ARC Review: Rogue (Croak, #3) by Gina Damico

book reviewing-01

rogueTitle: Rogue
Series: Croak, #3
Author:
Gina Damico
Date(s) read:
August 14, 2013
Genre:
YA Paranormal
Source:
Publisher (ARC)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Lex is a teenage Grim Reaper with the power to Damn souls, and it’s getting out of control. She’s a fugitive, on the run from the maniacal new mayor of Croak and the townspeople who want to see her pay the price for her misdeeds. Uncle Mort rounds up the Junior Grims to flee Croak once again, but this time they’re joined by Grotton, the most powerful Grim of all time. Their new mission is clear: Fix his mistakes, or the Afterlife will cease to exist, along with all the souls in it. 

The gang heads for Necropolis, the labyrinth-like capital city of the Grimsphere. There, they discover that the Grimsphere needs a reboot. To do that, the portals to the Afterlife must be destroyed…but even that may not be enough to fix the damage. Things go from bad to worse, and when at last the fate of the Afterlife and all the souls of the Damned hang in the balance, it falls to Lex and her friends to make one final, impossible choice.

my thoughts-01

Thank you to Thomas Allen & Sons for sending me an ARC of this book for review! 

I tend to have a love/hate relationship with the finale books of series. It seems to me that a lot of them are build, build, BUILD! And then a complete let-down for the finale. Well, maybe not a complete let-down, but usually less than what I was expecting. Needless to say, I was surprised and thrilled to find that Rogue did not fit into my little stereotype of finale books — I was glued to this book from the first pages and finished feeling completely satisfied.

I was lucky that I started reading this about a month after finishing Scorch, the second book in the series, but Gina Damico still provides enough information that it was easy to get back into her writing, into the characters, and into this crazy world of Grims, without it seeming like an info dump.

One of the things that I have completely loved in this series is the HUMOUR! There is such a snarkiness and dry wit to all three books that it’s hard not to laugh while reading. Or, when something seems really serious, there’ll be one line that’ll make you snort in laughter. Not only that, but we have the “romance” part of the book, which is so hilarious in its awkwardness. It’s a sweet thing, but still oh so lighthearted, which is so nice.

And the action! HOLY CRAP! There was a TON of action in this book. I picked it up, expecting it to be ho hum, but then was tearing through the pages and really didn’t want to put it down. The action was non-stop and just kept building and building. Not only that, but we get so many explanations for things that have happened in the series. I felt like there were no loose ends by the time the book finished. AND there are a LOT of jaw-dropping moments and twists — it was just nuts!

Really, this has to be one of my favourite series EVER and I’m so happy that I got to read it. The whole series had me laughing, crying, and showing pretty much every other emotion in between. Gina Damico is such a talented writer and I can’t wait to see what she has in store for us next. If this series is any indication, it’s going to be amazing.

rating-5plus-01

Author Links
WEB | TWITTER | GOODREADS

signature-01

6 thoughts on “ARC Review: Rogue (Croak, #3) by Gina Damico

  1. Yes! It was a pretty much perfect finale book! I love the humour and awkwardness that was in that car 😉 And yet I still cried multiple times. It did kind of end in a way that leaves you kind of wondering, but other than that, it was just awesome 🙂

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

