ARC Review: The Truth About You and Me by Amanda Grace

book reviewing-01

the truth about you and meTitle: The Truth About You and Me
Author: Amanda Grace
Date(s) read: August 22, 2013
Genre: YA Contemporary
Source: NetGalley & Flux Books (eARC)

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Smart girls aren’t supposed to do stupid things.

Madelyn Hawkins is super smart. At sixteen, she’s so gifted that she can attend college through a special program at her high school. On her first day, she meets Bennett. He’s cute, funny, and kind. He understands Madelyn and what she’s endured – and missed out on – in order to excel academically and please her parents. Now, for the first time in her life, she’s falling in love.

There’s only one problem. Bennett is Madelyn’s college professor, and he thinks she’s eighteen – because she hasn’t told him the truth.

The story of their forbidden romance is told in letters that Madelyn writes to Bennett – both a heart-searing ode to their ill-fated love and an apology.

my thoughts-01

Thank you to Flux Books & NetGalley for an eARC of this book for review!

Very rarely do I finish a book where I’m completely torn on what to say about it. Does that mean the book was so powerful? Or maybe it sucked? Did I not like the characters? Or maybe they were too complex to talk about? Did I love the book? Or did I just really hate it?

Just thinking about these questions does nothing for my time with The Truth About You And Me. It was a powerful book, it was a book about something that was just wrong, it was written in a different kind of way that I wanted to hate, but that worked, and yet … I still finish it not knowing what to say.

The subject matter of the story was intense. Basically, it’s about two people getting together at the wrong time, which can have major legal consequences. It’s a story that leaves you questioning who was in the right and who was in the wrong. I did enjoy reading the story, but it felt almost wrong to enjoy a story like this.

It was written quite different from what I’m used to, the entire story being written in letter form. At first, I thought it was going to be annoying, with no chapter breaks (I read the ARC, so if there are chapter breaks in the finished copy, then there you go), but I got used to it. It really pulled me more into the story this way, having no breaks. At times I didn’t want to stop reading, but to keep going and going to find out what was going to happen.

I guess in the end, the story was very well written, it was very powerful and hard to read at times, and it made me really think at the end. This is a book that people are either going to love, or going to hate, but if it gets people talking, that’s the important thing, right? This is a heartbreaking story, completely out of the realm of most YA books.

rating-4-01

Author Links
WEB | GOODREADS

signature-01

11 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Truth About You and Me by Amanda Grace

  1. I have often felt myself at a loss for what to write on the more intense books or the ones that deal with some of the tougher/darker themes. So I know exactly what you mean. This is a new book for me, I haven’t heard of it before. It looks like something I may enjoy…if I am in the right mindset for it.

    Thanks for the great review!

    Michelle @ Book Briefs

    • It does feel weird to like a book that is crazy intense — especially when it’s not a conventional kind of intensity. And when it’s a bit darker, it’s weird to say that I like it. Still, this wasn’t a bad book … very different!

  2. I’m beginning to think you and I are the only two people who didn’t hate this book, Kristilyn lol. I don’t think I’ve seen any other positive reviews for it, but I enjoyed it and I’m glad you did too. I thought the letter style would annoy me too, but it worked surprisingly well, and I wanted to keep reading and reading too. Great review! 🙂

    • This is why I rarely like hyped-up books … I think I have different taste than others. I mean, I liked the romance part of the book, even if I knew it was wrong … it was kind of like watching a train wreck …

  3. I know what the subject matter is on this ,and the writing style has piqued my interest. I love books that leave you a little unsettled at the end..and I imagine it will stay with you for awhile. Wonderful review!

My home is where my books are. - Ellen Thompson

