Oryx and Crake Read-Along: Post One (Introduction)

Oryx Crake Button-01

It’s time to start the read-along for Oryx and Crake, the first book in Margaret Atwood’s MaddAddam trilogy! For more information on this read-along, or to sign up, check out the sign-up post HERE.

oryx and crakeMy Copy

I have the MOST boring copy of this book. A plain ol’ mass market paperback. I bought it after reading Sarah Slean’s (Canadian singer-songwriter) thoughts on the book after she finished it. This was back in the day when I wanted to be exactly like Sarah, so I wanted to read and listen to what she recommended. Unfortunately, the listen part was easy — the reading part, not so much.

As I mentioned in the sign-up post, this is a book I bought very excitedly, but still haven’t actually read. I’m pretty sure that I bought The Handmaid’s Tale (a spectacular book by Atwood) way after this one and have already read it. I’ve also read some poetry by Atwood. Naturally, I felt it was due time to “crack the spine” (but not really) and read this one!

What to Know About the Novel

Here are some of the notable quotes on my novel:

Towering and intrepid … Atwood does Orwell … one better. (The New Yorker)

Oryx and Crake is Atwood at her best—dark, dry, scabrously witty, yet moving and studded with flashes of pure poetry. (The Independent (UK))

Oryx and Crake was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, the Giller Prize, and the Governor General’s Literary Award.

The novel has been described as science fiction, but “[Atwood prefers] to label it speculative fiction and “adventure romance” because it does not deal with ‘things that have not been invented yet’ and goes beyond the realism she associates with the novel form.” [source]

Oryx and Crake, released in 2003, is the first book in the MaddAddam trilogy, which was followed by Year of the Flood in 2009, and MaddAddam in 2013.

What I’d Like to Get Out of this Read-Along

I don’t read enough Canadian literature, let alone actual grown-up fiction. Especially fiction that’s not just fiction, but fiction that makes me think. I’m hoping that I can take my time through the reading of this novel, and really try to understand what’s going on, ultimately making me want to read MORE of what Canada has to offer, and Margaret Atwood, of course.

Reading Schedule

If you’ve written your own introduction post, feel free to add it to the Linky below — and start reading! We’ll start sharing reactions next week with Part 1-3. Have fun!

signature-01

9 thoughts on “Oryx and Crake Read-Along: Post One (Introduction)

  1. Pingback: Oryx and Crake Read-Along: Post Three (Part 4 – 6 Reaction) | Reading In Winter

    • I’m not sure if I will! I’d love to read them, but this one is quite heavy in content that I’m not sure if I can read them all in succession. 🙂 We’ll see!

  2. Pingback: Oryx and Crake Read-Along: Final Post (Part 13 – 15 Reaction) | Reading In Winter

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

