mine either, unless I can read a whole book tonight, which I doubt. I was doing so well too! I had 4 books read by Wednesday and then have barely read since. I’ve been so tired! But it’s okay because my body needs energy to grow my little jellybean 😉

    I hope you have a fun vacation!

  4. Yay for getting your car back!

    And yay for Target 🙂 I SOOOO prefer Target to Walmart. They’re stuff is just better, and Walmart is so… dirty. Target DEFINITELY has better clothes. I’m a little disappointed that they started making Targets with a food section… If being able to buy clothes and groceries in the store was that important to me, I would’ve been going to Walmart to begin with. (Obviously I’m a bit of a snob, lol.)

    I hope you have a great week!!

    • WalMart does seem dirtier … Target is just brighter and more eye catching. I do like buying clothes AND food in the same store, but mainly because I don’t like driving around. 🙂

  5. LOL, you have mosquitoes in Canada already? SHIT. They are horrendous here year round mostly. Only thing I hate about Florida, really.

    Target is AWESOME. I’ve never been to a Canadian one though. You are right about the food section though. It stinks. I use Target for books, clothes, and home goods.

    Grace is adorable.

    • Yes, we have TONS of mosquitoes — it’s ridiculous!

      The funny thing is that I never did find the books in Target! I was looking for them, but they must keep them well hidden. 🙂

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

