Cover Love: Across the Universe by Beth Revis (Part 2)

cover love-01

A few weeks ago I talked about a book who’s cover changed so drastically that it went from cutesy YA book to a book that would appeal to a more diverse selection of readers. Anna and the French Kiss went from cutesy to simple and an alright kind of cute, which I’m still getting used to.

Across the Universe is another one of my favourite books. I felt like the cover for this book really suited the story well:

across the universe

I just love the layout of this cover, with the two faces amongst the stars. I love the colours of the universe and that it hints (very strongly) at the book being a kind of love story. It doesn’t give us too much of a glimpse as to WHAT the story is about, aside from the tagline about the spaceship being fueled by lies. Still, I think this one is very visually appealing, which is why I was so torn when the new cover for the book was released: 

across the universe 2

Now, this cover, when I first saw it, was NOT very visually appealing. I mean, what’s going on there? It’s really not until you read the book that you have any idea what the story is about. There’s no tagline to hint at the mayhem of the ship, so you’re left in mystery. Personally, I love the ice on the cover and that it’s breaking away from the ship. I don’t think it’s as appealing as the first cover, but this one is definitely growing on me. Looking at the rest of these new covers for the series, I have to say that they all say so much about the books, but it only really makes sense AFTER you read the books. It’s kind of nice that they don’t give away too much to a new reader and I guess that’s the fun of it.

Which one of these covers do you like best? 

signature-01

19 thoughts on “Cover Love: Across the Universe by Beth Revis (Part 2)

  1. I hate the new covers I won’t lie. They look plain awful and now my series won’t match :(. I think all 3 of my books have different cover when they decided to change the cover 3 times :S

    • Ha ha … well, I have the first book in the old cover, paperback, then the second in the old cover, but hardcover, and then the third book in the new cover, hardcover. None of mine match! If I hadn’t been so impatient about getting them (like for the signing), I would’ve waited and gotten them all in paperback with the new cover.

  2. How sad is it that I didn’t even realize it was ICE on the ship until you pointed it out? I guess that shows how much I enjoy the new covers. 😛 I really, really loved the original cover for Across the Universe. I wasn’t too excited about the new covers when A Million Suns came out, but I think I liked those better than the newest ones (although I do really like the green cover for Shades of Earth!).

  3. I really like the first cover too. I think I have a different one from one of these two, is there really three covers for this series!?!?

  4. I love the first one. I see how the second one could work, but I just love how the first cover can be seen two ways. The first way, it’s just a beautiful stars. The second way, you can see two faces coming together outlined by those beautiful stars.

  5. I agree with you, 100%! I have the book, but never read it. I love the cover of the first one (original cover) and in fact that’s why I bought the book. Haha, I’m such a sucker for wonderful covers.

    Dee @ Dee’s Reads

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

