15 Day Book Blogger Challenge | Day Nine (Hosted by Good Books & Good Wine)

15-Day-Challenge_thumb[3]

The very awesome April over at Good Books and Good Wine is hosting this 15 DAY CHALLENGE for book bloggers! I’ll admit that my love of blogging has wained in the last few months since learning I was pregnant, but I’m ready to get that love back (which started with reading an ENTIRE BOOK!) … I hope this helps!

Today’s question: Why do you blog about books? 

I didn’t always love books. It wasn’t until I read Twilight in 2009 that I really good hooked back on books. Before that, I’d read the odd thing that grabbed my interest, but in 2009 I was HOOKED! I wanted to read more! I started slowly and started accumulating lots of books read, but it wasn’t until I picked up a book to read, got to the second or third chapter only to realize that I had read it before. That’s when I decided to start the blog — I hoped that writing reviews would help me remember the books I was reading.

Since then, I’ve written reviews and discussions and even songs about the books I love; participated in read-a-thons, read-alongs, and other events; hosted events on my blog as well as guest bloggers and guest authors; I’ve designed and redesigned the blog, getting obsessed with playing in Illustrator for my headers and buttons; and I’ve gotten involved in social media, making friends with other bloggers and chatting with authors.

So … why do I blog about books? Because I love it! Seriously, the road from 2009 until now has been pretty epic and I’m so happy with my blog and with books in general. I may have taken blogging breaks or reading breaks, but it’s always something I come back to. It’s just such a fun hobby to have!

Why do YOU blog about books?   

signature-01

16 thoughts on “15 Day Book Blogger Challenge | Day Nine (Hosted by Good Books & Good Wine)

    • That’s true! I love being able to share my thoughts here … while I’ve thought about quitting blogging at certain moments, I know that it’ll take a lot to get me to quit. So long as I’m reading, I’m sure I’ll be blogging!

  1. I think it’s so funny to see how many people got back into reading because of Twilight. We may all look back and cringe on the series now, but at one time we all LOVED it! And I’m actually thankful to that series for giving me back my love of reading!

  2. I love blogging because of the community too! It’s like where else are you going to find so many other people who share your deep passion for books? Even other readers who don’t blog just aren’t QUITE as passionate – in my experience.. I mean to REALLY blog about anything you have to be so invested in it! Almost to the point of obsession i think LOL 😀

    I’m always so happy for all the people I’ve met and the fun we have with different events! 😀

    • I don’t have a lot of people in real life to talk books with either. I do work at a library, so I can fangirl there over the books I read, but it’s nice when I’m at home and I finish a book to be able to talk about it with people. 🙂

  3. Yay! Twilight turned a lot of people into readers it seems. I always loved reading since I was a baby but Twilight did open me up to more genres. Like I never read paranormal reads before etc. But blogging is such an awesome experience too it’s about so much more than just books, it’s about finding people who love it as much as you do and that’s awesome! 🙂 Glad you’re part of the community, muffin! ❤

  4. It is definitely a good way to remember the books you’ve read and exactly why they worked/didn’t work for you! 🙂
    Twilight seems to have gotten a lot of people (back) into reading! I enjoyed them (well except for the last one, that book and I have issues), but have since discovered a lot better YA books out there, but still for a gateway book it’s done a lot of good 🙂

    • I’ve discovered PLENTY of better YA books out there, which is nice. But it’s great that a series got me back into reading — I can’t imagine what I’d be doing now without it!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

