Challenge: The Canadian Reading Challenge, July 1-31

Canadian-Reading-Challenge-2013-Button_zps967998faI have completely sucked with challenges lately, but when I saw this one over on Marie’s blog, I knew I had to sign up! I have a TON of Canadian authored books on my shelves and absolutely love Canadian literature.

The Canadian Reading Challenge is hosted by Marie, over at Ramblings of a Daydreamer, Sarah from Workaday Reads, and Patricia Lynne, YA Author. This is a great challenge to bring light to the many, many wonderful Canadian authors that are out there! Here’s what the purpose of the challenge is:

To bring attention to Canadian authors and show the love! I’m sure a lot of people will be surprised that some of their favorite authors are Canadian, or that authors they’ve heard of but haven’t read yet are Canadian.

The goal of the challenge is to read any books — there’s no minimum limit — either by a Canadian author, or a book set in Canada. I hope to read at least three from my shelves. Here are some of the books I’ll be choosing from (though the list could definitely change!). I also have some Kelley Armstrong (LOTS of her stuff!) and some L. M. Montgomery and Esi Edugyen:

if i tellvirtuosity

UPDATE:

I’ll try and update with the books I’ve read for the challenge, as well as links to my reviews!

Read: Virtuosity by Jessica Martinez –> Review
Reread: Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror, #1) by Karina Halle –> Review
Read: Come Alive (Experiment in Terror, #7) by Karina Halle –> Review
Read: How I Lost You by Janet Gurtler –> Review

Are you participating in this challenge? Who is your favourite Canadian author? 

signature-01

9 thoughts on “Challenge: The Canadian Reading Challenge, July 1-31

  1. This sounds like a great challenge Kristilyn! I kind of want to join, but I think I’ll try to finish my other challenges instead. Maybe next year!

  2. So glad you’re participating, Kristilyn! There are so many fantastic Canadian authors. From your list I’ve read Virtuosity and it was pretty good. I’ll be curious to see what you think. I just found out a week or so ago that Janet Gurtler is Canadian, so I’m hoping to read something of hers this month. Good luck – I’ll be checking back regularly! 🙂

    • Yes! Janet Gurtler is from Calgary! 🙂 I just finished Virtuosity yesterday and thought it was really good … a little different from what I thought it would be, but still a good read.

    • Ha ha … I hear ya! I’m trying to get back into reading since I know I won’t have all the time come the new year! I’ll have to get in what I can now … I’ve read one so far, by a Canadian author, AND a reread of a favourite. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Rereading: Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror, #1) by Karina Halle | Reading In Winter

    • I’ve read The Virgin Cure, which was really good. I don’t know why I haven’t read this one! I’ll have to see if I can get to it after the read-a-thon next week. 🙂 With the husband going on vacation soon I’ll have lots of time to immerse myself in a book!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

