15 Day Book Blogger Challenge | Day Six (Hosted by Good Books & Good Wine)

15-Day-Challenge_thumb[3]

The very awesome April over at Good Books and Good Wine is hosting this 15 DAY CHALLENGE for book bloggers! I’ll admit that my love of blogging has wained in the last few months since learning I was pregnant, but I’m ready to get that love back (which started with reading an ENTIRE BOOK today!) … I hope this helps!

Today’s question: Describe how you shop for books.Β 

When I saw today’s prompt, I had to laugh. I am the WORST when it comes to buying books. Not because I don’t buy books, but because I buy way too many. Just the other day I was going through my bookshelves and thought how crazy it was that the ratio of unread to read is SO freaking huge.

And yet, I still buy.

My typical bookstore run is usually me going there with enough time to look at ALL the sales tables. The store I love to go to has a TON of sales books, so you really need to take your time. I’ll pick out all the ones I want and then I’ll go through them debating if I really want them. I mean, I could come home with 20 books, but I’m sure my husband would have something to say about that.

Of course, when I’m not in the bookstore, I’m looking at books at the grocery store, or any other store that sells books — places like Shoppers Drug Mart, Superstore, London Drugs, Safeway, WalMart, etc. In fact, there are days where I’ll just store-hop and look at all the pretties on the shelves — usually coming out with at LEAST one book from each place. Oh, and lets not forget the used bookstore — lots of gems can be found there!

Annnnnd … there’s online. Typically I’ll buy from the Book Depository, but sometimes from Amazon. The books I buy online are usually pre-orders, or books that I can’t find in the store. Typically, these books are cheaper, which is nice. I don’t shop online so much now, but in the past I loved it!

So yeah … I have a bit of a problem when it comes to buying books.

How do you shop for books? Β 

signature-01

10 thoughts on “15 Day Book Blogger Challenge | Day Six (Hosted by Good Books & Good Wine)

  1. Debating whether or not I REALLY want the books in a booksale is just too hard! πŸ˜‰ I usually want them all, but maybe I could scale back if I really wanted to… Book sales are just where I go a little crazy.
    And I love TBD as well for their low prices and great customer service πŸ™‚
    Also: you can never buy too many books πŸ˜‰

    • Book sales are hard! That’s why I have such a hard time in used bookstores … there can be so many awesome books for such a great price! I also found out that Amazon has a sale section and found a whole bunch of awesome hardcovers for under $5. I’m trying to stay away from it for a while!

      And yes — one can NEVER have too many books. πŸ™‚

  2. The start of blogging for me it was crazy and I quickly ran out of space. Some of those impulsive buys still sit on my shelf 4 years later lol. Thank goodness for ebooks. I’m much better now, I buy when in the mood and choosing next read. I have to say I’m doing pretty good now.

    • I think I do better now, too … mainly because I try not to make stops at the bookstore when I really don’t need anything particular. But it can still be fun to browse. πŸ™‚ I have TONS on my shelf that have been there forever, so you’re not alone!

  3. I’m pretty impulsive as well, and have a huge problem with sales. For new books that are hyped, I tend to check Costco first because you know, they are normally at LEAST 40% off, if not more. Then I browse the sales at Chapters and am constantly checking out yard sales that have books (because who knows what gems you’ll find!).

    I’m pretty terrible though and have over 100 unread books, counting only physical books, closer to 150 now. So I’ve been avoiding the bookstore and Costco’s book display. Although I can’t help it with yard sales, but I haven’t been keeping any cash on me so I can’t buy anything. I really need to get my pile under control.

    • I have way more than 100, but don’t really count my ebooks as much as I should. BUT it is nice that my “read” bookcase is completely overflowing … one day it’ll take up two bookcases!

      I don’t visit a lot of yard sales, but I do like bookstore sales. πŸ™‚

      • I don’t even want to count my ebooks..lol That would be too much. πŸ˜›

        I’m happy that all of my “read” books are on my shelves (for the most part there are a couple unread for series though) Most of my unread books are piled on the floor like 3-4 feet high in the closet. Gotta read them before they can earn a space! Not that I have any spaces for them even once they’re read though…

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

