ARC Review [& Giveaway!]: Nomad by J. L. Bryan

book reviewing-01

nomadTitle: Nomad
Author:
J. L. Bryan
Date(s) read
: July 15, 2013
Genre: Time Travel Dystopian
Source: Author (for review)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

They took everything: her family, her home, her childhood.

By the age of nineteen, Raven has spent most of her life in the sprawling slums of America, fighting as a rebel against the dictatorship. When the rebellion steals an experimental time-travel device, she travels back five decades to the year 2013. Her plan: assassinate the future dictator when he is still young and vulnerable, long before he comes to power. She must move fast to reshape history, because agents from her own time are on her trail, ready to execute her on sight.

my thoughts-01

Thank you to J. L. Bryan for sending me an eCopy of this book for review!

When J. L. Bryan contacted me about his upcoming novel, Nomad, I wasn’t actually accepting review requests — BUT the big selling point for me was (obviously) the fact that the novel was written by J. L. Bryan, who wrote the Jenny Pox series (I’ve only read the first book so far, but I loved it!) AND his description of the book, with it being a time-travel dystopian. Count me in!

After reading Jenny Pox, which is more horror-based, I really wasn’t sure what to expect. What I got was a fast-paced story featuring a kick-ass heroine and tons of action. It was such a page-turner for me that I ended up reading the whole thing in one sitting!

One thing I love about Bryan’s books is that his heroines aren’t the typical weak heroines looking to be rescued by a man. Raven, the lead in this story, is no exception. She might have been a little confused at the beginning of the story (which, in turn, made me a little confused, as well, hungry to know more of the story) but she kicked butt immediately. She was strong and tough and never backed down for anyone. Of course, she was still human and showed human emotions, but her strength was definitely a stand-out point for me.

I also love that there are hints of romance in Bryan’s books. This romance was a little different and I’ll admit that I wanted more from it — actually, I went into the story with assumptions which were completely foiled! I can only wonder if Bryan will continue the series and if the romance I thought would happen would take place. Who knows! I also really liked how the story is told not only in the present, but in flashbacks as Raven’s memory comes back. The world building is really great and I found myself interested in Raven’s dystopian society and was very intrigued by the differences she found going back in time.

The story itself got a little complicated at times, which was really more in the case of the dystopian society that Raven came from. While there are plenty of details in the story that left me thinking, it wasn’t one of those time travel stories that left me scratching my head (well, not completely. I doubt that I can read any time travel story without at least some head scratching). Instead, at the end, I found myself wanting more of the story and more of these awesome characters I had spent the afternoon with.

Seriously, if you haven’t read anything by J. L. Bryan, you really are missing out — get on your computer and download some of his work as soon as you can! I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Giveaway: 

J. L. Bryan has kindly offered up an ebook copy of Nomad for one lucky reader! Open until August 9th, 2013. Giveaway rules apply.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the Author: 

j l bryanJ.L. Bryan studied English literature at the University of Georgia and at Oxford, with a focus on English Renaissance and Romantic literature. He also studied screenwriting at UCLA. He lives in the metro Atlanta sprawl with his wife Christina, where he spends most of his day serving the toddler and animal community inside his house. He is the author of the Paranormals series and the Songs of Magic series.signature-01

2 thoughts on “ARC Review [& Giveaway!]: Nomad by J. L. Bryan

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

