Sunday Reads (48)

sunday reads-01

Another weekend … another update!

In my life: 

Oh, headache of all headaches. This week was a BUSY week. Work, appointments, family, funeral. It was nice to have some time to sit back and read, but I really relied on scheduled reading more than anything this week.

Can I just say I’m happy that fall is here? Unfortunately, it doesn’t seem to be cooling down AT ALL but pumpkin lattes are back, so that’s good. Actually, since becoming preggo, I haven’t been having caffeine (well, not deliberately), so lattes are out, but pumpkin steamed milks are AWESOME. I wish Starbucks would sell that stuff so I could make my own at home. But they don’t. And that makes me sad.

On Saturday, we attended the humane society’s event People & Pooches Paddle … it was raining out and cold, but everyone still had a lot of fun! The husband came out with a few war wounds (the joy of swimming with dogs) and I stayed out on the sidelines taking pictures — since pregnant woman + 40 dogs in the pool = danger waiting to happen.

Grace had a LOT of fun chasing her ball around in the pool -- though, she's a terrible swimmer. Some dogs paddle underwater, she's more of a splasher.

Grace had a LOT of fun chasing her ball around in the pool — though, she’s a terrible swimmer. Some dogs paddle underwater, she’s more of a splasher. She’s very smart, though — she learned how to go up the stairs to get out of the pool!

In reading (& blogging): 

This week I read:

1. Hounded (The Iron Druid Chronicles, #1) by Kevin Hearne (I think I said I finished this last week … oops)

2. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #1) by Michelle Hodkin (reread)

3. A Lady By Midnight (Spindle Cove, #3) by Tessa Dare (LOVED this one!)

4. Faerie Wars (The Faerie Wars Chronicles, #1) by Herbie Brennan (audiobook)

5. Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma

6. Death Sentence (Escape from Furnace, #3) by Alexander Gordon Smith

Partway through the week, I discovered the beauty in speeding up audiobooks. Though my Music app on my iPod only does 2x the speed, not 1.5x, it was all good. Not tooooo fast, and it took a bit more concentration since the narrator was British, but it’s nice to finish an 11 hour audiobook in less time (well, would’ve been a LOT less had I figured this out more than 2/3 of the way through).

Now, onto the books! (Click on the covers to be taken to Goodreads)

*listens to the crickets*

I really didn’t get much at ALL this week! I did win a book from Molli over at Once Upon a Prologue:

blue sky days

AND I won a giftcard for $10 from Amazon.ca from Marie from the Canadian Reading Challenge back in July!

Big thanks to Molli and Marie! 🙂

How was your week? Have you read anything good lately?

signature-01

22 thoughts on “Sunday Reads (48)

  1. Aww I’m glad your hubs and doggies had fun! I think the humane society here is having a run/walk this weekend for the pets.
    I never knew you could speed up audiobooks, I really must figure out how to do that! I listen to them usually through my phone, so hopefully it still does it.
    A very productive reading week too! And good that you didn’t buy any books, I caved when i went to the store >.>
    How is the pregnancy going by the way? Have a good week!

    • We try to do a few humane society events a year … so long as the money goes to the humane society! The dogs always have fun. 🙂

      I have to remember this about audiobooks. I never think to do it, but it does save a ton of time!

      The pregnancy is going very well! I fell at Safeway yesterday, but baby’s been kicking up a storm last night and this morning so all is good … Honestly, I’ve heard horror stories about pregnancy and mine is going so well (knock on wood, of course) that I wonder what these people are talking about. Just a little tired, that’s all. 🙂

  2. I had a busy week as well! I have an appointment Tuesday too, so maybe they will talk about the ultrasound and everything will be fine!

    I’m also happy about fall. It has actually cooled down a lot here though! It looks like the dogs had a lot of fun at the pool, well Grace at least..lol

    I also once noticed that I could speed up audiobooks on my cellphone, but haven’t figured it out on the Windows 8 app yet, which is where I do the majority of my listening.

    Looks like you got a good bit of reading done this week too! so that’s good, you must have a lot of reviews scheduled so far!

    Have a great week 🙂

    • I have a LOT of stuff scheduled. Or, at least in drafts … WordPress gets finicky when you have too many things scheduled. 🙂

      It may be fall, but it hasn’t cooled down! I think it’s supposed to be 27 degrees this week … yuck! I can’t wait for cooler weather!

  3. I know you’re like far along and all but I want to say congratulations!!! I’m so happy for you and your hubs (& Grace, who is so freakin’ adorable!!). I’m sorry you had such a crap-packed week but Fall is an awesome time to slow down.

    Just so you know, and I’m sure you get a ton of unsolicited advice, but I gave up caffeine when I was preggers, which is the way it should be. But when I got my migraines, I had a soda and that would help cure my headaches. I could only take tylenol (or was it motrin?) and I needed the boost. Since my body was decaffeinated already, it was exactly the cure for me. But it’s definitely great you’ve not succumbed to the pumpkin lattes!!!! 🙂

    Hang in there and have a great week!

    • Thank you! 🙂 And Grace is crazy adorable … she’s a TERRIBLE swimmer and I think I laughed every time I watched her in the pool. But she had a lot of fun!

      Yeah, I get *some* caffeine, but usually the deliberate stuff is by way of chocolate or the odd iced coffee drink (I think you’re allowed something like 200mg a day, which I know I don’t hit at all!). It’s all decaf coffee & tea here! That’s funny that you mention soda, though. I have had a MAD craving for Dr. Pepper and finally bought some yesterday. I don’t plan on indulging in it every day, but it’s nice to get that little bit once in a while. Of course, I didn’t sleep well and baby has been kicking a lot — maybe a side effect of the pop?

    • This is the first time we’ve heard of it … if we hadn’t been watching the news in the morning, we would never have known it was going on! I guess they didn’t have it last year, but knowing that it was an over-18 event, we decided to go — since we won’t be able to go with baby! Might as well get one epic event in for the dogs. 🙂 At least the majority of other dog events that happen, baby will be able to attend, too. Of course, then one of us will have to wrangle all three dogs — should be interesting!

      Dogs are so funny in the water! Grace is an absolute TERRIBLE swimmer and just splashes everywhere. The husband says we need to put a water wing on her bum to get it up higher. She’s so not graceful, but so funny to watch. 🙂

  4. Busy weeks are a bummer :/

    Have you tried Googling pumpkin coffee/steamed milk recipes? There are probably a ton, you might need to buy the pumpkin flavoring at a specialty store or online though…

    Have a great (more relaxing) week Kristilyn!

    • There’s been so many cases of people leaving their dogs in vehicles this year that I wish more would be smart enough to leave them at home! We usually take our dogs to Pets in the Park, but thought this looked like a super fun event … only two can swim (well, one can swim but lost interest after about 3 minutes and the other one *can* swim but she doesn’t lift her butt up and just splashes around) so the third one has to be left at home or she’d cry and cry and cry to be in the pool … fun times. 🙂

  5. As soon as September hit here, it was like a switch was flicked and it was fall. It was so weird. Apparently it’s supposed to go up to 29 on Tuesday though, which will be strange since it’s been 10-12 degrees lower than that for a week! Crazy Canadian weather!
    I’ll be curious to read your review of Hounded. I bought it late last year or early this year but still haven’t read it.
    EEP MY BOOK. My heart stopped when I saw the picture lol. I hope you like it!

    • Yes! It’s supposed to be 27 here on Thursday … regular temps are 18 degrees and I wish they’d get there already. I’ve had enough of the hot weather.

      Hounded was soooo good! You should read it! 🙂

      I have THREE of your books now … hopefully I can find the time to fit them in soon!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

