15 Day Book Blogger Challenge | Day Twelve (Hosted by Good Books & Good Wine)

15-Day-Challenge_thumb[3]

The very awesome April over at Good Books and Good Wine is hosting this 15 DAY CHALLENGE for book bloggers! I’ll admit that my love of blogging has wained in the last few months since learning I was pregnant, but I’m ready to get that love back (which started with reading an ENTIRE BOOK!) … I hope this helps!

Today’s question: How do you fight blogger fatigue?

Blogger fatigue is something that I am familiar with. It usually comes up after binging on reading, or spending days upon days doing blog updates. After a while, I need a break.

Here are a few of the ways that I try to fight blogger fatigue:

1. Take breaks. If I feel a reading slump coming on, or even a slump coming on where I don’t want to do blog things, I take a break and do something else — watch a TV show, clean the house, play with the dogs, pick up a crossword puzzle or some crocheting. Do something that isn’t related to blogging or reading.

2. Schedule time to blog. Lately, I’ve been trying to spend a certain amount of time in the morning and/or afternoon blogging. That way, I can spend an hour doing the updates I need to do and NOT get overwhelmed. Whatever items I don’t get to one day will certainly be there the next.

3. Ask for help. If I’m feeling overwhelmed with writing posts, it’s always great to put out a call for guest posts. There are lots of wonderful bloggers out there who would love to do a guest post to help out a blogger. Not only does it help out your blog, but linking back to the guest blogger helps out their blog, too!

Those are only a few ways that I combat blogger fatigue, but I’m sure there are many more ways out there!

How do YOU fight blogger fatigue?   

signature-01

8 thoughts on “15 Day Book Blogger Challenge | Day Twelve (Hosted by Good Books & Good Wine)

  1. Normally I do the first two things here (I’ve never had a guest poster though). But, I’m somewhat stuck in a slump right now 😦 It’s not the funnest thing ever..lol It’s been over two months now! I need to get back to reading.

  2. I think what you said about scheduling time for it is true. Sometimes I feel like I have to go about it all day to be where I want to be (or where my reading schedule says I should be) and I always feel better when I step away for an evening and have ME time.

  3. I’m a big fan of taking breaks. If I ever feel like it’s getting too much to handle or I’m just interested in doing a post or reading a book, I feel no shame in saying I’ll take a break. I actually took a break at the start of the month to focus on moving into my condo, spending time with my boyfriend and working at the Stampede. It was a well deserved break and I came back to my blog with a fresh outlook on life. I love breaks! They help put things into perspective because at the end of the day, I’m not getting paid to write my blog, so I shouldn’t like I am. It’s a hobby. And a fun one at that. Why stress over fun?

    • It’s a great hobby to have, which is why it’s good to take breaks. I try to do as much as I can when I have the time, but don’t feel bad if I’m spending time with the husband or even with my TV shows or something. I think it’s healthy to step away sometimes. 🙂

      I didn’t know you were in Calgary! I’ll have to add you to our Edmonton Book Blogger directory! We have a few other people in Calgary!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

