Rereading: Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror, #1) by Karina Halle

book reviewing-01

darkhouseTitle: Darkhouse
Series:
Experiment in Terror, #1
Date(s) read
: July 9-10, 2013
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Source: Free from Kobo

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Series
Darkhouse (#1) (original review)
Red Fox (#2)
The Benson (#2.5)
Dead Sky Morning (#3)
Lying Season (#4)
On Demon Wings (#5)
Old Blood (#5.5)
The Dex Files (#5.7)
Into the Hollow (#6)
And With Madness Comes the Light (#6.5)
Come Alive (#7)

With all the vampire, werewolf and faerie books out there, it’s easy to become numb to all things supernatural. The antidote? Darkhouse introduces two real and unforgettable characters, Perry Palomino & Dex Foray, amateur ghost hunters who are “attractive, relatable and oddly heroic,” “flawed but loveable,” “slightly crazy” and just the most endearing pair to ever tackle the paranormal…just don’t call them normal.

Darkhouse is a thrilling and sexy new take on concepts like Supernatural and The X-Files, bringing a breath of fresh air to a genre that has been inundated with the dead.

***Darkhouse and the Experiment in Terror series is a horror/romance for mature audiences only. Readers who are easily offended by harsh language should think twice about reading it.***

my thoughts-01

Canadian-Reading-Challenge-2013-Button_zps967998faGaaaah! *flails all over the blog*

You all know that I LOVE Karina Halle. She’s one of those authors who are right up there with Neil Gaiman, Stephanie Perkins, etc. who I want to keep in my pocket. This ALL happened because of this series. I love the Experiment in Terror series so much that I was so torn on what to read — the newest book in the series, Come Alive, or a reread of the first book, Darkhouse. Not only would either read get me a Canadian author read for the Canadian Reading Challenge, but reading Darkhouse meant I could cross off a Book Bingo square for rereading. Win!

It was so much fun going back into this series and meeting Perry and Dex for the first time. They have gone through a LOT since the first book, so I was practically bouncing off the walls, analyzing every word, every touch — it was insane! I love both of these characters and they’ve grown on me throughout the series. It was also nice to rediscover some of the other characters in the story. I will admit that I fell in love with Uncle Al all over again — I mean, how sweet is he? And I was kind of annoyed with Perry’s mom for constantly being on her case.

It was also kind of neat to see some foreshadowing of things to come …

I was so, so happy to read this one again and wil admit that I loved it even more by the end. it really was a good idea to visit this series again! Upon finishing this one, I knew that not only do I have to read the latest book in the series, but I also have to revisit the ENTIRE series, diving right into Red Fox as soon as I can!

rating-5plus-01

Author Links

WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

signature-01

10 thoughts on “Rereading: Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror, #1) by Karina Halle

  1. Gah you have now read this twice and I have yet to read it once! I am happy to see that it was still awesome the second time around. I did my first re-read lately of a book that I loved in high school and I found that I hated it now. *sigh*

    • Geez, Jenni — you have to read this one!!

      Rereads can be tough … like when I reread Twilight. It really sucked this time around! I’m glad that most of my rereads are usually positive experiences. Hope your next one can be!

  2. Wow, this sounds so good! I don’t know why I haven’t read it yet. I remember reading a review for it a while ago and deciding I needed the book right away, so I bought it, but I still haven’t read it. Thank you for your review! Now I’m going to read this one ASAP.

  3. Pingback: Challenge: The Canadian Reading Challenge, July 1-31 | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

