Sunday Reads (45)

sunday reads-01

Another weekend … another update!

In my life: 

Tried to get more into READING this week than anything else — I keep thinking all baby stuff has to get done NOW and have to remind myself that there is still time. My books feel neglected.

I went to the dentist and they put plaster in my tooth. Feels SO MUCH BETTER. I had to go to a new dentist because mine is on holidays and I doubt I could wait until he was back. But yay for almost whole teeth! I’ll still have to get it redone in the new year, but that’s MONTHS away.

The weather was CRAZY HOT this week. I am so thankful for air conditioning or I think I would be very cranky. I’ve noticed that with being pregnant the air conditioning doesn’t bother me as much as it did. Usually I’m SO COLD when it’s on, but I’m quite comfortable now.

Oh, and I WORKED this week! It was only one shift, but it took a lot out of me. That’s what happens, I guess, when you don’t work for two months. It was great to get back to the library!

Lastly, this one had a birthday this week — four years old and still crazy!

Happy Birthday, Gracie!

Happy Birthday, Gracie!

In reading (& blogging): 

Since I spent a lot of time last week worrying about baby things, I was determined to spend this week blogging and reading. Thankfully, I was able to stay on track and got some more review books read, posts scheduled, and I managed to get to my reader! I felt very much on track this week!

We also had a book blogger meetup last Sunday. We managed to get together with Aylee of Recovering Potter Addict before she left to get her master’s degree! Sad that she’s leaving the city, but hopefully we’ll see her again one day. 🙂

This week I read:

1. Shooting Scars (The Artists Trilogy, #2) by Karina Halle (review book)

2. Asylum by Madeleine Roux

3. The Pretend Boyfriend by Artemis Hunt

4. Love On Borrowed Time (Lovers’ Leap, #1) by Olivia Cunning

5. Rogue (Croak, #3) by Gina Damico (review book)

6. Rock Hard (Sinners on Tour, #2) by Olivia Cunning

7. Huntress (Alexa O’Brien, Huntress, #0.5) by Trina M. Lee

8. Stunner (Alexa O’Brien, Huntress, #1.5) by Trina M. Lee

9. Roar and Liv (Under the Never Sky, #0.5) by Veronica Rossi

Woo! Doing better with the reading this week! I tried to alternate between review books, read-along books, and random ebooks. It was kind of nice saving shorter romantic reads for bedtime and reading review books during the day. 🙂

Now, onto the books! (Click on the covers to be taken to Goodreads)

Here are the review books I got this week. Big thanks to Harlequin, Xpresso Book Tours, Disney, and HarperCollins!

love overdue play with me these broken stars the promise of amazing

I bought some books! The first three are physical and the rest are ebooks:

burn for burn hot ticket the gathering storm the haunting season love on borrowed time  share me try me tempt me take me this time around the geek girl and the scandalous earl freefall the department of alterations

The next ones I got from some of the Edmonton book bloggers – the first three are ARCs and the last one is a finished copy. Thank you to Ambur, Mandy, and Aylee!

34 pieces of you asylum once every never the future of us

And a few more freebie books from Amazon (I have a MAJOR addiction to Amazon lately and the ‘Buy Now’ button!). 🙂

heartless the pretend boyfriend married by midnight the governess affair twice a rake untamed hunger club shadowlands her favorite temptation vampire for christmas where I end and you begin

How was your week? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

25 thoughts on “Sunday Reads (45)

  1. Holy moly! 9 books read?! That’s so many!

    As for your air conditioner comment, we had to cave and buy one earlier this summer. It was horribly hot and I couldn’t live without it. I’m normally a cold person but when I’m pregnant, it’s like you have a heater strapped to your belly..lol Seriously, right after I gave birth to Kailyn, I was immediately freezing. I was so cold they had to take her away to warm her up.

    Also, so many books! I have no idea how you’re going to read them all! 😛 Good luck and have another great week!

    And Happy Birthday to Gracie!

    • Some of those were novellas! I’m trying to work on ALL the books I have!

      Isn’t AC WONDERFUL? It hasn’t been crazy hot here, but up in the high 20s and the odd 30, but you’re so right. Usually with the AC on, I’m complaining and cold, but I pretty much walk around in a t-shirt and am STILL too warm. Thank goodness the third trimester will be in the winter!

      I don’t know how I’m going to read all of those, either … though, I like to think that I’m bulking up on Kindle and ebooks for when baby comes!

      • Yes, that would be a great idea! I get stocked up on ebooks so you can read with one hand 🙂

        We had a heat wave for like a week a month ago and it was literally 30+ everyday. The day we got the AC I pretty much just sat in front of it. lol We were on vacation that week too, so moved the TV into the bedroom where the AC is so Kailyn would happily stay in there.

        I’m sooo glad I’m due in January! I would not want to be in the third trimester right now!

      • No kidding! We went to the zoo a little while ago and there were some VERY pregnant women there in the 30 degree heat. I was uncomfortable and I wasn’t that far along!

  2. Air conditioning for the win! I don’t know how I would survive without it >< And awwwww what a cute puppy! Happy Birthday crazy dog 😉

    And WOW that is a lot of books you got this week. I hope you enjoy them all, whenever you get around to reading them ❤

  3. I hear that being pregnant in summer is the worst (a co-worker was just mentioning it to me the other day), so hoooorayyy for A/C!

    Happy birthday to your pup, look at that big tongue hanging out! How goofy 🙂

    Have another great week 🙂

    • I can’t imagine being 9 months pregnant in the summer … I would be so uncomfortable!

      Grace has the LONGEST TONGUE! It’s so funny … we say it’s the Gene Simmons tongue. 🙂

  4. First off: Happy Birthday to Gracie! What a sweetheart!

    Second, Wowza…you did read a lot! I love the idea of reading review boks during the day and personal books before bed…too bad the only time I have to read is before bed! lol

    Have a great week and enjoy that amazing haul!

    • She is a sweetheart — a CRAZY sweetheart! Ha ha …

      I’m glad I have time (right now) to read during the day … it’s easy to mix it up!

      You have a good week, too!

  5. Oh my goodness, so many shiny books! And it sounds like you read like I do! (Which is to say a lot, and it scares people.)

    I love the AC, here. I think part of my problem is that my PC runs so hot that it helps heat up the house, but I’ve had to run the AC almost every day since we got it hooked up! And being pregnant in the summer was the worst! When I was pregnant with my second it was winter for the last half so it was much better (though I got many weird looks for walking outside without a jacket and coming back to work with a blizzard…).

    Enjoy your reading!

    • I have a LOT of time to read since I only work a casual position. It’s great! Of course, once baby comes I’ll have a lot less time!

      I’m so happy that the baby will come in December … I’m sooooo looking forward to cooler temperatures!

      • I dunno, I read a couple books in the hospital after my son was born. Granted, we were there for a while, but still!

        And yes, cooler temperatures. It cannot happen soon enough.

  6. I’m so glad most of my pregnancy will be in the winter months! I’m so ready for the cooler weather! This could possibly be because we don’t have AC though 😉 Are you sure you want to come over to my house now? Haha! Hopefully this upcoming week won’t be as hot and humid. It’s the humidity that really drains me.

    Congrats on getting so much reading done this week! Especially considering you also worked AND also did blog things 🙂

    • I don’t think it’s supposed to be as warm this week … like, low twenties. That’s manageable. 🙂 I’ll just dress for no AC!

      I only worked ONE afternoon, so I’m not sure I’d consider that taking out a huge chunk from my week. AND some of those were novellas!

  7. Yaya on all that reading progress! And oooh Olivia Cunning! I only have one of her shorts, Try Me, I need to get the rest! i hope we both like Hot Ticket, it’s the only physical copy of the series I own! Jace, Jace, Jace yayaya 😀

    I keep seeing These Broken Stars everywhere and that cover is so lovely!!

    Pieces of You was on my wish list.. and then I forgot about it! I’m going to have to bump it up, I think. Or maybe see if my library has it *waggles eyebrows*

    Have a great week and hope you have as much reading progress this coming week!

    • Oh yay! I’m glad the next book is about Jace! Sed was okay, but still hard to like. He wasn’t like Brian at all! I hope I like her other little series … it looks good!

      I’ve heard These Broken Stars is AMAZING. I can’t wait to read it!

      I hope you have a good week, too!

  8. Grace is so charismatic, haha! I love pictures of her. Nine books read is excellent, excellent! Hopefully you can keep up your streak and not get too stressed with baby stuff. Preparation is good, but so is relaxation time!

    Thank you for the send off! I would imagine that we will get to meet up again at some point. Maybe not Christmas because I assume everyone will be busy with family stuff, but I’m thinking I’ll come home next summer, as well!

  9. Aw, Gracie is adorable! And you did great on reading this week. I’m not reading as much as I’d like to either, and I feel reading novellas really help. They’re so nice and short, makes you feel as if you’re at least finishing something (:

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

