Oryx and Crake Read-Along Sign Ups

Oryx Crake Button-01

Inspired by my blogging pal, Laura and her recent read-along for Moby Dick, I decided it would be fun to host a read-along for Margaret Atwood’s novel ORYX AND CRAKE — a novel that I’ve been meaning to read for AGES!

Being a huge fan of Atwood’s THE HANDMAID’S TALE, I was originally inspired to read this one after one of my favourite singer-songwriters, Sarah Slean, added it to her “vitamins” list (i.e. a list of necessary things to listen to, read, etc.). Here’s what she said about it:

Brrr……Orwell and Huxley on a cold modern breeze…..our impending doom…..careful with this one kids.

This was AGES ago and the book has since sat on my shelf, unread. Seeing as Canada Day was in July, not to mention the Canadian Reading Challenge, I got to thinking about this Canadian book in particular. It was time.

oryx and crakeThe Plan

Since I’ve never hosted a read-along before, I thought I would keep it super general.

  • The read-along will start IN TWO WEEKS and will end by September 2nd. Sign-ups will close by midnight on August 12th.
  • Every Monday, I’ll post my thoughts on the chapters alloted and you can do the same! Feel free to comment on my post, as well as other participant’s posts.
  • You can tweet your progress and/or reactions on Twitter using the hashtag #OryxCrake2013 — and feel free to add the badge to your blog or sidebar!

Reading Schedule

Want to sign up?

Just create a blog post about the read-along and link it up to this post using the Linky below! The sign-ups will remain open until midnight (Mountain time) August 12th.

signature-01

15 thoughts on “Oryx and Crake Read-Along Sign Ups

  1. I’ve never read any Margaret Atwood and would join in but right now I’m just having a hard time reading even a little. I’ve been trying to keep up on the SOIFRA, and am finally on the right book and only a week behind, so will have to catch up there. I hope you get some people to read it with you!

  2. You know I’m in. I’ve read A Handmaiden’s Tale (love) and Surfacing (very odd, thought it should have been a poem).

    Do you follow her on Twitter? You should see if she’ll RT you, really get something going for the readalong 🙂

  3. A little late to the party, but I’m in! It’s about time I get on this Atwood train. At the very least, it will help make more sense of me having a hardcover of Year of the Flood on my bookshelf (which I’ve had for like a year…)

    • I didn’t even know this book was part of a trilogy until I saw all the tweets about the third book being released … hopefully reading this one will inspire me to read the rest!

      Glad you’re joining!

  4. Pingback: Read-Along: Oryx and Crake (Introduction) | Another Book Blog

  5. Pingback: Oryx and Crake Read-Along: Post Two (Part 1 – 3 Reaction) | Reading In Winter

  6. Pingback: Oryx and Crake Read-Along: Post Two (Part 1 – 3 Reaction) | Reading in Bed

  7. Pingback: Oryx and Crake Read-Along: Post Three (Part 4 – 6 Reaction) | Reading In Winter

  8. Pingback: Read-Along: Oryx and Crake — Parts 4-6 | Another Book Blog

  9. Pingback: Oryx and Crake Read-Along: Post Three (Part 4 – 6 Reaction) | Reading in Bed

  10. Pingback: Oryx and Crake Read-Along: Post Five (Part 10 – 12 Reaction) | Reading in Bed

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

