Review: Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices, #3) by Cassandra Clare

book reviewing-01

clockwork princessTitle: Clockwork Princess
Author: Cassandra Clare
Series: The Infernal Devices, #3
Date(s) read: March 20 – 24, 2013
Genre: YA Steampunk
Source: Purchased (Hardcover)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy.

Tessa Gray should be happy – aren’t all brides happy?
Yet as she prepares for her wedding, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute.
A new demon appears, one linked by blood and secrecy to Mortmain, the man who plans to use his army of pitiless automatons, the Infernal Devices, to destroy the Shadowhunters. Mortmain needs only one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. And Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa’s heart, will do anything to save her.

my thoughts-01

First things first, I am SO sad that this series is over. While I may have my issues with the continuing of the Mortal Instruments series, the Infernal Devices series was one that I was addicted to right from the start, with a world that I wish would never end.

Unfortunately, series books DO need to end after a while and the way an author handles that ending can be good or bad. For me, this series ended on kind of a lukewarm note for me. I really loved the story itself and was interested to see how all of these characters came together in the end, how they eventually connected with the character in the Mortal Instruments series, but the ending seemed to be a little too … happy for me.

I get that authors like to make EVERYONE happy, and I know I’ve complained about this NOT happening in the past, but part of me wished that the ending had been a bit messier. Of course, I’m not going to talk about WHAT the ending was, but the whole thing was just a little too neat for me.

I still loved Tessa’s character in this story, even if I wasn’t too keen on her choices. I felt like Will had some of the best speeches in the story — enough to rip my heart to pieces. And even Jem’s story was intriguing. The hard thing about writing this review is that there are things that happened that I completely disagreed with, but that I can’t talk about in this review because I’d ruin the story. I guess it all comes down to wanting to make everyone happy — it just doesn’t have to happen all the time.

I still think that this was a great series and it’s one that will stick with me for a long while. Cassandra Clare is a wonderful writing and I look forward to seeing what she comes up with in the future. Steampunk seems to be something she’s good at, but I do hope that she tries her hand at a different genre at some point. I think she’d be great at it.

rating-4-01

Author Links
WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

5 thoughts on “Review: Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices, #3) by Cassandra Clare

  1. I adored this series! It really was a bummer that it had to end, although I’m happy enough that TMI hasn’t yet so I have time to catch up, though I really could’ve done with a just trilogy for that series as well. Will really did grow on me in this book, and I wasn’t sure if he tore my heart to shreds more than Jem did, or if things worked the other way round. I just really felt so much emotion in this book, and I agree that the ending was quite neat, though I liked it that way 🙂 I loved how she wrote it, though of course I can’t just say why! By the way, I love your review and your blog 😀

    • Aww, thank you so much! 🙂 I’m sad this series had to end … when it comes to this world that Clare has created, I think I liked these stories the best. And I looooove Will. *swoons*

  2. Yes! it was wrapped up nicely, I still loved the ending and hope to see Tessa in TMI series (maybe the last book?) But yes, Clare definitely catered to everyone, which I guess it makes sense in a way and I wasn’t disappointed with the epilogue, just seemed like everyone got their happy ending. I was secretly happy with a certain “death” though, at the time. lol, I felt bad and giggled but heck, I have been rooting for the other guy all along!

    I’m definitely keeping Cassandra Clare on my radar and can’t wait to possibly read more from her, I heard she plans another shadowhunter series? I don’t even care that it’s the same universe! I wish some other authors would write more in their created worlds *cough* JK Rowling *cough*

    I’m glad you still enjoyed it, despite things being too neat and tidy!

    • She is planning another shadowhunter series! I think some of the same characters are in it? I’m not sure if I’ll read it because I’d like to see how she writes in OTHER worlds, but I totally get where people are coming from when they want to read more in that world. I would love to read more of J. K. Rowling’s wizarding world!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

