Sunday Reads (42)

sunday reads-01

Another weekend … another update!

In my life:Β 

Remember how I said last week that my life was boring? Well, this week is no different! (Aren’t you glad you read these posts?)

The husband was away ALL WEEK — since last Friday — and I spent a LOT of time reading books. Since he left, I think I read about 14 books total. Yup. I also did a little baby shopping AND went to see The Heat with my best friend (super funny!). I also wanted to take it easy knowing that the husband wasn’t going to be home — since all the weird pregnancy things seem to be happening to me, I didn’t want anything to happen!

Speaking of baby, I did go through all the books I’ve bought AND the ones my parents have kept since my childhood (and some from before!). I’m not sure — do we have enough books for baby? πŸ˜‰

20130723_212348

In reading (& blogging):Β 

So the week before this past week, I read 7 books — 5 of them review books. After I started really getting into the habit of reading the review books, I set myself on a mission to try and get the majority of them read, starting with my physical copies. So happy that I only have 8 more physical copies left! Of course, I seem to be terrible with requesting books from NetGalley and Eidelweiss, so there are a LOT of those. Seriously. I’m too embarrassed to share that number!

This week I read:

1. The Queen of Kentucky by Alecia Whitaker (review book)

2. GoldenΒ by Jessi Kirby (review book)

3. Dark Triumph (His Fair Assassin, #2)Β by Robin LaFevers (review book)

4. Scorch (Croak, #2) by Gina Damico (review book)

5. Enchanted (Woodcutter Sisters, #1)Β by Alethea Kontis Β (review book)

6. Rock OnΒ by Denise Vega (review book)

7. The Night She Disappeared by April Henry (review book)

8. Hound Dog True by Linda Urban (review book)

9. Pregnant Pause by Han Nolan (review book)

10. Nobody’s Secret by Michaela MacColl (review book)

I KNOW, RIGHT!?!?! I only hope that I can keep up this momentum in the coming weeks and whittle down that review book number! Since I’m scheduling reviews way ahead, I did the math and once I finish them all, I’ll have reviews into the new year. As in, if I finish ALL the review books I have, I won’t have any spaces for their review on the blog this year. *dances around happily*

ANYWAY, my goal is to get through the majority of my review books by the end of August. AND to start working on the books I buy. I hope to have lots of reviews scheduled into 2014 when I’m too busy with baby. πŸ™‚

Now, onto the books! (Click on the covers to be taken to Goodreads)

Here are the review books I acquired (Yes, I’m still requesting for some reason …). Thank you to HarperCollins, Atria, and Hachette Book Group Canada!

across a star swept seabellman and blackcurtsies and conspiraciesroomies

This week, I did buy some books, one physical book and some ebooks (I love an Amazon sale!):

20130727_132546frigidthe first star to fall
my life after nowone week girlfriendquarantineprecious things

And some books that I won! Thank you to Margie over at Bumbles & Fairytales, Random House Canada,Β and Goose Lane Editions!

20130727_132651
20130727_13261020130727_132528

And lastly, some freebie books from Amazon, because I have a real problem passing up freebies. πŸ™‚

i'll be hereinvisibleblur
rock me crazyone perfect nightshattered promises

How was your week? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

17 thoughts on “Sunday Reads (42)

  1. I’m taking a guess here, but I think you have enough books for the baby lol. It’s good that you’re taking it easy when he’s away too. When is the baby supposed to be due? That’s awesome that you got so many books read, especially review ones! I like to schedule in advance too, I’m into October at the moment πŸ™‚
    You’re crazy, still getting new books lol but I understand that it’s hard to pass up freebies and galleys. I hope you enjoy them and that you can get lots more read this week!

    • Is it sad that there are still books I want to BUY for baby? If I’m going to spoil it, spoil it with books!

      Baby’s due in December … I’m in my 5th month now, so it’s flying by! Yay for scheduling! I think I’m in October, too, but only for reviews. I have lots of other posts scheduled up until April or May, I think? I’m working hard!

    • Yes! I remember loving them. πŸ™‚ I think the only “questionable” ones for me in that pile is the Teletubby book and the Barney books. They may be culled. πŸ™‚

  2. Ummm…I think you need more books for Baby Reading in Winter. You can never have too many! πŸ˜‰
    It’s great that you’re getting so much read and will be able to schedule that far in advance. It would be a shame to just drop off the face of the blogosphere once the baby’s born (although, naturally, completely understandable) but this way you can still be present – yay! I can’t wait to read your review for Golden, and I saw in your sidebar the other day that you were reading The Queen of Kentucky, so I’ll look forward to reading that review too. I hadn’t heard of Bellman & Black before but I LOVE that cover, so I’m going to have to check it out. Happy reading, Kristilyn!

    • I’m hoping I can work out some kind of reading schedule so I DON’T drop off the blogosphere! I’ve seen other bloggers still reading after babies come (I’m thinking of Kristi over at The Story Siren), so that makes me happy. πŸ™‚

      I LOVED Golden! It was such a good book! And Bellman & Black is by Diana Setterfield who wrote The Thirteenth Tale, which is an AWESOME book!

  3. Yay for books for Baby! It looks like you’re well-stocked so far, Kristilyn! πŸ˜€

    I can’t wait to see what you thought of Golden, Dark Triumph, and Scorch. I liked all of those, but Golden especially was SO good. And gah, Across a Star-Swept Sea. I’m hoping I can get it from Edelweiss soon.

  4. You can never have enough books for baby!..lol I still buy Kailyn books all the time and she easily has 3 or 4 times what’s in your picture. We love books in this house! πŸ˜›

    You got some great books this week and holy moly at reading 10 books!! That’s awesome! You’re going to be set for reviews when baby gets here!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

