Book Hoarder’s Selection (32): The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

book hoarder's selection-01

BOOK HOARDER’S SELECTION, is a feature of Reading In Winter, which will feature one book from my collection that I plan to read in the coming week. These are NOT review books, but books I’ve purchased, which have been neglected for a long time.

the sky is everywhereTITLE: The Sky is Everywhere

AUTHOR: Jandy Nelson

HOW LONG I’VE HAD IT: Since the fall of last year. I picked it up on the sale table at Indigo.

WHY I’M READING IT: Well, first of all, anyone who’s read this book has a good thing to say about it. Second of all, the synopsis says this is the perfect read for fans of Sarah Dessen — an author I love. It sounds like a beautiful and heartbreaking read. Plus, the main character is a bookworm and musician — both of which describe me! I know that I’ll be able to relate to Lennie in more ways than one!

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

SYNOPSISSeventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

Have you read this book?

signature-01

12 thoughts on “Book Hoarder’s Selection (32): The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

  1. I haven’t, nor have I read Dessen or any of thos other authors…yet anyway! I do want to ead a Dessen by end of summer just to see though!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

