Review: Matched (Matched, #1) by Ally Condie

book reviewing-01

matchedTitle: Matched
Author: Ally Condie
Series: Matched, #1
Date(s) read: April 10 – 11, 2013
Genre: YA Dystopian
Source: Purchased (Paperback)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate… until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her it’s a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she’s destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can’t stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society’s infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

my thoughts-01

Matched is a book that had been sitting on my shelf for a LONG time before I finally got around to reading it. Truth be told, I bought it almost a year before I met Ally Condie at a book signing (and embarrassingly admitted that I hadn’t read the book when she signed it …) and it was a good 8 months after that until I finally read the book — boy, was I missing out!

I had read a lot of mixed reviews about this story that I was scared to start reading it, but was pleasantly surprised to be hooked right from the first pages. I love a good dystopian and this was a great one. There wasn’t really any fighting, or high-action scenes, but it was still an interesting story. In a way, it reminded me of Delirium, by Lauren Oliver. Love isn’t the disease in this story, but people are matched together at a matching ceremony when they’re 17 years old. I was happy for main character, Cassia, when she was matched with her best friend Xander, but the real conflict of the story starts when Xander’s face disappears from Cassia’s match info screen to reveal Ky’s face.

The society that Cassia lived in was a CRAZY society. Everything is decided for the people of the society by a higher order — from what kind of food the people eat (and the rations), to who they marry, to what their activities are, EVERYTHING. The people of this society really had no freedom, whatsoever. When it comes to matters of the heart, it’s hard to digest not being able to pick the person you’ll spend the rest of your life with. I hated that the people who lived in the society were almost like an experiment — this higher power could do whatever they liked and the people would just do it. There were no other alternatives.

I really loved the characters in this book and found myself not being torn at all when it came to Cassia and her love choices — of course, I won’t say WHO I picked, but I felt like the right decision was made in the end. Seeing as the story is ultimately about a love triangle (something I usually don’t like), I was happy that it didn’t totally feel like a love triangle. I loved the cliffhanger (when normally I don’t) and can’t wait to see what happens in Crossed. I feel like there might be a whole lot of action in the next instalment!

I’m very happy that I had started to read this and that it really exceeded my expectations. I wouldn’t say that it’s one of my favourite books, but it was a really nice dystopian and not as intense as others. But where it lacks intensity, it offers an alternate view of what society could be like — and a scary one at that.

rating-5-01

Author Links
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

signature-01

15 thoughts on “Review: Matched (Matched, #1) by Ally Condie

  1. I’m so glad you liked it!! I’ve been hearing mixed things about this one as well and it’s made me a bit scared to actually pick it up… It’s also good to hear the love triangle didn’t feel like a love triangle 🙂

  2. I’ve read this a long time before and have already finished the whole series. I’m happy to hear you liked it; I liked it myself. I suggest you read the next books too. 😀 Are you a Xander or Ky fan?

    • I will definitely read the next books in the series! I have the second one, but have to wait for the third since it’s only in hardcover. And I’m DEFINITELY a Ky fan. 🙂

  3. I have yet to read #3, but I’m not in that much of a hurry. I liked the story, and the premise was interesting, but I thought it dragged in several places. It was just OKAY to me. I’ll get around to the last book soon.

    • That’s too bad it was only okay for you! I hope I like the second one just as much … maybe having some space in between readings will help. I still have to get the third book, but my first two are in paperback, so I have to wait!

  4. I’m glad this exceeded your expectations!! I actually really liked Matched, but was really disappointed with Crossed and Reached. Hopefully you’ll like the rest of the series too! 🙂

  5. I don’t usually like love triangles either. This one is still sitting on my shelf unread. I’m trying to make more room this year for my lovely unread books, not just new releases. I’ve been doing really well so far so I will have to push this one in.

    • That’s great that you’re reading more of your unread books! I realized that I’ve read a LOT of new releases this year, but I’m also reading books on my shelf. It just grows so fast! I hope you can get to this one. 🙂

  6. Glad you liked this one Kristilyn. It’s been sitting on my shelf (or currently in a box) for ages and I just bought Crossed, so I should probably read them both pretty soon!

  7. I really liked this one too! I loved Ky and was glad with where the ending went. I read this forever ago and still haven’t read the second book, I really need to do that!

    I’m glad you enjoyed it, I was nervous going in too because of the mixed reviews, but I didn’t need to worry!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

