Sunday Reads (46)

sunday reads-01

Another weekend … another update!

In my life: 

This week was filled with READING! Since I completely failed at the last Bout of Books, I decided to kick butt this time around.

We did manage to get out and return a stroller travel system we bought on Sunday. We went out, bought it because it was what we wanted and on sale, came home, opened it up — and it was the wrong one! So, we went back on Monday and got the card for the correct stroller, went up with our receipt and told them the issue. They said okay, and called the back to bring the right stroller up. Instead, they bring up THE SAME FREAKING ONE! Here’s how that went:

Me: “This is the same stroller you gave us the last time!”
Guy from back: “Well, we don’t have that other one in stock.”
Me: …

Does this make sense to ANYONE? If they don’t have it, it shouldn’t be sold AND they shouldn’t just load up a random stroller! At any rate, the big boss went back and found the right one, with its SKN number in BRIGHT BLACK HIGHLIGHTED LETTERS on the side. What a pain! We will definitely be checking things over more carefully in the future.

AND in a case of perfect service, I had to return my 3 year old espresso machine to Bed, Bath & Beyond since the milk steamer won’t steam anymore. I was so worried since it had been 3 years, but I still had the receipt. I expected store credit, but they refunded the whole thing — $280 worth — right back onto my debit. TOTAL WIN! I had intended to use the money to get a new, fancy rice cooker, but they didn’t have the one I wanted in stock. Meanwhile, I went to return something to the maternity store 2 months after buying, NEVER been opened, I had the receipt, and I couldn’t. Apparently, it was a big to-do to try and get me a refund, so I said forget it.

Some things just don’t make sense!

In reading (& blogging): 

This week I read (be prepared: this list is long!):

1. The Geek Girl and the Scandalous Earl (Geek Girls, #1) by Gina Lamm

2. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

3. Share Me (One Night With Sole Regret, #0.5) by Olivia Cunning

4. Play With Me (Grover Beach Team, #1) by Piper Shelly (review book)

5. Club Shadowlands (Masters of the Shadowlands, #1) by Cherise Sinclair

6. Hourglass (Hourglass, #1) by Myra McEntire

7. The First Star to Fall (For Darkness Shows the Stars, #1.5) by Diana Peterfreund

8. The Truth Between You and Me by Amanda Grace (review book)

9. Twice Upon a Time (Lovers’ Leap, #2) by Olivia Cunning

10. The Restaurant at the End of the Universe (THHGTTG, #2) by Douglas Adams

11. Take a Bow by Elizabeth Eulberg

12. Ruin (Summer in Winter, #1) by C. J. Scott (review book)

13. Blog Events: The Secret to Engaging Your Community, Growing Your Network, and Establishing Your Expertise by Amanda Shofner

14. Cake by Lauren Dane (review book)

15. A Night to Surrender (Spindle Cove, #1) by Tessa Dare

16. Dark Whiskey by Emma Meade

17. A Little Harmless Surprise (Harmless, #1) by Melissa Schroeder

That’s right. It was a read-a-thon week. I think I killed it.

Now, onto the books! (Click on the covers to be taken to Goodreads)

Here are the review books I got this week. Big thanks to Bloomsbury, Harlequin, and Patchwork Press!

wild cards cake ruin

This one was gifted to me from Teresa (@NeedNewSpace). Thank you, Teresa!

The Madman's Daughter

A few more new books for me … may have been tempted by Kelly at Reading the Paranormal for some. 🙂

a night to surrender a week to be wicked changeless hot for fireman kiss of steel

And look! More freebies! 🙂 All from Amazon. (Links will take you to Amazon — be sure to check if they’re still free before downloading!)

just breathe open house blog events mad about you untouched ruined by a rake intentions of the earl the misbehaving marquess dark wolf rising

How was your week? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

22 thoughts on “Sunday Reads (46)

  1. Dang that was a lot of books you read this week! Way to go! I’m happy if I read that many books in a season. haha. And wow, that is some interesting customer service you received there. I definitely don’t think they should just stroll you out a different stroller without even saying anything! Shady! Good thing you were paying attention.

    • Definitely shady. I’m glad the manager was there AND kind of happy that they brought the wrong one up a second time!

      Yes, I was a bit of a machine this week … hopefully I can keep up some of that momentum!

  2. Whoa, you did amazing! Yeah, stores are weird sometimes, especially with exchanging. Sometimes they need it all back in the box, and sometimes they’ll give you a new one even though it was years ago you bought it.

    • I know … I wish all stores were the same! I was so happy about the espresso machine, especially since I could do without a new one (since we have a Keurig) and would’ve preferred something else.

  3. That’s stupid that some places kept giving you problems, I swear workers get lazy if they have to do anything actually customer service related.
    That’s a lot of books! Glad a lot were freebies though. And that’s awesome that you got that many read this week too!

    • I know! I just couldn’t get over the fact that they didn’t have the one we wanted, so they just give us something else. Who does that?

      I love getting freebie books! Sometimes I go on binges to find good ones. 🙂

  4. Dayyyyummm that was a lot of books! Way to go!

    Stores are strange, and it makes me wish retailers would get together and agree on a set return policy for all the stores to follow. That being said, the manager probably totally would’ve done your return, because they don’t want to risk you complaining to the DM about an item that hasn’t even been opened. The DM will just be irritated at the store manager for the irritation. I get why some clothing stores are so strict though – some of those customers are hustlers! I saw it a lot at Lane Bryant – women trying to return things that had clearly been worn, or was 3 months past the return policy date limit, or trying to return things without a receipt and then being mad we wouldn’t give them cash back, etc… Oy. I’m thinking I might go back there for some extra PT work, but man I really don’t want to.

    Anyways, have a good last day of Bout of Books and a great week!

    • I’m not sure I could work in customer service again. I did for quite some time and didn’t really like it … especially when you get frustrated customers like me! I definitely prefer stores that make things easier. We really like Costco because it’s so easy to return things — especially when we’ve had problems with their Dyson vacuum and had to return it THREE TIMES.

  5. Wow…what frustration with the stroller…but Yay for Bed, Bath & Beyond…I can’t believe they even accept 3 yr old items at all!!!

    And what an amazing week in reading! I read one lonely book all week 😦 I just can’t fathom how people read so much…even if I did nothing at night after work except read and let all the householdl chores and family obligations sit , I’d maybe get three books in!

    Enjoy all those great new reads!

    • I couldn’t believe it, either! We will definitely be buying more from them in the future. 🙂

      I still managed to do lots of housework this week, so I’m pretty impressed with myself. Of course, now I’m reading a lot slower. We’ll see what the difference is next week!

  6. Curious to see what you think of TMD and Hourglass – I enjoyed them both, and I think that was you who was wanting to read more time travel stuff? And gah, Amazon and their deals. It’s why I’m glad I don’t go there often, because I’d have as many as you do. Haha.

    So glad you were finally able to get the right stroller. 🙂

  7. Geez, you hit the win for customer service! Hope the store room guy got re-educated. And the maternity store? Way to aim for repeat business. Some places just have no idea.
    Good work on all the books!!

    • My thoughts exactly. There’s another maternity store in the city and they’re AWESOME. Definitely will shop there AND recommend them in the future. Not the one that was finicky with returns.

  8. You read SEVENTEEN BOOKS? That’s more than I read in four months! That’s amazing. *high fives* I really need to sign on to a readathon sometime soon.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

