Review: Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella

book reviewing-01

wedding nightTitle: Wedding Night 
Author:
Sophie Kinsella
Date(s) read:
May 13 – 15, 2013
Genre:
Chick Lit
Source:
Library (Hardcover)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Lottie just knows that her boyfriend is going to propose during lunch at one of London’s fanciest restaurants. But when his big question involves a trip abroad, not a trip down the aisle, she’s completely crushed. So when Ben, an old flame, calls her out of the blue and reminds Lottie of their pact to get married if they were both still single at thirty, she jumps at the chance. No formal dates—just a quick march to the altar and a honeymoon on Ikonos, the sun-drenched Greek island where they first met years ago.

Their family and friends are horrified. Fliss, Lottie’s older sister, knows that Lottie can be impulsive—but surely this is her worst decision yet. And Ben’s colleague Lorcan fears that this hasty marriage will ruin his friend’s career. To keep Lottie and Ben from making a terrible mistake, Fliss concocts an elaborate scheme to sabotage their wedding night. As she and Lorcan jet off to Ikonos in pursuit, Lottie and Ben are in for a honeymoon to remember, for better . . . or worse.

my thoughts-01

 

Have you entered my GIVEAWAY for this book yet?

I simple ADORE Sophie Kinsella. When I’m feeling down or maybe a bit bored with my reading, I know that one of her books will pick me up. No, they’re not literary classics, but they’re FUN — and sometimes we need that in our reading!

This book really was no different than some of her last ones. It was just a fun, fun read and exactly what I was looking for. One thing I love about the characters in Sophie’s books is that you come to care about them — you feel for them, even if they’re making stupid mistakes. And while you’re caring, you’re laughing, because you really can’t NOT laugh while reading one of these books.

I loved that this book was written with two narrators, Lottie and Fliss, two sisters. It was also great that it wasn’t solely about Lottie, but also about Fliss and her search for romance and love.

Of course, it’s not like this book is realistic AT ALL, but that’s so not the point. One thing that you have to remember when you go into reading a book like this is that no, it might not happen in real life, but isn’t that why we read books like this? The setting was a perfect escape and the characters provided heart and a bit of comedy. I FLEW through this book and I’m so happy I could get my hands on it (big thanks to the ladies I work with, who lent it to me before it got on the shelves!).

Sophie Kinsella will always be one of those “must-buy” authors on my list because her books are just the perfect read for a dreary day, or even for a sunny day on the deck or at the beach!

rating-5-01

Author Links
WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

8 thoughts on “Review: Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella

  1. Just entered your giveaway. Shopaholic is totally a guilty pleasure, and I enjoyed The Undomestic Goddess. I hated Can You Keep a Secret… HATED it intensely. So I could go either way with this one!

  2. I’m so glad that you enjoyed this one! Wedding Night is a staple on my TBR list this summer and I’m really looking forward to reading it, particularly after the great experience I had with Kinsella’s I’ve Got Your Number 😀 There’s a sense of comfort when reading Kinsella’s work, as you know that they will almost always be reliable, heart-warming, and most importantly, a lot of fun. Great review!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

