Challenge: R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril, VIII

RIP8main400

Who doesn’t love a good challenge? I especially do — when it involves scary books! This challenge is hosted over at Stainless Steel Droppings and runs from September 1 to October 31st. 

The best part about this challenge is that the challenge is to read HORROR novels! I love a good, scary book and am ALWAYS on the lookout for something that will keep me awake at night, have me searching under the bed and checking out any strange noises.

The purpose of the R.I.P. Challenge is to enjoy books that could be classified as:

Mystery.
Suspense.
Thriller.
Dark Fantasy.
Gothic.
Horror.
Supernatural.

I will be doing:

rip8peril1st

For Peril the First, we are to “Read four books, any length, that you feel fit (the very broad definitions) of R.I.P. literature. It could be King or Conan Doyle, Penny or Poe, Chandler or Collins, Lovecraft or Leroux…or anyone in between.

I had a look through my books and tried to find some that would be suitable for the challenge. Here’s what I’ll be choosing from (which will most likely change since the challenge is two months long and, you know, I buy books): 

another little piece asylum bag of bones bellman and black blood & love and other vampire tales
dani noir dark matter envy graveminder haunting violet
imaginary girls in the shadow of blackbirds let the old dreams die omens parasite
possess rot and ruin stolen the deepest cut the forest of hands and teeth
the madman's daughter Assassin

These are all books I own (or review books) and I have to admit that I’m surprised by the amount of them! I didn’t include other books in series (I know at least six of the series books in here, I have a lot more in that series on my shelves) and I did gloss over a few other scary books that I have.

Of course I’ll try to aim for MORE than 4 books, so I guess I have my work cut out for me!

UPDATE! (October 31, 2013)

This challenge ends today and I’m reading a contemporary, so I think I can update my progress for the month.

Books read:

  1. Tommy Nightmare (The Paranormals, #2) by J. L. Bryan
  2. Alexander Death (The Paranormals, #3) by J. L. Bryan
  3. In a Glass Grimmly (A Tale Dark and Grimm, #2) by Adam Gidwitz
  4. Scaredy Squirrel Prepares for Halloween by Melanie Watt (Yup. Totally counting this.)
  5. The Unseen by J. L. Bryan
  6. Jenny Plague-Bringer (The Paranormals, #4) by J. L. Bryan

In progress:

  1. The Evolution of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #2) by Michelle Hodkin

Final thoughts? I really didn’t read as much horror as I had expected to this month! I guess that’s what I get for being a mood reader. I really did knock J. L. Bryan’s books out of the park, though! I also haven’t posted any of these reviews (save for one posted today), so I haven’t shared any on the official review site. I did manage my goal of at least 4 books, but I could have done better! Maybe next year.

SECOND UPDATE! (Same day …)

So I completely forgot that this challenge goes through September as well! Those reads listed above are from October ONLY. Here are my September reads:

  1. Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma
  2. Death Sentence (Escape from Furnace, #3) by Alexander Gordon Smith
  3. Unholy Ghosts by Stacia Kane
  4. Rot & Ruin (Benny Imura, #1) by Jonathan Maberry
  5. The Ghost Prison by Joseph Delaney
  6. 172 Hours on the Moon by Johan Harstad
  7. The Name of the Star (Shades of London, #1) by Maureen Johnson
  8. The Madness Underneath (Shades of London, #2) by Maureen Johnson
  9. Let the Old Dreams Die by John Ajvide Lindqvist
  10. The Forest of Hands and Teeth (The Forest of Hands and Teeth, #1) by Carrie Ryan
  11. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
  12. The MacKinnon Curse: The Beginning (The MacKinnon Curse, #0.5) by J. A. Templeton
  13. The Deepest Cut (The MacKinnon Curse, #1) by J. A. Templeton
  14. Jenny Pox (The Paranormals, #1) by J. L. Bryan

THAT’S a bit better … I’d say reading 20 horror-ish novels in two months isn’t bad at all!

Are you signing up for this challenge? What is your favourite scary book? 

signature-01

10 thoughts on “Challenge: R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril, VIII

  1. This sounds like it could be a fun challenge! I may have to sign up for it. I read The Forest of Hands and Teeth a couple summers back (or was it just last year? I can’t remember tbh) and it was good. I had to get the sequels to it and read those. I finished all three in two days, I think.

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

