Oryx and Crake Read-Along: Final Post (Part 13 – 15 Reaction)

Oryx Crake Button-01

It’s time for the FINAL reaction post for the Oryx & Crake read-along! If you haven’t read this book, there will be SPOILERS ahead, so use caution! I will definitely post a spoiler-free review of the book in the new year.

Did you miss my first reaction post? You can read it HERE.

Did you miss my second reaction post? You can read it HERE.

Did you miss my third reaction post? You can read it HERE.

Did you miss my fourth reaction post? You can read it HERE.

Did you miss my fifth reaction post? You can read it HERE.

oryx and crakePart 13 – 15 Reaction

So, basically, we learn that the whole mess that Snowman is in, he created for himself. Had he not shot Crake, had Crake not killed Oryx, Snowman would probably NOT be in the situation he’s in. But now he feels responsible for the innocent Crakers who were left in Crake’s wake. Should we feel sorry for him?

But no. Had Jimmy/Snowman been left in the “real” world, he would have been taken by the virus that took over the rest of the population. So now, which is better? Should he have been taken by the virus? Or is living in Crake’s so-called utopia a better way to go?

Now, though, the world has died. Snowman feels it necessary to take the Crakers to their new home outside of the compound. We learn that there are more humans like Snowflake outside of the compound (hopefully not infected) and that they are scared of the Crakers (really, seeing a blue penis, I’m sure I’d be scared, too.)

Most importantly, though, why did Crake do what he did? Why did he feel it necessary to mess with nature and create these “perfect” creatures? Was he truly a brilliant person? Or was he borderline psychotic? A madman?

“What do you want me to do?” he whispers into the empty air.

It’s hard to know.

Oh Jimmy, you were so funny.

Don’t let me down.

From habit he lifts his watch; it shows him its blank face.

Zero hour, Snowman thinks. Time to go.”

At the end of this section, we now see the set-up for the next instalment of the series — Snowman coming upon the three humans the Crakers had seen when he was gone. I’m assuming the next book will have some kind of confrontation right off the bat? Can he trust these people?

FINAL THOUGHTS

Upon finishing this, I’m glad to have read it. I can definitely say that certain parts will stay with me — probably some of which I’d wish I could forget. Will I continue the series? Maybe. It’s not high on my priorities right now and I really don’t know what I would expect from the next books in the series.

Atwood is definitely a talented writer, but I can’t say that this one is my favourite book. It was interesting to read and terrifying in sections, but I don’t see myself going back to it like I would The Handmaid’s Tale. Maybe it’s due to the fact that it’s speculative fiction and getting closer to what we’re seeing in this day and age — or maybe it just might not be the series for me.

Regardless, I’m happy to have gone on this journey through Oryx and Crake and I think all the participants (re: Laura and Rick!) for reading it with me.

Reading Schedule

Did you participate in this read-along? What are your thoughts on parts 13 – 15? What are your final thoughts on the story?

signature-01

4 thoughts on “Oryx and Crake Read-Along: Final Post (Part 13 – 15 Reaction)

  1. I finished this book a few months ago and it was unsettling. When I first went into it. I had found out that the third installment in the MadAddam trilogy was coming out in September so naturally I thought I would read the whole series. However, after finishing Oryx & Crake I was left uncomfortable and dissatisfied. The writing was great, but I had no emotion towards Jimmy/Snowman one way or another. I probably won’t finish the series.

    • I’m glad to see I’m not the only one! I found the book extremely unsettling. I think it was because the things that were happening in the real world seemed to coincide with my reading. It made me nervous. But again, like you, I also didn’t have any feelings towards Jimmy/Snowman, so I’m not sure if I’ll continue either. At least not right away. Maybe give me a buffer of a few years and see where I stand.

  2. I love that last passage so much. There’s so much said in those lines, and so much echos back to what’s already happened.

    It’s funny how of the three of us, I was the only one who read that and what like “OMG MUST FIND OUT WHAT HAPPENS.” Cliffhangers usually don’t bug me too much, but there was just no way I could wait to see what would happen when Jimmy finally meets other humans.

    I really want to revisit The Handmaid’s Tale now. I remember feeling much more ambivalent about it, but I think I may have been too young when I read it, like, I didn’t get the commentary on feminism and what not. I also want to try some of her other stand-alone novels.

    Thank you so much for hosting. I never would have picked these books up on my own, and never thought I’d get swept away the way I did 🙂

    • See, and I remember loving The Handmaid’s Tale … I’ve been wanting to revisit that one soon, hopefully via audiobook.

      I’m usually not bad with cliffhangers. I mean, they’re usually standard with trilogies, BUT I didn’t like how barely anything was answered by the end of this book. It was definitely quite anticlimactic compared to the rest of the book.

      Thanks for signing up! I’m glad it got you reading the whole series!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

