15 Day Book Blogger Challenge | Day Four (Hosted by Good Books & Good Wine)

15-Day-Challenge_thumb[3]

The very awesome April over at Good Books and Good Wine is hosting this 15 DAY CHALLENGE for book bloggers! I’ll admit that my love of blogging has wained in the last few months since learning I was pregnant, but I’m ready to get that love back (which started with reading an ENTIRE BOOK today!) … I hope this helps!

Today’s question: What’s the last book you flung across the room? 

new moonThis was a tough one! It’s quite rare that I get so frustrated with a book that I’ll want to throw it across the room, but when I thought about it, I realized that it happens more with classics than anything else.

OK, I lied. You know in the second book in the Twilight series, how Edward is giving Bella space and he’s just not around so much? OH MY GOSH that drove me nuts. I think that was the first book where I flipped to the end to see what happened. That NEVER happens. Surprisingly, I reread Twilight earlier this year and hated it, so I’m not sure if I’d have the same feelings towards this book like I did when I first read it, but that was probably the first book that completely frustrated me.

Since then, I can think of two books: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte and One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez.

solitudeFor the first book, Jane Eyre, I thought it was PAINFULLY slow. Really, the entire book is about Jane’s life. Every single aspect of her life from when she’s little up until she’s old. And it’s told in GREAT detail. Honestly, I’ve only ever read adaptations of the story, so I wasn’t expected to feel so bored while reading this one. Maybe I just wasn’t in the right mindframe to read it? Who knows.

The second book, One Hundred Years of Solitude, frustrated me to NO END. It was one of those books that I’m betting I just didn’t “get.” That, and all the characters seemed to have the same name, which made it hard to differentiate (you REALLY had to be paying attention), and the word “solitude” was used so much. I read this one for a book club and since then have had very little patience for book club books. In fact, I don’t even know what I did with this book once I finished it. I may have thrown it out. And I NEVER throw away books.

What was the last book YOU threw across the room?  

signature-01

8 thoughts on “15 Day Book Blogger Challenge | Day Four (Hosted by Good Books & Good Wine)

  1. :O I could never throw a book across the room! lol. I’m not much on throwing, but I will put a book away and huff off.

    And yes, New Moon was not as good when Edward was gone. Talk about giving up on life because of a guy. Bella’s so ridiculous.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

