Cover Love: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins (Part 1)

cover love-01

Oh look! It’s a Cover Love in two parts! This is because I’m talking about books that make SUCH DRASTIC CHANGES (<– yes, this must be capitalized for emphasis) that I’m torn as a reader on what book to buy.

Anna and the French Kiss is a book I absolutely LOVED. One of the rare books that had me starting to read it in the early evening and staying up late at night to finish it. The cover for the book really suited the story well:

anna and the french kiss

I mean, we have the beautiful Eiffel Tower in the background and lovely Anna on the cover with a mysterious man hand. Who’s the guy?! Will they fall in love?! The cutesy font lets me know that the story is going to be cute and romantic and just my kind of read.

But THEN they had to go and change the cover to make it more accessible to other readers:

Anna and the French Kiss new

While this cover does have some “cute” to it, with the pink background and the little heart, it just doesn’t grab me as much as the first one does. We still see the Eiffel Tower and the little heart means that there will be love, but I don’t like all the different font sizes. I also miss seeing Anna on the cover.

I guess the nice thing is that the covers are both SO different from one another that it’s easy to say whether you love one or hate one, but I wonder  how changing the cover will bring in more reading. I mean, it’s still a teen romance book. If an adult is going to read teen romance, I’m sure the cover won’t be a deterrent. Perhaps they made a more simplistic cover for reading in public? Maybe people would feel embarrassed by reading the first one on the train?

While I don’t love the second one, I admit that it is growing on me — and yes, that’s the cover I bought, mainly so that my entire series will match when I pick up Lola (which I loved) and Isla.

Which one of these covers do you like best? 

signature-01

16 thoughts on “Cover Love: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins (Part 1)

  1. I think I like the 1st cover. I haven’t read the book, but, like you said, it seems to pop out at my a little more than the second cover. Some covers can do photographs of characters and other can not. The same goes for book covers with bold text — it works well for some books and not so much for others.

  2. I agree with you! I’m actually STILL on the fence about how I feel about these cover changes for the Stephanie Perkins books… They were a little… “young”, I guess, but it was cutesy and fun and yes, I did like seeing Anna on the cover! I wasn’t a huge fan of how the boy was cut off because it seemed a bit awkward, but truthfully, it didn’t bother me THAT much and everything was clear and cute. With the new cover…. Ehh, it doesn’t carry that same sense of light & fun that the original cover did! It’s nice (although I think they could have done better with the font too), but it doesn’t carry the same FEELING that this will be a really FUN book. *shrugs* Just my opinion, but it seems like we have similar ones! 🙂

    • I totally agree! They just look a little more … serious? I guess? I like that the original covers were so fun, even if they were, as you said, a little cutesy. Nothing wrong with that once in a while!

  3. I haven’t read the novel, but I prefer the second cover. I think that’s because in general I don’t like having photographs of people on covers, though, preferring the character’s looks to be left to the imagination. The only time I really like photographs is when they are black and white and old-looking, such as The Lost Wife, or Daughter of Fortune.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

