Review: Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky, #2) by Veronica Rossi

book reviewing-01

through the ever nightTitle: Through the Ever Night
Author: Veronica Rossi
Series: Under the Never Sky, #2
Date(s) read: March 25, 2013
Genre: YA Post Apocalyptic
Source: Purchased (Hardcover)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

It’s been months since Aria last saw Perry. Months since Perry was named Blood Lord of the Tides, and Aria was charged with an impossible mission. Now, finally, they are about to be reunited. But their reunion is far from perfect. The Tides don’t take kindly to Aria, a former Dweller. And with the worsening Aether storms threatening the tribe’s precarious existence, Aria begins to fear that leaving Perry behind might be the only way to save them both.

Threatened by false friends, hidden enemies, and powerful temptations, Aria and Perry wonder, Can their love survive through the ever night?

In this second book in her spellbinding Under the Never Sky trilogy, Veronica Rossi combines fantasy and dystopian elements to create a captivating love story as perilous as it is unforgettable.

my thoughts-01

I know someone who has this thing when they read series books. Rather than read them as they’re released, this person will wait until all of the books in the series have been released and then they will read ALL of the books in a row.

Boy, do I wish all of the books in this series were released so I could do that. And then I would reread them JUST so I could swoon and smile some more.

In all seriousness, Veronica Rossi knows how to write an amazing story and I have no idea WHY I waited so long until I read this series. The entire story so far is absolutely enthralling and the characters are memorable and, well, human. And the love story — the love story! — well, that just makes me sit back and smile because I can’t find the right words to describe it.

This book pretty much takes off right where Under the Never Sky ended. Almost instantly, I fell back in love with Perry and Aria, the main characters, and was quite happy to see that the writing format of the book, the narrative, would be split between the two. That was one thing I loved in the first book. One narrator is great, but when you have characters like Aria and Perry, you NEED to get into both of their heads. Also, they come from such different worlds that I can’t imagine NOT getting to see the story from each of their point of view.

The characters, like I said, were pretty spectacular in this story. In the first book, we saw MAJOR growth in Aria’s character and I really think that she continues to grow in this story. I love that she’s strong and capable — such a huge turnaround from when we first met her in the very beginning of the story. We also get to meet new characters who make us swoon or feel skeptical — and there is definitely GREAT sadness in the book. I won’t even TRY to allude to any specifics because this really is a book that you must experience on your own. Just be prepared to have ALL THE FEELS while reading it!

As I finished reading this story I thought about how this will definitely be one of my favourite series EVER. I desperately needed the third book in the series the instant I finished this one. There are so many things I need to know, so many things that I have questions about, that I will be on complete pins and needles waiting for the last installment. And while I don’t normally love long series, this is one of those series that I wish could go on and on.

rating-5plus-01

Author Links
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

signature-01

8 thoughts on “Review: Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky, #2) by Veronica Rossi

  1. YES! YES! YES! I can’t believe Into the Still Blue isn’t out until 2014. UGH.
    This series was waaaaaay better than I thought it would be, and the characters are the BEST part of the books. I love them all. I think Roar is one of the best characters I’ve ever come across. Did you read the Roar & Liv novella?

  2. YAYYYYY! I totally agree — Aria’s character grew SO MUCH and it really helped the story line and character relationships blossom. I can’t wait for Into the Still Blue now too. Sigh…. BUT there are novellas & extras so I gobbled those up (which I highly recommend if you haven’t read them yet)!
    So glad you loved this one! Veronica Rossi is an amazing writer!

  3. I wasn’t the biggest fan of the first book in this series but I am intrigued to see what happens next and am really happy to hear Aria grows as a character. May have to check it out after all.

  4. I’m so glad you loved this book! This is definitely one of my favourite series too. The writing, the characters, the world, the romance (!), it’s all so amazing. I had an ARC of this one and even though I wanted to devour it, I also kind of wanted to waiting, knowing I’d have a WHOLE YEAR before the next one. *sigh* I can’t wait to find out what happens! Great review, Kristilyn. 🙂

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

