Review: Virtuosity by Jessica Martinez

book reviewing-01

virtuosityTitle: Virtuosity
Author:
Jessica Martinez
Date(s) read:
July 8, 2013
Genre:
YA contemporary
Source:
Purchased (paperback)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Now is not the time for Carmen to fall in love. And Jeremy is hands-down the wrong guy for her to fall for. He is infuriating, arrogant, and the only person who can stand in the way of Carmen getting the one thing she wants most: to win the prestigious Guarneri competition. Carmen’s whole life is violin, and until she met Jeremy, her whole focus was winning. But what if Jeremy isn’t just hot…what if Jeremy is better?

Carmen knows that kissing Jeremy can’t end well, but she just can’t stay away. Nobody else understands her–and riles her up–like he does. Still, she can’t trust him with her biggest secret: She is so desperate to win she takes anti-anxiety drugs to perform, and what started as an easy fix has become a hungry addiction. Carmen is sick of not feeling anything on stage and even more sick of always doing what she’s told, doing what’s expected.

Sometimes, being on top just means you have a long way to fall…

my thoughts-01

Canadian-Reading-Challenge-2013-Button_zps967998faI love music books. Anything to do with professional musicians, amateur musicians, bands … you name it, I’ll love it. So, when I saw that this book mixed music with romance, I was hooked! I mean, those are two of my favourite things!

I was definitely pleasantly surprised by Virtuosity. I loved all of the music talk, especially the descriptions of the music itself. It was great to actually know (being a musician myself) some of the pieces that were mentioned in the piece, being able to hear it as I read. I didn’t know much about being a professional musician, but I’ve heard stories. Just like getting into dance, it’s something that is HARD and something that you need to work at all the time.

I did really like this book, but a few things stood out for me. One is that I felt like there wasn’t a lot of practicing going on. Carmen seems very concerned with going against her mother/manager that I felt like I wouldn’t feel sorry for her if she didn’t win the competition. Of cousre, this is probably because the book had that romance slant AND was under 300 pages long. Naturally, it’s not going to be pages and pages of practice — if you want that, go learn an instrument!

Anyway, I did like Carmen’s character and understood the stress she went through before performances. DEFINITELY something I could relate to. I also really liked Jeremy’s character, mainly because I love boys in music. Things do get a little weird partway through between Jeremy and Carmen — I won’t say what happened, but it was something I didn’t totally agree with. I felt like the story should’ve been different. And Carmen’s mom? Pure evil. I could get where she was coming from, but she drove me nuts throughout the story.

The book flowed quite nicely and I found myself hooked for an entire day! Maybe it was the music, but something in the book spoke to me. Definitely great if you’re looking for a lighter read, or if you’re a music lover!

rating-4-01

Author Links
WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

10 thoughts on “Review: Virtuosity by Jessica Martinez

  1. Nice, I’ve only read positive reviews for this one! Though I didn’t know the author was Canadian, which is a definite plus. Does seem a bit strange that there wouldn’t be a lot of practicing going on in a book about a professional musician though… Nicely reviewed!

  2. I really enjoyed this book as well – didn’t LOVE it but it definitely hooked me. I think I read it in an entire day as well. Glad to see others enjoying it.

  3. I desperately hope Kailyn will want to play the violin..lol I’m going to try not to push her too hard, but in a year or so, she’s getting one and lessons! lol

    This book sounds pretty interesting. I’m not a huge music person (I couldn’t play an instrument if I wanted to..lol) but it’s something I enjoy reading. I’m glad you enjoyed this one and yay for a Canadian author!

      • Yeah, I only want her to learn violin because my grandmother played it and left me her violin, but I was never able to take lessons growing up soo.. I want to be able to give it to her. I think if she starts young it might be easier..lol maybe.

  4. I was so excited when I saw you were reading this because I hardly know anyone else who’s read it! I read it a year or two ago, and while I didn’t *love* it, I did enjoy the musical aspects. Like you, I love anything to do with music, and I get excited reading about it. Pluuuus, YAY for Canadian authors! I keep meaning to check out her newest book. *wonders if I have time for the Canadian Reading Challenge* Anyway, great review, Kristilyn! πŸ™‚

    • I love any books with music, too … whether it’s a band, solo musician, classical musician, or just something with a playlist. I love them all! And yay for Canadian authors! I just saw today that she has a new one coming out … I can’t wait to read it!

  5. Pingback: Challenge: The Canadian Reading Challenge, July 1-31 | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

