15 Day Book Blogger Challenge | Day Ten (Hosted by Good Books & Good Wine)

15-Day-Challenge_thumb[3]

The very awesome April over at Good Books and Good Wine is hosting this 15 DAY CHALLENGE for book bloggers! I’ll admit that my love of blogging has wained in the last few months since learning I was pregnant, but I’m ready to get that love back (which started with reading an ENTIRE BOOK!) … I hope this helps!

Today’s question: How do you choose what book to read next? 

The short answer? WITH GREAT DIFFICULTY.

Really.

I have about 300+ unread books at home, including review books. If I’m obligated to participate in a tour, then it’s easy to pick a read, but other than that I’m a HUGE mood reader. Sometimes I’ll just think about a character in a series and want to get back to that, or I’ll think of a genre that I’m in the mood for, or else I’ll just pick up something random from the shelf to read.

If it’s really THAT hard to pick a book from my collection, I have been known to buy an ebook to read. I know, it’s a problem.

How do YOU choose your next read?   

signature-01

15 thoughts on “15 Day Book Blogger Challenge | Day Ten (Hosted by Good Books & Good Wine)

  1. lol, I’m a huge mood reader too. Sometimes, even having the almost 150 books that are sitting there unread, I just don’t feel like reading any of those. Then I tell my husband I have nothing to read and he rolls his eyes. Normally I’m in the mood for a certain genre though, so that will make it easier because I can just pick out some books from that genre and hope something catches my eye.

    I have a pile of “read soon” books that I like to keep stocked with different genres so I only have to pick from it, but sometimes I still don’t want to read one of those.

    • I usually have a read soon pile, too … I like to see what’s happening in my week and pick books accordingly. If I have a busy week, I’ll pick fun stuff, if it’s a calm week, I might pick heavier material. Or I just wander to the shelf and pull something off. And sometimes I’m like you and think I have nothing to read!

  2. I am much the same. First of all, I read mostly review books and I cycle through those as fast as I can. But when I DO decide to read a me book, it takes me a long time to pick one. If I still can’t decide, then I go to random.org and let them pick for me. LOL. I suck.

  3. Fortunately, I only have about 38 unread books at the moment. (I say ‘only’ like that’s a small number or something…pfft.) I can’t make a decision to save my life, so I just end up using a number generator to pick the book for me, hahaha.

    • To me, 38 is a small number … mainly because I’m sure I have well over 300 unread books in my possession. 🙂 A few people use the number generator system! I’ll have to try that one day!

  4. I struggle with this, too! Sometimes I get paralyzed by the number of books I own that are waiting to be read – and I just grab a bunch, flip through them and sit there weighing the pros and cons of reading each one. It’s easier if I’m in the mood for a certain kind of book, but it’s not always clear to me what I want to read next. I’ve definitely done the “read a few chapters” of several books to try and help me pick.

    • Nothing wrong with that! Personally, I like to just pick up a book and start reading … I find that if I spend too much time trying to pick out the “right” book, I’ll never read anything! Being in the mood for something particular definitely helps, too. 🙂

  5. I am TERRIBLE at this. I even blogged about it recently http://mynoveladdiction.wordpress.com/2013/07/03/too-much-choice/
    It’s so hard. I’ve got around 200 TBR. I do have a bit of a ‘short list’ on the bedend table rather than the book case, but I often stare at that for a good 15 minutes before I choose one… then start a second one the following day. To the point that sometimes I’m reading 3-4-5 books at a time. I think I’m currently reading 5 books!

    • Wow! I try to only read 1-2 at the same time … but it’s definitely hard! For the most part, I think I usually just pick something off the shelf and start reading. If I hum and haw too much I’d never make a decision!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

